We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”
Review of Ritual Organics - CLOSED

Ritual Organics
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Port Stephens
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went to celebrate a friend's 40th here. The night was so special....not just a meal, but an adventure!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blessings-to-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly memorable dinner - in the most unlikely setting!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a fantastic find! Ritual is less of a restaurant and more of a, well, ritual really. It's pretty hard to explain the experience, so the best advice I have is to go and try yourself. The "ritual" starts off with canapes (but expect the unexpected!) then you're whisked into the "restaurant" ( a cosy room seating a maximum of 16 guests), where the ritual unfolds. A conventional menu is replaced by tasting spoons where the flavour combination you select determines the choice of dish you are served. And the innovation doesn't stop there. The dishes themselves are full of unusual (but delicious) flavour combinations, more than a bit of theatre, and all beautifully presented. Then there is the "wall art" - where everyone gets the opportunity to get out of their seats to experience little palette cleansers or similar delights in between courses. All served by attentive, knowledgeable and friendly staff who clearly care about the food that they serve. Chef Carl provides a fabulous commentary before each dish is served. All in all, one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. Don't let the unprepossessing location in a suburban shopping precinct put you off!! Not cheap, but given the quality of the food, and the amount of preparation that goes into the intricate presentation, well worth every cent. If this restaurant was in Sydney, not only would you have to pay double, but the waiting list would be enormous, so make the trip to Nelson Bay - you won't be disappointed (there are pretty good beaches there to walk off the calories!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GDCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ate here for last night of our Australian holiday. Fantastic choice. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Compares well with any Michelin starred restaurant I've been to. Not cheap (at least when translated to GBP at current exchange rate), but excellent value for money given quality of food and the uniqueness and innovation. Every mini-course was a delight and the "tasting spoons" which decide which entrees you get add variety and extra interest. The tasting wall is an interesting idea and every course is beautifully presented in/on interesting plates/dishes...

We weren't offered to option of up-sizing our wine glasses for the main course as the one bad review here (at time of writing) did, but there is a total of 300ml of wine for your money which for restaurant pricing isn't unreasonable. Tap water is free and plentifully refilled and the service overall was outstanding. On the night we went, there was one table of 10, a table of 4 and a table of 2. Privacy was fine, even though this was 4 more than they usually take.

My only regret is that it's 24 hours of flying if I want to go again, as I surely will next time I'm in the area. We were able to get a reservation at a few days notice but I guess this wont often be the case. Don't miss this place.

Only niggle: you can't phone to book and they want a credit card to secure the booking and there is no secure web site to do this -- you have to send details in a regular email or by post -- the former isn't desirable. Luckily I was already in area and just popped the form in their door. The place itself is oddly located in a suburban mini-shopping "mall", and the restroom is in the shopping mall, but this isn't really a problem. But nothing here to stop me giving this a top rating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ritual is a temple of gastronomy”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Chef Carls gastronomical concoctions ambushed and assailed my senses. So stimulating was the architecture of his origami feasts that I felt a delirious euphoria that I've never experienced before. From starter to pallet cleanser to blind tastings and exquisite deserts, the Ritual is a temple of gastronomy that deserves to be the capital of the Sydney food scene. Chef Carl and his staff are clearly enjoying themselves as they created, educated and served the most diverse, flavoursome and symphonicaly synchronous culinary pleasures I have yet had the fortune of experiencing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyCdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“A culinary and sensory journey!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ritual cannot be described as a "restaurant"...it is so much more than that. It truly is a culinary and sensory journey. All of the senses are charged from the tactile, tasteful, textures to the aural and visual elegance, this is unlike any other dining experience. You have to immerse yourself in it to truly appreciate the creative genius of Carl and Keely.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gronstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritual Organics also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing