We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our last minute stay, in a room for four (double + sofa bed), was a nice surprise after some of the previous bad reviews. Everything was spotless, TV reception was excellent with some pay tv channels, our dinner in the motel restaurant was delicious with really hearty serves, and the pool/barbeque area was really nice. Little Beach is walking distance away. A minor problem - although the room was for 4, and the sofa bed was already made when we unfolded it, the room catered for two - two cups and unfortunately, only two towels! We didn't discover this till after reception was closed - towels were instantly supplied when we asked in the morning, but it might be worth checking when you arrive.
Someone else mentioned the balcony being too small, but it's big enough for a couple of chairs, and there is always the barbeque area with ample chairs, tables and umbrellas or the pool area with chairs and loungers.
I'd be happy to stay again, though I'd pay a bit extra for the family room which has two single beds as well as a double - more comfortable for teenagers.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool area - very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvpsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 278 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

the breakfast was dreadful, our room didnt get serviced on our second day & the attitude of the female owner wasnt at all polite, will not go there again, no designated parking & not for the disabled, lots stairs, the pool was a great area with families having a wonderful time

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times, and am impressed at the hard work that's been put into the motel, gardens, restuarant , bar and menus.. From the recent managers, and huge clean up, that had been unattended for quite a while, over a year or more.. New curtains in the rooms make a world of difference..
And once the busy period is over more looks to be done..

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Nineteen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a year ago at the same time over Xmas break & were pleasantly impressed with the service & standard of our room.
This year however under new management & owners it was rather disappointing.
Our room was poorly maintained with no access to the balcony. The bathroom was old and tatty with a huge hole in the bathroom door from a previous visitor.
We also found the service to be lacking in that personal touch we experienced last year. Seemed a lack of pride in the hotel from the new management.
Saying this though if you are after a budget, no frills hostel/motel style accomodation its great value for money.
With a little further care to accommodation & service improvements this place could tempt us to return next year. We will see.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alidews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsula1, Manager at Peninsula Nelson Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for the feedback Alidews1,
The Peninsula" was" looking very tired and neglected, It is currently going through a transformation to freshen it up. The new management took over from the past managers only a few weeks before your stay, the neglect you saw was the fall out from the previous owner / managers that you had such a good stay with. We are now renovating the older rooms, the restaurant is re opened and the gardens have had the old dead branches removed, fresh mulch placed in them. The lawns have been fertilised and are growing again. I am sure if you return you will see a much improved Peninsula Nelson Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you are looking out with a budget stay at nelson bay and wish to make your own food to save some bucks, this is a good place to catch! nothing fancy just simple and sweet with parking space and cooking facilities and most imp v ery close to the beach

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insidebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this "Budget" motel, rooms were clean and well maintained. Coffee, tea, milk and a kettle were all supplied in the room. Along with basic toiletries. TV a bit small but had plenty of cable channels including a movies, History ect.

Well located for the Diggers (RSL) Club which has good meals and drinks at great prices. Get a members card especially if you are a Pensioner $5 Full member $12 gets you discounts on drinks (75c) Food $2 :)

Beautiful area and lots of nice beaches and walks.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The receptionist / owner? is very rude, bad attitude. The room is very dirty and very 'smelly'. When we went to the room, we flushed the toilet and found that it did not work properly. We tried to call reception, nobody picked up the phone. There is no internet service. Swimming pool is very dirty. Nobody can help at all. If you live in this accomodation, please prepare to help yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.9 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
579 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
537 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Nelson Bay

Address: 52 Shoal Bay Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peninsula Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $89 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peninsula Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Peninsula
Peninsula Nelson Bay Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing