We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to relax”
Review of Crofton's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crofton's Retreat
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I took my lil family away from the CITY for the weekend, it was amazing just what we needed, my daughter who is turning 3 got to see all the animals such as cows,horses, pigs and chickens she even was allowed to feed them and collect the eggs. Was sooo good the see my lil one enjoy herself. As for the hubby he relax in the pool had a few beers and was content. I myself enjoyed the market both in town and at Blue Knob for fresh organic produce. All in all a great trip away. THANKS Wayne and Paul.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Crofton's Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed two nights. It is in a beautiful valley overlooking kangaroos and cattle grazing in the paddocks.

Pros: very friendly owner, comfortable bed, quiet , 5 minutes from Nimbin town (good to have some distance)
Cons: markets itself as having cooking facilities but bbq does not work and smoke detector prevents using stove inside, no cleaning if staying two days

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WestEnderBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had planned to stay here with some friends from the US, last night, but after 3 days of driving rain we decided to head home. All of our plans had been altered due to the weather, and when I phoned Christine to explain our situation she was very understanding and did not charge us any cancellation fee despite cancelling within an hour of our arrival time! I would definitely stay here next time simply because of Christine's ethics. She was very helpful in all email correspondence and extremely pleasant on the phone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tanmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here with my partner in October and absolutely loved it. We wanted a relaxing getaway for the weekend. Wow were we surprised, what a beautiful place. We were greeted by the lovely Christine who was very informative about the area and willing to answer any of our question. She is funny and very welcoming. The property is close to Nimbin town, which is great for restaurants, pubs, funky cafes and tours. We stayed in the Crofton Suite. It was a little extra but we are glad we paid it. The room was perfect, a big King size bed, clean, quaint and romantic. We woke up to the sound of birds and enjoyed our breakfast on the verandah. It was one of the most romantic getaways we have ever had. we WILL be back.

Room Tip: Crofton Suite was devine
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennykyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent a weekend at this former motel a few kilometers outside Nimbin. The rooms have been renovated to a high standard and are spacious. Our bed was comfortable with good quality linen. The themed decor was a bonus.

The weekend we stayed the retreat was fully booked. Unfortunately, the connecting door between our room and the next was far from soundproof and we were disturbed by loud snoring from the neighbouring room on our second night.

The breakfast part of "bed and breakfast" means the bread, cereal, eggs etc are provided and you cook your own. Using our toaster set off the smoke alarm and we weren't the only guests to do so.

The location is peaceful, with lovely views of the surrounding dairy farming country and mountains. If you arrived for the first time at night it could be a little difficult to find the entrance as the sign was hard to see in the dark and the building isn't obvious from the road, being several hundred metres up the drive.

We most enjoyed the tranquil environment.

The thing we liked least was being able to hear (and be heard) through the connecting door.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with connecting doors.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Had a great weekend hanging with the gang, Laughs and relaxation combined. Found the rooms individual and interesting and loved the personalised touches and furnishings. The bed and linen were very comfortable. The showers hot and the rooms spotless. A great place for a getaway and a base to explore all the wonders of this beautiful part of the world.
I would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazwithpazaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Crofton's Retreat for our 2 year wedding anniversary and were so happy when we walked into one of the gorgeous suites.
The room was modern, clean and very comfortable. Our host Christine was so friendly and made our stay hassle free.
The farm was picturesque and quiet which was perfect for a relaxing weekend away.
I will definately be staying at Croftons Retreat again !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonzasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nimbin
2.9 mi away
Nimbin Rox YHA
Nimbin Rox YHA
#1 of 1 in Nimbin
72 reviews
12.9 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rainbow Retreat
Rainbow Retreat
#4 of 6 in Nimbin
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grey Gum Lodge
Grey Gum Lodge
#1 of 2 in Nimbin
72 reviews
5.6 mi away
Havan's Eco Tourist Retreat
Havan's Eco Tourist Retreat
#1 of 2 in The Channon
30 reviews
4.0 mi away
Silk Pavilions
Silk Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Mount Burrell
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crofton's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crofton's Retreat

Address: 360 Crofton Rd, Nimbin, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Nimbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Nimbin
Price Range: $79 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crofton's Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 80 stunning acres just under 4km's to the centre of Nimbin. Farm fresh eggs in your breakfast supplies... eat breakfast whilst watching wallabies and the birdlife in a peaceful environment. Can pick up from Nimbin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Crofton's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing