We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martys at Little Beach
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our stay in January 2014 was a pleasant surprise - both the property and the Port Stephens area which was new to us. The reviews and pictures I'd seen looked good but the reality was maybe even better. Our Queen Studio Apartment was comfortable and spacious and the free wi-fi is something that should be standard everywhere in this day and age. The location was great - walking distance to 2 beaches and probably a lot quieter than if we'd been right in town. Reception recommended the Little Beach Boathouse Restaurant, only a 10 minute walk away, which was a great find too. Our apartment was upstairs, and as another review pointed out, this could be an issue for some but our dodgy knees managed it alright!
The best recommendation I can give is that we're already making plans to come back.

Room Tip: The queen Studio Apartment is well located and quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time post a review.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation at Marty's !
Have to agree .... the Little Beach Boathouse is fantastic ( and great for our guests .... a 10minute walk to dinner !!). Would love to welcome you back when you are next planning a trip to the beautiful Port Stephens area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    141
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
223
245
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Loved our stay here. 5 nights and it felt like home. All the reviews about it being friendly, well-appointed, well kept and clean are true. The swimming pool was perfectly designed for children and the play area was also a hit with our little one (aged 3). However the play area is only ideal for those aged 1-3 years. We were on the ground floor with easy access to both. We used the BBQ twice which was great for outdoor dining. The communal washing machine and dryer was very welcome. As for the location the beaches are both superb and very close. There is a little playground beside Little Beach. The nearby cafe (3 minute walk) does good food but will also sell you a loaf of bread. Any other shops/ supermarkets are a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello and thank you for your great review.
It is very rewarding to all staff members when we know we have made an impression !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Apart from a minor hiccup (leaking roof) the staff were very helpful and apologetic. The appartment was very spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately the wet weather prevented us from enjoying the full complement of facilities available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi to the "Scot's Women" ( and family)
Thank you for being so understanding and co-operative regarding the ceiling leak.
We have been waiting for decent rain for quite awhile but, unfortunately, when it came it caused problems in the area. The repairs have been made and all looking good !
It was our pleasure having you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Comfortable, relaxing stay. Ideally situated, in a quiet area, just a short walk to either of two beaches.
Apartment was very clean and kitchen well equipped. Well tended garden with swimming pool,
barbecue area, and a childs play area.
Steps to first floor apartments, so anyone who has difficulty with stairs should ask for ground floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mmoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We must admit / agree ..... we are ideally located between two of the Bay's most stunning beaches.
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Clean, quiet and comfortable motel with very helpful staff, and a short walk to two beaches. We would return again.

The only (small) negative comment is: you are required to remove all your rubbish from the apartment and place in the garbage bins or be subject to an additional cleaning charge - really?!? What's next, change and wash the bedding?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like_2_TravelCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review.... thankyou !
Can we offer an explanation regarding the "garbage" ......
being self-contained accommodation ( not a motel) we do not provide
daily servicing of the apartments. The apartments are sparkling clean for our guests' arrival and we do not 'service' the apartments until the guests have left. Therefore, we request our guests to remove any rubbish from the apartments .... this controls vermin, etc. We apologise if you have taken offense to this request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

What an exceptionally nice place to stay. When we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful receptionist. Our apartment was superb, clean, tidy and very well appointed (No 1 is a very nice apartment !!) The location is brilliant, only minutes from two lovely and not too busy beaches. Also has a heated swimming pool.
Nelson Bay is only a 30 minute walk and has many places to eat and drink, although the bacon sandwiches at the café on Little Beach take some beating.
Highly recommended, we would definitely go back,

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be ok but No 1 was lovely. The only noise was the local wildlife in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello to our UK Visitors
Thank you for your review .... very much appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
(must agree about the bacon/egg rolls from Bites on The Bay Cafe ... scrumptious !)
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I recently spent six days at Marty's. I originally booked it online so I had no idea just how nice it would be. The rooms were immaculate and had everything you could possibly need. Located in a quiet neighbourhood it was a two minute walk to either Shoal Bay (amazing) or Little Beach and fifteen minutes to the Marina. Jenn, the owner was very,very helpful and understanding when I had to adjust my dates. She is a very warm person and this is reflected in feeling at home and not feeling like you are in a hotel. It was a big part in enjoying Port Stephens so much..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewt1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello to our Canadian visitors !
It was OUR pleasure having you stay with us ...... hope the memories of Marty's and our beautiful area will be one the highlights of your Aussie trip.
We do try to make our guests feel at home during their stay.
Once again ... sincere appreciation and hope you have a safe journey home !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martys at Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martys at Little Beach

Property: Martys at Little Beach
Address: Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Martys at Little Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Spectacular Location!Quietly nestled between two of Port Stephen’s most idyllic beaches but still close enough to the heart of all the Bay’s great restaurants and attractions, Marty’s is in the perfect location to do everything or....absolutely nothing at all!Totally refurbished inside and out in August 2012 - you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the style, elegance and quality - not to mention the affordability!So when you arrive, leave the car (and your stress) in the car park - you won’t be needing them - and take a two minute walk west to stunning Little Beach. Soft white sand, perfect swimming for the kids, boat ramp and one of the best scuba diving spots on the east coast.A tad breezy today? No problem. Simply walk two minutes east and find a protected spot on the uncrowded Shoal Bay Beach - postcard perfect!Take a big deep breath in.... now exhale... and relax... you’re on holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martys at Little Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martys At Little Beach Hotel Nelson Bay
Martys At Little Beach Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing