We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem of a hotel in a perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martys at Little Beach
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little gem of a hotel in a perfect location.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I booked Marty's for a quick getaway from the city for our anniversary. Marty's is in a perfect location only a 2min walk between 2 beaches and about 2km from Shoal Bay Shops and Nelson Bay. The service at Marty's was fantastic and the cleanliness of the hotel and facilities was spot on. For less than $100 per night it was a bargain give. How lovely and modern the rooms felt. We will definitely be back and have already spread the word to friends and family back home.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaidonaldson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Many thanks for your great review.
It is very rewarding when we receive good feedback from our guests.
Love to welcome you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    147
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
231
251
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I booked in November to stay at Marty's this January long weekend as a Christmas present for my husband. I booked it due to it's location in Nelson Bay as I had booked him a day out diving in the area. I also booked as it was ranked #1 on Trip Advisor.

However, on Tuesday this week Marty's phoned and cancelled my booking due to issues with the room I had been allocated. They were not able to have the room ready in time.
I understand why the booking was cancelled but I was extremely disappointed that Marty's didn't do more to provide alternates for us, and to assist with the additional cost of booking somewhere else so last minute.

Marty's recommended two other properties that had availability. I reviewed them on the internet and selected one that had a separate bedroom as we were travelling with my one year old and need a separate living space once he goes to bed at night (we had a 2 bed apartment booked with Marty's).

When I phone Marty's back expecting them to follow up bookings for me, I was told that I needed to re-book elsewhere myself which was disappointing. I had prepaid the full amount for Marty's booking through Expedia so Marty's offered to transfer the booking to another weekend. This was not suitable as long weekend was booked specifically for my husband to go diving. So I asked for a refund that was arranged although I have not received as yet.

When I phoned the other recommended accommodation that I believed was suitable I was told it was going to cost $500 at least for the 2 nights, rather than the $383 I had paid for Marty's, obviously much cheaper as I had planned in advance. I also found out that the apartment had stairs so was not suitable for a one year old who had just started walking.

So having spent most of yesterday trying to find alternate accommodation three days before a long weekend we have given up and cancelled our trip and the dive that was my husband's Christmas gift.

I am very disappointed that Marty's didn't make more of an effort to find us alternate accommodation considering I had booked so long ago and paid in full for the accommodation. I would also have liked them to offer to wear some of the cost as they cancelled our booking so last minute, and before a long weekend with high costs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katysue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We do understand your disappointment and frustration and hope you allow us to explain in further detail. It was very unfortunate that we had to cancel your booking .... obviously we do not like to take this action for financial/business reasons but more importantly we do not like to disappoint our guests as we continually strive to provide excellent customer service and achieve guest satisfaction, but it was totally ' out of our control'. The apartment had been destroyed by previous guests and because of the time of year and the upcoming long weekend it was impossible for us to have the repairs completed prior to your arrival date. I am sure you would not have been happy to be placed into an apartment that was obviously in need of repairs. Had we not been fully booked it would have been our utmost pleasure to reallocate/ upgrade you to another apartment.

We attempted to find alternative accommodation similar to those offered at Marty's. After contacting a number of properties to deem availability we suggested these to you for you to contact to assess the suitability for your family.
We also offered alternative dates with a complimentary upgrade to a larger apartment but understand that you had already made other plans to coincide with your stay so this was not a solution. We immediately contacted Expedia ( you processed your booking through them so the refund is processed by them) and requested an immediate full refund to you.

We did try very hard to find a solution but obviously we "let you down" .
We sincerely offer our apologies again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Marty's over the summer break and found the set up to be fantastic for little children. The pool was a perfect size for our five year old to splash around in. Situated between two beaches, the location was brilliant!

Found the staff to be very accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, providing direct access to the pool, garden and BBQ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egordze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Our appreciation to you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a really pleasent stay at Martys and I would definitely recommend it. It wasn't the cheapest accomodation, but then Australia does tend to be a little pricey when you are coming from the UK.

The room was nice, good air con (a little annoying that it went off after 2 hours during the night though and you had to get up!), good fridge, little balcony, clean towels every two days, good (very warm) pool, nice reception (though sometimes inconvenient that they close at 5pm when we needed help booking restaurants!), fantastic location and good car park which is free. There is also a BBQ that you can use which we thought was a nice touch and we would have used if staying with friends.

The room was nice and clean though did smell slightly off bug spray for our whole stay and I couldn't work out why! But that didn't matter, it was definitely not over bearing. Bathroom and shower were good.

Nice short walk to beachs.

Definitely do the walk up Tomaree Head, it's a beautiful view. Also if you have a car try and head to Soldiers Point for a sunset, it's really lovely there and there's a fantastic restaurant called The Deck. It's about 25 mins from the hotel in a car.

Restaurants in town weren't fantastic to be honest but the beaches make up for that! There is suposed to be a great restaurant at Little Beach, but make sure you pre-book as we couldnt get a table!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
We hope your stay at Marty's will be a great memory of your Aussie holiday !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here in a King Studio apartment overlooking the pool for 4 days. The place was incredibly clean and spacious, the bed very comfortable & the bbq area was well maintained and also spotless. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Marty's is a perfect place to stay which is central to everything...beaches, water sports, shopping, etc. Loved it here and will definitely be back but next time for a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHolidays365812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Sounds as though you enjoyed your stay ( ? !!)
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review ... it certainly assists our property.
We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We loved marty's at Little Beach!!At first glance, the gardens and grounds were delightful and pleasantly surprising.The room was spacious and homely with a perfect aspect.......which made staying there a delight.The bathroom was huge and beautifully designed as well.The renovations have been really well done. In fact,we thought the accommodation was perfect.There is nothing we could fault.From the changing of towels, tea towels every 2nd day, to the pristine upkeep of the grounds and the facilities.....it made the holiday a delight.It was peaceful and cool at night as well.The highlight for us was the use of the nicely heated, but refreshing pool amongst palms and a lush green lawn.The kids absolutely loved the pool and we couldn't keep them away.
The walk to Little Beach was perfect for the kids, as well as the walk to the nearby fish n chips shop, which made dinner time decisions easy and quick.We also walked to Nelson Bay along the shoreline...which meant the car was hardly used.
We love Marty's now that we have discovered it, and have already booked our next holiday there.Highly recommended....and a great holiday destination.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are perfect for families with little children as they open out to a fully enc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Jodie... Glad to see you have arrived home safely. Wow ... you REALLY did like us !
Our many thanks for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are very proud of Marty's and it is very rewarding when our guests appreciate the 'little extras' and the hard work that goes into our gardens, facilities and our cleanliness.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Was so happy to find this little Oasis near Little Beach, Nelson Bay. It initially seemed out of the way, but we soon discovered it was convenient to either laid back cafe's with great coffee, and awesome fish and chips or fine dining at the Boathouse Restaurant.
It doesn't matter which way the winds are blowing, as you can have the protection of Little Beach or the cool breeze of Shoal Bay beach. Both not 150m walk away.
The facilities are newly renovated and clean to the extreme. Apartment we stayed in was fully self contained, with stove top, microwave, and fridge. BBQ area was just outside our room, and like the rest of the place beautifully clean.
Like us you will find it is a perfect family getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay at Marty's !
I will certainly pass on your great comments to our 'houskeeping staff ' !!
I must also agree .... The Little Beach Boathouse and Bites on the Bay certainly provide
excellent meals and service to our guests.
Would love to welcome you back ... don't forget about our 'pet-friendly' apartment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martys at Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martys at Little Beach

Property: Martys at Little Beach
Address: Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Martys at Little Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Spectacular Location!Quietly nestled between two of Port Stephen’s most idyllic beaches but still close enough to the heart of all the Bay’s great restaurants and attractions, Marty’s is in the perfect location to do everything or....absolutely nothing at all!Totally refurbished inside and out in August 2012 - you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the style, elegance and quality - not to mention the affordability!So when you arrive, leave the car (and your stress) in the car park - you won’t be needing them - and take a two minute walk west to stunning Little Beach. Soft white sand, perfect swimming for the kids, boat ramp and one of the best scuba diving spots on the east coast.A tad breezy today? No problem. Simply walk two minutes east and find a protected spot on the uncrowded Shoal Bay Beach - postcard perfect!Take a big deep breath in.... now exhale... and relax... you’re on holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Martys at Little Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martys At Little Beach Hotel Nelson Bay
Martys At Little Beach Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing