We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent just the one night here so that we could visit the gorgeous nearby shoal bay and to do some whale watching based at the very close nelson bay. We were delighted with the size of the family room, which included 2 bathrooms/shower rooms. The room was very well equipped with a cooker, fridge freezer, dish washer and tv/DVD. The heated pool looked lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. There I a large underground and very secure car park too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Port Stephens.
It is great to know how much you enjoyed staying with Oaks Lure Apartments. It is important to us that our pool area and property surrounds are presented at the highest standard and our customer service is also a top priority with our staff members. We are most pleased that you found all aspects of your stay enjoyable and left our lovely area having had a memorable experience.
We do hope to welcome you back again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    96
    64
    31
    26
See reviews for
84
113
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I recently booked 2 rooms at the Oaks Lure Apartments and had a lovely stay.
We were really impressed by the quality of our rooms, really spacious and clean. The pool area looked lovely and we intend on coming back in the warmer months to make use of it. I found the staff to be very helpful and welcoming. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: 1 Bed units are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We are most pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Our apartments really are spacious and are great for couples or families. We are fortunate to be positioned in a fantastic spot in Nelson Bay with just a 10 minute stroll down to the beautiful foreshore. Our position is very handy for for taking in a tour during your stay or to relax at one of the cafe's or restaurants by the water.
We are pleased to hear that you found our service of a high standard and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely time at Oaks lure. Reception team were welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean and modern. Views were fantastic. This is a great apartment for people wanting to travel around Port Stephens. We loved our stay. Thanks to Escape Travel for arranging the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Oaks Lure Apartments during your recent visit to Port Stephens.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. It is great to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable and all other aspects of your stay enjoyable.
Our front office staff strive to provide excellent customer service and it is wonderful to hear that you experienced this throughout your stay.
We hope to welcome you back again soon so we have the opportunity to ensure your next stay with us is just as memorable as your last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Apartment was damaged on the walls, both bathrooms had other peoples hair on the walls. The microwave was dirty as well as the plate inside was smashed. The carpet & lounge was also stained. Would not stay here again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay with us.
I was quite concerned with some of your comments with regard to damage to one of our units. We are unaware of and have had no issues with regard to any damage reported to us here at Oaks Lure and would really like to have the opportunity to discuss these issues with you directly. Please feel free to contact me at the property at a time convenient with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with our stay at Oaks Lure.
We arrived after a very long drive and were greated by a lovely staff member who was very helpful.
When we arrived to our room (a 1bd room) we found it lovely. Very clean and spacious and all that we were looking for during our 2 night stay.
As we did not know our way around the area, the staff were kind enough to gather some brochures together with some wonderful sight seeing ideas for us. A great help indeed.
We will definatley stay with Oaks Lure again, hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
Our front office staff always strive to provide excellent customer service and it is lovely to hear that you found your experience with us so enjoyable.
We are happy to hear that you found your accommodation clean and comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of some lovely tourist attractions whilst visiting lovely Port Stephens.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next stay with us at Oaks Lure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecil Park Nsw
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently checked in for 2 nights stayed only 1....Little bit disappointed with the check in, the girl arguing on how much I had to pay when I had 2 email confirmations in front of me wasting time calling some one only to be told accept my emails. I took my elderly parents we had a 2 bedroom apt and they slept in the top room they went down the steep steps only once but could not get down to eat dinner or their breakfast and my mother having sore hips ended up having terrible pain and we checked out the next morning.... The garbage bin in my bedroom had not been emptied from previous people yuk. Also a camera was found in the bedside draw, I gave it to reception hope it finds its owner... We had a street side rooms no views little noisy my room next to lift and walkway was noisy... My son and his wife are looking at staying next school holidays so I can only give them my experience.....

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions when booking on what room available and dose it views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrnefamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Aparments.
It was dissapointing to hear that some of the aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction.
We do apologise if it wasnt made clear upon booking that all of our units do have internal stairs. I can certainly understand how this can be an issue for some of our guests, we always aim to try and explain the room types upon booking. We expect the highest standard in the cleanliness of our rooms and I have spoken with my house keeping supervisor in relation to the bins in your unit. I have investigated the circumstances surrounding the rate difference with your booking and have found that our front office staff member was just needing to confirm with our reservations department to enable her to honour the best rate for you. I was most pleased to hear that this was sorted out for you as soon as possible.
We do understand that there is always room for improvement and hope that you will return in the future to stay with us or one of our many other Oaks Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I must say Oaks Lure really dropped in quality of service in the last couple of years... Used to love going there, with its perfect location and beautiful views its ticked all the boxes. However, this time we stayed in the room with dirty curtains and scratched furniture and very dusty room…

Its 21st century… I don’t think rooms like should be allowed to customers at all...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments again on your recent visit to Nelson Bay. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. Please be assured that I am addressing the issues you have mentioned. We are aware that certain features do need updating as time goes on and we are currently in the process of updating some of our apartment features. Oaks Hotels & Resorts strive for the highest standard of cleanliness and service to our valued guests at all times.
It would have been our pleasure to have addressed any issues with you direct during your stay to ensure you had an enjoyable and comfortable visit with us.
We do aplogise for any inconveniance caused to you or your family and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Property: Oaks Lure
Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay
Oaks Lure Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing