We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty & Poorly maintained.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty & Poorly maintained.”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Where do i start. Upon arrival we were advised that the loft apartment we booked to stay in overlooking the pool area was no longer available despite the fact we rang 3 days prior to confirm. Now we are given keys to a loft right ip the back of the resort. Upon walking into the main living area we were confronted with a dining room chair broken into 5-6 pieces. Neither of the 2 upstairs airconditioners work. The leatherette lounge absolutely putridly dirty. At first I thought it was a greyish colour lounge but in fact it was a tan/ beige colour underneath the filth when I wiped a small section. Floor covered with a layer of dirt/sand & the dirty stained upstairs bedroom carpets should haved been replaced years ago. The fridge decided to leak itseft all over the floor & the fuzzy tv Foxtel reception meant we didnt bother to use it. The shower would only manage luke warm water at best. The positives are the place is in an excellent location central to everything & the kitchen appliances are ok. The apartment is fairly good size & with proper cleaning & upkeep has the potential to be a very good resort. However in its current state one gets the feeling of uncleanliness & the desire to want to leave your shoes on inside so your feet dont get dirty. All this after being here just 4 hours so the
mind boggles at what else we will discover.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
88
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed over new year. When we arrived they had put us in a loft apartment at the back of the 'resort' - ripped filthy net curtains, curtains hanging off rails, filthy carpets - the whole resort is kind of filthy really. I went straight back to reception and said 'come on' - two days later they could move us to a room which was only marginally better. But then our fridge decided to defrost itself all over the floor which, although reported, nothing was done about. The whole place is top to toe dirty and trust me, the rooms that they show on their website are not a true representation of what you actually get. Would love to know what the strange paper covering they have over the bathroom windows is all about - our first bathroom had no air circulation so could only imagine it was to soak up the moisture (and it was covered in mould so maybe). Will never ever stay there again and could never recommend it. The only good thing was the proximity to the Marina but then Nelson Bay is filled with accommodation choices. The staff are nice, that's one thing, but not up to running the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraHudson358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Dirty rooms, tissues left on bedroom floor. Was constantly bitten and had to sleep on dirty smelling lounge.Spare pillows in cupboard had hair all over them which had just been put back away.After complaining to manager i was told it was a hot day for the cleaners, but after paying $200 per night, i found that inexusable.The rooms are very outdated and need a complete make over.Change the manager of this resort as she has no public relation skills. On a lighter note the restaurant at the front of resort is excellent. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelbugz086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Our 3 day break package, 3 moves in 3 days was no break!
Room 32 right at the back of the complex, up 3 flights of stairs which were filthy and walls smeared with blood, which was still there when we left. The lounge's were very faded and in need of recovering, very uninviting. Both TV's didn't work. The light on the stairs to the bedroom, and the fan in the bathroom also didn't work.The bedroom fan went clunk. clunk, clunk all night long, and the bar fridge was full of mould.
We asked to move to the room next door no.33, that was a very big mistake as when my husband turned the bedside light on around 9pm we had sparks flying everywhere, it blew out all the electricity in the unit, yet didn't trip the safety switch, which is very dangerous, my husband could have been electrocuted! plus no power all night, and it was a very hot night, we had to throw out the fridge contents. The next morning he went down to the restaurant and asked for some hot water to make a cuppa. So we moved back to room 32 after the repairs were made.
I found the pool area very dirty, you could feel the dirt under your feet, in need of a good scrub. Also there was only one unbrella for everybody to fight over.
Only half the lights on the walk way worked, and the whole place is in need of a lot of general maintenace.
Its such a shame, to see this place get so run down, as it's in such a great location. Its been around 3 years since our last visit, and I wouldn't hurry back to this so called resort again!
The restaurant at the front is in no way connected to the so called resort, and is very good value, with great food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shell7353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

When you work in hospitality going away for a few days over a weekend can often be quite hard so when the opportunity does come up you want everything to be relaxing and carefree.. Well if that is what you want then don't go to The Nelson Bay Breeze 'Resort'.
WHAT A COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY!!!
The rooms would have been beautiful - 15years ago. The furniture would have been nice - 15 years ago. The grounds of the hotel would have been well kept - 15 years ago but unfortunately today they all look disgusting and when you're paying $200 a night you expect $200 a night quality NOT what you get here. And don't get me started on the red headed "Manager". She has some serious attitude that needs to be dealt with by the owners before they loose every customer that walks through receptions doors.
How this place is called a Resort is beyond me. Not one part of it could be considered a resort. And 4 star???? I don't think so. I think 2 star would be a much better rating for a place in the state that the Nelson Bay Breeze is in.
I understand that over time buildings do start to date but thats no excuse for the internal furnishings (and external furnishings for that matter) not to be replaced and up graded. And the grounds.. How hard is it to put a sprinkler on the lawns around the external of the hotel, and sweep up the leaves and hose out the drains and scrub the concrete on the up stairs walkways that are that covered on moss they are slippery to walk on. And the pool grounds... straighten up the furniture, brush or hose off the pool lounges and vacuum up all the leaves and dirt on the bottom of the pool!!!! No other "resort" has the amount of buildup in the bottom of the pool as this one does.
The cleanliness of the rooms was great considering there's only so much scrubbing that can be done to make the rooms look clean.
The restaurant, just for the record is AMAZING!! The food is wonderful and the service exceptional. This may be due to them being run independently from the hotel management. The staff in the resort are very friendly and put on a brave face but it would be interesting to know what they all deal with behind the scenes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holidaymaker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquaire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I have stayed here on 3 previous occassions, however, this time will be my last....the "Resort" could do with a good clean up, the pool area has been very neglected, the TV in the lounge continualy played up and the TV in the bedroom didn't even work. THe lounge covers were questionable (we used towels to sit on). The icing on the cake was the manger standing by while the pool guy proceeded to pour acid into the pool while we were swimming with a "1yr old" when I commented on the acid being added while we were in the ...both Idiots just looked at us and said nothing. For the record the resturant is great with lovely friendly staff...this business is seperate to the so called resort.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAB_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Visited this place 3 years ago and it was excellent. change of management and poor cleaning resulted in bed bugs, unmade beds with hairs in it when we checked in. Rubbish found in room and cobwebs dust and unmopped floors. Discusted in how it has the resort has become. Red back spiders found under pool lounges and pool was not very clean. Had to change our own sheets on arrival and had no pillow protectors on pillows, urine or blood stained doona covers. We had no fry pan, broken iron and the list goes on. IF the management is replaced and the cleaning staff did a through job the place would be perfect. Shame on them for letting us visitors down.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tribe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments

Property: Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments
Address: 1 Trafalgar St | Cnr Trafalgar Street & Shoal Bay Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 And 2 bedroom self contained apartments. All rooms have large corner spa baths. Foxtel and balconies. Pool. On site restaurant. 100M to Nelson Bay Beach. 5 Minute walk to Marina Shops and Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Breeze Holiday Apartments Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing