We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of Nimbin Rox YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nimbin Rox YHA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nimbin
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Intended to stay for one day and ended up leaving about three days later. Beautiful location and scenery at the top of a hill, away from the main street in Nimbin. Price was fairly decent (I think it was about $15 for me per night) for a campervan and the facilities were good. The owners take a mini bus into town each days to collect supplies which you can hitch a ride on for free, instead of the walk. Like others have said, Nimbin is a crazy place but its good to embrace the culture for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say about Nimbin?!? One of the craziest, weirdest places I have ever visited. We stayed one night at the YHA and had an interesting time. The town is full of drugged up hippies which are scary to look at but seem fairly friendly on the whole. The hostel is a pretty good hostel. Comfy beds, clean toilets and good communal areas. The only reason I could see people coming to Nimbin is to sample some of the local produce if you know what I mean ! That's exactly what we did and then crashed in our beds. Probably the best place to stay when your in Nimbin.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Amazing hostel in the middle of nature, quiet and peaceful. Just a lovely place to chill out for a few days, even if smoking isn't your thing! Lots of nice walks and a creek to swim in nearby.

The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and it's not a big hostel so you get to know everyone, which is good if you're travelling alone.
Everything was clean and the staff working there were all lovely. There is a swimming pool (cold!), pool table, fully equipped kitchen and a cosy lounge to hang out and watch movies.

The hostel is about a 15 minute walk from the town, but there is a shuttle bus which goes to and from Nimbin at scheduled times throughout the day.
You also get a discount if you have HI membership.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank Sheenatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

stayed an extra day, it was so beautiful and relaxing. there happened to be fantastic staff while i was there.
quite clean and great layout, i stayed in room but the campsites looked pretty good. great views on both sides. kitchen is substantial. really nicely decorated throughout. great spots to hang out and gather.
mobile phone signal is dodgy, so great if you want a break from connectivity. otherwise there's internet available at office

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brizliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Planned to stay 2 nights, ended up spending 15 nights and didn't want to leave.
Lovely location, beautiful views, wildlife everywhere, helpful staff and good facilities.
I loved this hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnum808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in the tent lodge, and it was so gorgeous. Lovely sumptuous decor (wall hangings, candles and incense, beautiful linens), lots of lovely furniture (large bureau, side tables). Well equipped with heater, fan, lights.
Beautiful tent structure - cream canvas, heavy timber poles, large windows. You can lie in bed and see the trees and native birds outlined against the canvas and through the mesh, out to the sweeping valley and forest views, the outdoor seating areas, firepit, even encountered a wallaby and frogs. A large bush property you can walk around on.
So serene, i even made a mental note of their staff-wanted notice. I'd love to live here...
Very well appointed and large kitchen. Great undercover hangout area, with hammocks and stereo. Easy walk to town, but has a shuttle bus.

Room Tip: There are two sizes of lodges with $16 difference in price, twin and double. The cheaper one has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellooholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We only camped there, so I cannot say much for the inside facilities, but just sleeping there in the carpark was amazing! There is a beautiful view and people were extremely friendly, plus the Tepee was awesome!

Room Tip: If you stay in the camp car park there is an amazing sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geroge4982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nimbin
20.8 mi away
Brunswick Heads Motel
Brunswick Heads Motel
#1 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
93 reviews
15.5 mi away
AZA Motel
AZA Motel
#4 of 11 in Lismore
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Retreat
Rainbow Retreat
#6 of 6 in Nimbin
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grey Gum Lodge
Grey Gum Lodge
#1 of 2 in Nimbin
75 reviews
21.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
112 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#5 of 11 in Lismore
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimbin Rox YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimbin Rox YHA

Address: 74 Thorburn St, Nimbin, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Nimbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nimbin
Price Range: $21 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nimbin Rox YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nimbin Rox YHA is located 1 km from Nimbin Town up on 250 acres of lush green land. We have a range of accommodation from dorms and double rooms to our yurts and iconic tepee. Rooms have fans for the summer and heaters for winter and include all your linen. We have a communal kitchen and TV room a fire pit for toasting your marshmallows, tropical outdoor swimming pool heated by the sun so get ready for a chilly wake up dip on a winters morning! A great way to start the day. Hammocks hide in trees and chill out areas around the property giving you a place to relax and let all of your worries drift off to the mountains in the distance.Nimbin Rox is also a photographer\'s dream, with misty mountains, the majestic Nimbin Rock, wallabies, echidnas, friendly kookaburras and - if you\'re lucky - our resident elusive platypus.Horse riders from beginners to advanced can enjoy our trail rides around our acreage with your local guide Al from Nimbin horse carts.Internet and Wi-Fi is available and if you need a few things from town we have a shuttle that runs twice a day or you can walk to town in approx 15mins.Once you\'re re-energised our friendly staff can book you your next bed, bus, tour or adventure.Life\'s more than a beach so come and discover the Nimbin Rox YHA for yourself.Nimbin Rox YHA is also happy to accommodate groups and works well for photography groups, yoga retreats, family reunions even small weddings. Please chat to our groups co-ordinator after booking if this interests you.Other features include: Laundry, book exchange, daily activities, iPod connection areas, vending/snack machine and free herbs in the kitchen (seasonal).Children are welcome but must be supervised whilst on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Nimbin Rox YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing