We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR,POOR,POOR resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“POOR,POOR,POOR resort”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

well were do i start with this?? we just stayed at the bay breeze resort nelson bay for 4 nights just coming back today fri 14th JAN. they rate themselves 4 star but should only be 1 or 2. the pool they have had the water a slightly green colour and leafs and rubbish on the bottom (including band aids) the whole time we were there. when we ask the staff how often they clean there pool they said 3 times a week. we saw no one cleaning it our whole stay. the grounds itself also were not cleaned, we ended up with more leafs in the unit then there was outside. they also put us up in the disable apartment although we are able people, if any place does this you would think they would take out the disable equipment they have in the bathroom. i dont know why they bother to have a TV in the main room when it wont pick up any TV station. we also noticed that behind the main room door there was still the remain of the previous stay were we found a cotton bub sitting there, not to mention the cloths that were left behind in a draw by the previous people. you would think this would be noticed by the cleaners. i cannot begin to tell you how far this place is from giving themselves the name RESORT!! this place should be named Bay Breeze apartments nothing else, even then i would never stay there again. don't believe what you see on there web site.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shot41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
88
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My partner and I booked the 1 bedroom penthouse spa apt.with foxtel, we wanted to spend a night somewhere to relax and chill. Firstly the main TV did not work and when we went down to office we asked for them to have a look. Well after going out for a bit and returning the office had closed at 7pm and nothing was done. The "foxtel" channels were not available even on the 1970 style tv in the bedroom-they were all fuzzy. The view looked over the parking lot, the pool that their website raves on about faces the bistro and is right next to the restaurant so everyone is right next to you watching you swim. The bed was hard, the entrance to get into the room was up shaddy back way. We had spent almost $200 for the room, DO NOT STAY HERE it is a big ripoff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunbummm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Chose this hotel because of its location. It is a 5 minute stroll to the RSL Club, where I was attending a conference. 10 minutes walk will get you to Nelson Bay shops and restaurants, while 25 minutes the other direction will bring you to Shoal Bay.
Took the local Port Stephens bus there from Newcastle Airport for $6.10 - ask the driver to drop you off at the hotel if possible (there is a stop in front of the hotel but it may not stop there on weekends). At the end of our stay, the reception staff very kindly organised for a shuttle to collect us from the hotel to the airport (The Shuttle Man - $45 for 2 people).
We stayed in a 1-bedroom penthouse, which was fine. Kitchen, dining table, washing machine, toilet and sitting room with big flat screen TV downstairs. Upstairs had the comfortable bed, small TV, another sitting area plus bathroom with spa and toilet. Airconditioning downstairs only, ceiling fan upstairs. Fittings were a little dated but everything was clean. Wi-fi is available, for a fee.
Had dinner at the on-site restaurant once, and breakfast once too. Dinner was OK, breakfast was great. The service was friendly but a bit slow.
All the staff were very obliging, and this made it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

I love resorts that allow us to self cater and still provide a decent breakie cafe when you really need an egg and bacon roll.

We decided to have a self imposed long weekend and Port Stephens offered us the ability to be active or inactive.

We took our mountain bikes in case we felt like working off the food offered at Nelson Bay's cafes. The balcony room had plenty of room downstairs for us and our bike gear. Upstairs were the bedrooms and bathroom. Very clean and thoughtfully set up. The spa bath was very useful after a day cycling around Port Stephens.

The cafe was busy with locals looking for a reliable brunch place. We enjoyed the venue, service and location.

  • Liked — The space in our apartment.
  • Disliked — The toddlers in the pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank velogiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments

Property: Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments
Address: 1 Trafalgar St | Cnr Trafalgar Street & Shoal Bay Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 And 2 bedroom self contained apartments. All rooms have large corner spa baths. Foxtel and balconies. Pool. On site restaurant. 100M to Nelson Bay Beach. 5 Minute walk to Marina Shops and Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing