We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An food experience, not just a dinner out”
Review of Ritual Organics - CLOSED

Ritual Organics
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An food experience, not just a dinner out”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ritual is food entertainment rather than a normal dining experience. If you love food and are willing to try new things you will enjoy yourself. Not everything hits the spot (garlic fairyfloss?!) but there is so much on offer. I promise you will not be bored.

Enjoyed the matching red wine, but not so much the whites. Matching local craft beers are also available.

Service was efficient and friendly. The decor artistic and part of the night.

My recommendation is to go here for the food itself. A cheaper night out can be had if you are interested in the company and some reasonable food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband I went here for a date night and I must say it was a wonderful experience. Walking into a moodily lit entrance way we were treated to four canapés some of which were rosemary and garlic fairy floss, tom yum soup balls.
We ordered the matching wines to go with the entrees, mains and desserts and they were perfectly matched. Won't go into the journey of the night but believe me, it's definitely worth every cent! All beautifully presented, great service and relaxed atmosphere. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Shardy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent dining theatre”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

What an interesting experience. Essentially a clever twist on a degustation menu - but with a story to tell and elements of personal choice. Price of $360 for 2 was not unreasonable for the complexity of all the elements. Bravo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WenA000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous dining experience”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

You need to book well in advance to get a table at Ritual but it's well worth the planning. It really is a dining experience, not just a meal. The chef has put so much creativity into it: the food, the palette cleansers in between, the enticement to move your body in between courses and the wines to match were all delightful. The staff are friendly and the chef pulled up a chair and sat chatting with us for an hour after the dinner was over. I won't say anything about the actual food because there's no menu and I don't want to spoil the surprise of it - they give you tasters and depending on which one you like most, you get served a particular course. They're really happy to accommodate vegetarians too. This sometimes means you don't have to do the multiple taster thing because by being veggo you've already chosen your dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ritual Wow!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We went there after receiving gift tokens & what an experience. The food was not only delicious, but so interesting in its presentation. The chef obviously has an artistic passion for what he does & it shows. The menu show-cases local produce, wines & beers & the chef & waitress were keen to discuss all parts of the menu. It's a night out of the ordinary & we went home completely satisfied with our meal & experience. If you want more than just a meal, don't miss out on Ritual if you're in Nelson Bay. I suppose if you simply want a "feed" you could just go to any of the places around the Bay that mass-produce popular menus, but this is something really special.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawoolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritual Organics also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing