We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms! Clean and greats locations ! Very affordable”
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Lure
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious rooms! Clean and greats locations ! Very affordable”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during the Anzac holiday break ! Was surprised by the cheap rates they had online! Booked a 1 bedroom apartment! Was very impressed of the layout of room! Great modern kitchen with all the essentials, microwave toaster kettle dishwasher etc ! ! Was very spacious, clean and modern- apart from the big telly. Great location and great views! Reception was fantastic ! Very helpful ! Very secure underground parking ! If only this place offered room service ! We will definitely be back again ! Perhaps we will stay at oaks lure blue resort as well ! Thank u very much for your pleasant accommodation !


Annie & Jim

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1989Anniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
It's wonderful to hear that you found our property of a high standard and value for money.
We are so pleased you enjoyed our lovely area here in Nelson Bay.
I have passed on your comments to our staff members, it is always lovely to hear positive comments with regard to the high level of customer service we provide.
We really look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to Oaks Lure or one of our many other Oaks properties around Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    96
    66
    31
    26
See reviews for
84
114
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked the two bedroom apartment through hotels.com. Was a little worried initially about the cleanliness of the place from reading the reviews, but found the apartment to be nice and clean when we arrived.

Front desk staff was very accommodating when we requested a late check out.
Bedrooms were quite big, and the apartment came with a nicely equipped kitchen if you want to do your own cooking.

Walking distance to the main areas of Nelson Bay, and Coles Supermarket is just around the corner.

Would be nice if they got rid of the big fat tube TVs with the fuzzy screens and installed flatscreens, but that's only a minor complaint.

Overall very happy with the accommodation.

One word of warning to future stayers: reception is not 24 hours so be sure to notify them if you're arriving late.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Lure Apartments.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay with us. Our housekeeping and front office staff work very hard to provide our valued guests with be best possible experience when staying with us and it is wonderful to hear your comments that reflect this.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked The Lure for my 2 sons as gifts to get away on a fishing trip, all they wanted is to put there head down @ nights and instead they got luxury comfort amazing views great location,
not to mention the service, now they want to book and go back with there families kids ect, thank you Oaks yet again for a fantastic stay, see you soon, we are becoming addicted in visiting all Oaks resorts around the country..job well done congratulations..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review.
It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us during their visit to lovely Nelson Bay.
It is always great to hear such lovely comments back regarding our customer service and the accommodation that we provide. It is wonderful to know that you choose to stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,328 reviews
389 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,883 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Well designed, spacious apartments - better value for the apartment than the smaller room.
Had everything you could need other then perhaps location - a little further away from water than I had expected but certainly a quality and relaxing property.
The pool area is good with a bbq section - the solar heated aspect may frighten some but enjoyed my morning swim.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
It was pleasing to hear that you found your room to be spacious and of good quality.
I was also pleased to know you had the opportunity to use our pool facilities during your stay.
Thank you for choosing the Oaks Lure Apartments for your stay whilst visiting Port Stephens and we hope to welcome you back to our lovely property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter long weekend on a family mini break.

We had booked a discounted rate online and found out when we got here that that discounted rate meant we were not entitled to any room service unless we decided to pay extra.

That meant paying more for clean towels to be changed, making of our beds, and even getting the loo paper refilled.

They're pretty basic things you'd expect from any hotel regardless - it's part and parcel of being on holiday.

Apart from that the accommodation itself is clean and comfortable. But I won't go further than that. The TVs were ancient and the couches very uncomfortable. So we're the pillows for that matter.

The pool was also very underwhelming.

There is also a steep hill which you need to walk down and up to get to the central marina district of nelson bay.

All in all it's not horrible, but of never stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it either.

Pick a better alternative.. Unless this is all that is available at time of booking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We do offer both Serviced and Un Serviced rates to offer flexibility, choice and great savings to our guests. We certainly do offer full Housekeeping services to guests who would like this service included in their package.
I was pleased to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable and hope you enjoyed your time in beautiful Nelson Bay.
We hope to have you stay at one of our many other lovely properties which are part of Oaks Hotels & Resorts portfolio in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have just spent the weekend at Oaks and I had read reviews before we went some good, quite a lot bad so I was a bit concerned but it proved to be unfounded. We booked a hotel room (210) so were only expecting a fridge & microwave, we were plesantly surprised to find it equiped with cooktop, dishwasher, oven & microwave plus crockery etc. The room was nice & big and a decent size bathroom.

Only downside were that there were no curtains, only net ones so it was light at night from the street lights and light from about 6am. Also the TV was an old CRT style one - come on management, flat screen TVs are not that expensive these days, time you updated yours. Would finish the modern room off much better that the antiquated one currently in the room.

Overall a good experience - location was perfect. Would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We are so pleased you found your room of a high standard and enjoyed your stay with us. Our location certainly is fantastic being close to everything.
Some of our rooms have external louvre blinds and are able to be adjusted manually, with these rooms we only have the sheer curtains, we will however investigate your comments on the outside light entering the room. We do hope to have all of our Tv's updated moving forward.
Again, thankyou for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found the room spacious, clean and modern. Only thing to complain about was the shower. After having a shower the floor was saturated as the drainage was not a good design and it needed a shower door! The hotel is situated close to the shops and restaurants in Nelson Bay- within walking distance (about 5 mins). The 1 bedroom has all the amenities for a longer stay - all fully equipped for cooking etc. the pool and pool area looked well maintained - even though we didn't swim in it. The reception staff were very pleasant. It was a good value for money hotel and would definitely come back and stay. Would have loved a room with a view of the ocean - maybe next time?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and lovely review.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourself whilst visiting Nelson Bay.
I will be sure to inform our housekeeping and front office staff that you found your room clean and comfortable and our service very pleasant.
It is great to know that you found your accomodation of good value for money and look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit our lovely area here in Port Stephens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Property: Oaks Lure
Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay
Oaks Lure Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing