We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Nelson Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Myself and my partner have stayed with Trish and Ian twice now the first time as a couple and the 2nd time we invited along the family and booked out the whole b&b.....the owners kindly greeted us something that is quite a rare experience being a well-travelled young couple you we notice you don`t experience that much...the b&b quarters is close enough to the owners for convenience but far away enough for seclusion....the rooms are beautifully and simply decorated they are cute cosy and the beds are amazingly comfortable the delight of having foxtel in the room was good being able to lay on the bed with a good view of the decent size TV =)....the spa room is wonderful you can use it day or night and you are provided with candles and there are nice plants to give it that romantic relaxing feel whilst you look up at the stars and the trees .....breakfast is prepared fresh and there is a lot of it the home baked bread is to die for and we definitely did not go hungry....there dog and cat are friendly and provide a nice homely feel the owners are friendly and extremely knowledgeable of the area and the activities provided and were always happy to meet any request we had or help with planning activities........MY TIP TO FELOW TRAVELERS.....make sure you read the guide provided for you this will answer any questions you have and will help avoid any disappointment ....definitely THE BEST B&B I HAVE EVER STAYED IN AND WILL NOT HESITATE TO REFER FRIENDS AND FAMILY THERE I WILL DEFINETLEY GO BACK THERE AGAIN !!!

Room Tip: Spa room is the best =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fansex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I recently had the good fortune to stay at this charming BnB with its most gracious and charming hosts Iain and Trish. Our room was small but very clean with all the creature comforts of home. The contintental breakfast was delicious and served at a very civilized hour for holidaying guests. The steep terrain should not deter any prospective guests from enjoying this home away from home whilst visiting Nelson Bay. It is a comfortable walk into town and within easy driving distance to all the delights of the Port Stephens area. We look forward to visiting again some day soon and will definitely be staying with Iain and Trish when we do so.

Room Tip: The spa room is the largest and has a quiet, private alcove for some romantic bathing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this BNB for just one night last week. After climbing the quite steep terrain upto the property (the only downside if you have any mobility issues) we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient host and he showed us to our small but very pleasant room.We rested well in a comfortable bed and enjoyed a great continental breakfast the next morning.
We would have no hesitation in reccomending this property.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

no hot water and problems handled unprofessionally. Will never stay here or Nelson bay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Difficult to find somewhere in Nelson Bay with a good location and good value for money. This place was ok - the room was quite small and it was a bit of a walk into town. Breakfast was tasty but is not a cooked breakfast - this costs extra and the first day it was late and we didn't even get toast! The fruit sald was nice though!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Nelson Bay B&B for 2 weeks from early Dec. We stayed in the Tomaree room with the jacuzzi (which we didn't end up using).
The room was compact but left us with enough room to store our cases and sundry gear and still have room to move.The room was very well lit with natural daylight and the neutral tones in the room were pleasing.Bedroom and bathroom were very clean and everything functioned as it should. The bed was most comfortable. Ian and Trish have also recently installed 32" LCD TVs in the bedrooms which was a bit like being at the theatre.There is also a very good range of Austar channels to select from. During our stay they also put a new 2 seater couch in our room to replace the single chair...nice touch.
Continental breakfast was on offer each morning in a common room with fruit juices,fresh fruit salad,cereals,toast etc. The website did state when we booked that full cooked breakfast was included,but this is not the case unless you want to pay extra.
The setting of the place is great with a nice green wooded area out the back which you can view from the verandah at the back,which also has BBQ,table and chairs. It was very relaxing sitting there with bird song in the background.
Ian and Trish were very helpful in offering information on all the local attractions and things to do.Their knowledge was handy and allways given cheerfully.
In all, we really enjoyed our stay and will come back here again.Lets hope the standards are as good next time we arrive. Peter & Adele

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoastrunnerVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Wow what an amazing bnb. The pictures do not do it justice. we staying in the room with a private spa bath on veranda and i didn't want to leave.. this was by far the best bnb we have ever stayed in. Clean, Cosy, nice brekkie, lovely host, great location! can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_narey2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.5 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
584 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 81 Stockton St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $102 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson Bay B&B (AAA 4 1/2 star rated since 1997) is located in the heart of Port Stephens in the township of Nelson Bay. Just 800 metres to the centre of town, you have the convenience of walking to restaurants, marina, boating activities, beaches, but still enjoy the peace of our bushland setting. Our architect-designed purpose built B&B suitable for adults only, offers comfortable and private accommodation in a separate building. (more like a boutique motel)The B&B offers separate accommodation including 3 queen rooms, each with ensuites, A/C, Ceiling fans, Bar Fridge, Tea & Coffee facilities, Flat TV, DVD, Cable (foxtel) and free wireless internet. The tariff includes a great continental breakfast (cooked breakfast at additional charge) which includes Fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, juices, latte, tea, etc. and our homemade bread for toast.2 rooms have private enclosed balconies with private Spa's, 1 room has a private balcony overlooking a bushland reserve. Other facilities include a guest lounge/dining area with gas log fire, BBQ area, Microwave, Coffee machine, guest laundry, library of movies, free wireless internet, office facilities, off street parking,tour bookings with discount on tours.We also do gift vouchers, with no expiry date.The accommodation is not suitable for people with mobility issues as there are stairs to the B&B.We are approx a ten minute walk to town centre, whether you want a quiet break or an active holiday, Nelson Bay B&B will provide you with comfort and service so you really enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Bed And Breakfast Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing