We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different stay one year on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A different stay one year on”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a year ago at the same time over Xmas break & were pleasantly impressed with the service & standard of our room.
This year however under new management & owners it was rather disappointing.
Our room was poorly maintained with no access to the balcony. The bathroom was old and tatty with a huge hole in the bathroom door from a previous visitor.
We also found the service to be lacking in that personal touch we experienced last year. Seemed a lack of pride in the hotel from the new management.
Saying this though if you are after a budget, no frills hostel/motel style accomodation its great value for money.
With a little further care to accommodation & service improvements this place could tempt us to return next year. We will see.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alidews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsula1, Manager at Peninsula Nelson Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the feedback Alidews1,
The Peninsula" was" looking very tired and neglected, It is currently going through a transformation to freshen it up. The new management took over from the past managers only a few weeks before your stay, the neglect you saw was the fall out from the previous owner / managers that you had such a good stay with. We are now renovating the older rooms, the restaurant is re opened and the gardens have had the old dead branches removed, fresh mulch placed in them. The lawns have been fertilised and are growing again. I am sure if you return you will see a much improved Peninsula Nelson Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    111
    43
    26
    27
See reviews for
82
108
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you are looking out with a budget stay at nelson bay and wish to make your own food to save some bucks, this is a good place to catch! nothing fancy just simple and sweet with parking space and cooking facilities and most imp v ery close to the beach

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insidebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this "Budget" motel, rooms were clean and well maintained. Coffee, tea, milk and a kettle were all supplied in the room. Along with basic toiletries. TV a bit small but had plenty of cable channels including a movies, History ect.

Well located for the Diggers (RSL) Club which has good meals and drinks at great prices. Get a members card especially if you are a Pensioner $5 Full member $12 gets you discounts on drinks (75c) Food $2 :)

Beautiful area and lots of nice beaches and walks.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The receptionist / owner? is very rude, bad attitude. The room is very dirty and very 'smelly'. When we went to the room, we flushed the toilet and found that it did not work properly. We tried to call reception, nobody picked up the phone. There is no internet service. Swimming pool is very dirty. Nobody can help at all. If you live in this accomodation, please prepare to help yourself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Mt Druitt NSW
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Family took a 3 night stay in October 2013. Stayed in a Peninsula palms three bedroom. excellent value for money for a family of 5, accommodation was wonderful very clean, comfortable relaxing and very easy walk across the road to the Main Hotel for a lovely swim in a very well maintained Pool. With very friendly Staff to assist us, I highly recommend. We will stay again. Nelson/Shoal Bay is absolutely beautiful, can't wait till we come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Improvement by New Managers, lovely young couple, have great manners, helpful and looks like they know how to run a clean ship.. Rooms are on the improve, gardens look like they getting some TLC..
They have alot energy about them!!!
Happy stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nineteen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked in to their 2 star rooms expecting something awful but was pleasantly surprised when the room was spacious & clean, the bed was comfortable & the air conditioner worked. So much better than another place we have stayed for similar money (Formule 1) with a nice roomy shower and great water pressure. Will stay again if we go to Nelson bay as it is only 2 min walk to the diggers club & 20 mins in to town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.9 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
509 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Nelson Bay

Property: Peninsula Nelson Bay
Address: 52 Shoal Bay Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peninsula Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peninsula Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Peninsula
Peninsula Nelson Bay Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing