We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday surprise”
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Lure
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“holiday surprise”
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We've just arrived yesterday from our wonderful stay in Nelson Bay. We stayed in 2 bedroom with water view serviced apartment in Oaks Lure. The master's bedroom is on the first floor and the second bedroom, lounge, kitchen and balcony is on the second floor of the apartment. After browsing the web, reading reviews and paying small money for booking, it is a big suprise how beautiful the room is. The staff gave us star treatment both the friendly reception and superb daily room cleaning services.

The only bad thing to say with the hotel is that the basement parking seems like a sauna coz its so hot and stinks due to the rubbish being placed in the basement.

Oaks lure is an example of what you like to experience in a holiday, paying little yet getting the best!

  • Liked — the apartment and the view
  • Disliked — basement parking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shanterocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    96
    65
    31
    26
See reviews for
84
113
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

My brother and I stayed at this establishment during the Christmas period. The place is nice and new. It has a modern, contemporary feel about, using minimal decor throughout the place, including the room itself.

Parking is available for all guests, but if you don't get home before 11pm, be prepared to park outside in the street. Don't worry, as it's pretty safe anyway.

The pool is a simple lap pool, with barbecue facilities and a couple of deck chairs. There is a nice view of Nelson Bay and the town from the pool. But as the previous reviewer mentioned, this may not last long due to the development going on.

The room is quite simple, with just enough room for 2 single beds, a desk, bar fridge and TV. It felt a little too cosy for me and my brother. The wardrobe is a little small as well. Fortunately the bathroom is a little more generous in space, with basic amenities provided.

Our stay would've been almost great, had it not been for a problem with our bed configuration. Our booking had contained a request for twin singles. However after checking in just before 6pm, we found the room had a double bed. Since reception closes at 6pm, there was no staff around to complain about this. There was no information book in the room for us to know who to call outside of hours to fix up our situation. So keep this in mind if you ever have any issues with your room. Make sure you raise it before 6pm, as staff will be nowhere to be found. Fortunately the next day, staff were around to request the bedding configuration to be changed.

Had this stuff up not happened, I would've been fully satisfied with our stay. Overall, a decent place to stay, as long as you don't have any similar experiences sour your stay.

  • Liked — Clean, modern facilities
  • Disliked — Stuff up with our bedding configuration and no staff to rectify until the next day
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at the Oaks Lure in December. It is new and clean, and well located on a hill overlooking Nelson Bay. Like most of the holiday properties in the area, it is a quick walk to the centre of town. Note that there is a new adjoining building being built, which may eventually block some of the views.

We booked a top floor bay view "hotel room", which consisted of a small bathroom and just enough space for a king bed, desk and cabinet holding a TV, microwave, DVD player and fridge. Only free to air channels are available. The hotel optimistically provided a luggage rack in the wardrobe, but there would be no space to use it. Note that the king bed is made up of 2 single beds joined together, hence creating an uncomfortable gap in the middle.

The bathroom has a very loud exhaust fan, which turns on automatically when the light is switched on. There is no way to manually switch it off. The shower does not have a full screen, resulting in a waterlogged floor, and there were not enough towels to mop up the water. Also, the soundproofing of the building could be better.

The check in staff are still "finding their feet" (following on from the previous review). After being granted a late check-out beforehand, we received a rude phone call from reception 1/2 an hour before the agreed time telling us we had overstayed.

Overall, the value for money was fair based on comparable room rates at the time. Whilst Nelson Bay is a nice spot, it is a relatively lengthy drive from Sydney when a similar experience can be had for locations closer to home. However, if staying in Nelson Bay again, I'd check out what other accommodation options there are. There were quite a few property developments underway in the area, so this will provide an expanded choice for visitors.

  • Liked — Clean and new, secure building, bay view
  • Disliked — front desk staff, small room, very loud bathroom fan
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MsC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the 2 month-old Oaks Lure in August. We booked and paid for a very early morning check-in for 4am. At first I was given the mobile number of the house manager to contact when we arrived. When I rang back a day prior to arrival to confirm my arrangements, I was informed that after hours check-in procedures had changed. Would be nice if I had been informed. I was given a code for the security box outside reception which would have my room key in it. When we arrived, of course there was no key. Luckily I still had the house manager's number to call at 4am.
When we got into our room, i found that there was dirty dishes still in the sink and left-over coffee in the percolator.
The apartments are brand new, quite spacious and very nicely fitted with quality appliances. The high floors had a decent view of the bay. There is no washing machine or dryer. The pool was rather small.
Nelson Bay is a lovely spot. The apartment is in a very convenient location. Staff are probably just settling. They do not display a professional projection about the place, rather it feels like a family run operation with very green staff.

  • Liked — it is brand new
  • Disliked — my check-in experience
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ct8Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Property: Oaks Lure
Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay
Oaks Lure Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing