We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Martys at Little Beach
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Do not be put off by the relatively uninspiring exterior on the carpark side. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very spacious, clean and well equipped. The pool, barbecue and children's play area are first class. We enjoyed a 3 night stay at Martys and thoroughly enjoyed it. Well worth visiting. All this at a fair price.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PhantomScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us !
As part of our renovations we have planted new gardens, etc .... hopefully this will improve the 'car-park' side of our property

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent two nights at Marty's as part of an accommodation/whale watching cruise package deal. Upon arrival, the receptionist (Maxine I think) was very welcoming, giving us details and location of the following day's cruise as well as general information about the area and an accompanying map.

The queen studio room (including bathroom) was quite spacious and spotlessly clean. There was good cupboard storage with hanging space plus drawers and there was ample room for two suitcases on the floor without the risk of tripping over them as is often the case in hotel/motel rooms. There was a bedside table with lamp on either side of the bed as well.

Although there were no cooking facilities in this room, there is sufficient cutlery & glassware for guests who bring their own breakfast provisions or who might buy take-away for dinner. It is necessary to wash utensils in the bathroom sink, however this is quite a decent size and there is washing up liquid, scourer & tea towel provided for the purpose.

There is no dining table or chairs inside, however we brought in the ones from the balcony for use at breakfast; due to the size of the room this was an easy option.

We stayed in room 10A and the adjoining 10B was also occupied at least for the first night. Unlike a previous reviewer, we had no issue at all with sound coming from there.

The pool area is great for children, even in the cooler weather as the pool is heated. There is a large barbeque area with utensils, tables & chairs and the whole of the outside area, including the gardens, is immaculate.

There is an easy walk of about 10 mins to the nearby lighthouse where there are panoramic views of the heads and surrounding area across to Shoal Bay. There are a couple of bay beach areas within easy walking distance which would also be great and relatively safe for small children. It was a little too far to walk into town, however the drive was no more than 5 minutes.

We have no hesitation in recommending Marty's as a great place to stay for both couples and families, regardless of the season.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Our heartfelt appreciation for your great review !
We are very pleased that you had a great time both at Marty's and in the Nelson Bay area.
We would also like to " thank you" for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived at this hotel late in the afternoon and only stayed for one night, but were quite impressed with this hotel. The lady working on the desk was lovely and very helpful. She gave us loads of information about the area and booked us on a whale watching trip for the following day.

The room was lovely and comforatable, and the bathroom was beautiful and enormous (I joked that we could have had a party in there!). The reinforced frosted glass in place of a window in the bathroom meant that I didn't need to put the light on when I went to the bathroom in the middle of the night!

Our only complaint about this room, (we had 10a), was that there was an adjoining door to 10b, and at the time we stayed there was a couple staying in 10b and we could hear thier converstaions as though they were in the room with us, (thankfully, English wasn't thier first language so we didn't feel as though we were evesdropping, but we did feel that if we could hear them, then they would probably be able to hear us as well).

We found the location to be excellent - good for the local beaches but not too far out of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have an adjoining door to another room - they are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorseyGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I sincerely apologise for the "noise" issue from the Interconnecting apartment.
We have complied with all building recommendations regarding interconnecting apartments such as double wall insulation,, doors and ceiling panels but unfortunately there are times when " extremely noisy neighbours" may cause an issue. We will continue to investigate this issue. We only have two apartments t,hat are "interconnecting"
We have to agree ..... We are ideally located in a great position.... Close proximity to two beautiful beaches, a pleasant stroll into either Nelson Bay shopping/business precinct or Shoal Bay shopping Mecca!
Thank you for choosing Marty's @ Little Beach and we would love to have you stay with us again........you are now part of the "Marty's Family" !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. It would have to be the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed in. Decor was very modern and the kitchen was well equipped.Bedding was very clean and fresh and the bed sooooo comfortable. Spa bath is a bonus and great to relax in after a full day out and about.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way. Unfortunately my husband was not well on our trip and they the took the time to check every so often that all was ok and did we need anything.Even offered to drive us to hospital if needed.
Don't forget the camera to take awesome photos of the sunsets 2minute walk away at Little Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekenders2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello Wollongong Weekenders

Glad that you arrived home safely!
Hope "Mr Weekender" has been back to the doctor and starting to feel a lot better.

Our appreciation for your wonderful comments ... we do take pride in our apartments and comments like yours make the hard work worthwhile !

Love to see you both again
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a modern, spacious and well appointed property. The location would be hard to beat, the bed was great and the room quiet, the a/c kept the room nice and warm, the bathroom and shower were tops, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room rate (we stayed one night) was very reasonable. We wish we could have had a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Our heartfelt appreciation for your fantastic review .... thank you !
Our region has a lot to do, see and experience .... maybe next time you can stay longer !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the 2-bedroom apartment (#6) for 1 night & it was lovely & exquisitely clean. It has 2 rooms (Queen & 2 singles) with a bathroom in between them with strong shower. The kitchen is well equipped with a microwave, an oven & a large enough frig to keep our left-over from Red Ned pies & Bud's Fish and Chips. The living room has a 3-seater couch & it opens out to the heated undercover swimming pool & a small children playground that my kids enjoyed playing. There is a BBQ pit near the children playground which we did not use. The tv has the standard cable & free channels. The free wifi has a good coverage but a little slow. The only "problem" we encountered was the heater/air-cond unit that is pre-set to 2 hours. So you need to constantly switch it on to keep the apartment warm in the middle of winter nigh. There is no heater/air cond in both bedrooms. Marty's is located in between the Little Beach (less than 3 mins walk) & about 5 mins walk to Shoal Bay beach. It is less than 3 mins drive to D'Albora Marina & the town centre with plenty of restaurants.
Marty's placed a little gift bag with compliments was a little extra surprise upon checking in.
The manager (I did not get her name) & the cleaners were very friendly. Overall a very clean and safe place to stay with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tccfairmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.
It is very rewarding when our guests have enjoyed their stay !
I will pass on your lovely comments to our housekeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were really happy with our stay at Martys. It has been newly renovated and everthing was pristine and fresh. We also found the kitchen very well equiped. The pool was warm (winter months) so the kids loved it and I could watch them from my apartment as we were on the ground floor apartment. Having the extra TV in the double bedroom was great as I could get a break from the Foxtel kids channels! It's a 2min walk from two great beaches where one allows you to watch the sun set and the fishermen feeding pelicans. We also walked up to the lighthouse for lunch and loved the views from there. Overall a great location and fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Soem of the ground floor apartments are really handy for pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

It is very rewarding to receive great reviews such as yours - Thank You !
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Marty's !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martys at Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martys at Little Beach

Address: Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $89 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martys at Little Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Spectacular Location!Quietly nestled between two of Port Stephen’s most idyllic beaches but still close enough to the heart of all the Bay’s great restaurants and attractions, Marty’s is in the perfect location to do everything or....absolutely nothing at all!Totally refurbished inside and out in August 2012 - you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the style, elegance and quality - not to mention the affordability!So when you arrive, leave the car (and your stress) in the car park - you won’t be needing them - and take a two minute walk west to stunning Little Beach. Soft white sand, perfect swimming for the kids, boat ramp and one of the best scuba diving spots on the east coast.A tad breezy today? No problem. Simply walk two minutes east and find a protected spot on the uncrowded Shoal Bay Beach - postcard perfect!Take a big deep breath in.... now exhale... and relax... you’re on holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Martys at Little Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martys At Little Beach Hotel Nelson Bay
Martys At Little Beach Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing