We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class all the way”
Review of Imagine Cruises

Imagine Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Imagine Cruises' is an advanced Eco-Accredited company that is dedicated to the protection of Dolphins and Whales. 'Imagine' is a 54ft Sailing Catamaran, purpose-designed as a model for Eco-tourism and capable of both offshore and inshore cruising. She offers a covered foredeck, as well as a comfortable downstairs cabin and bar. Whenever possible, we will hoist the sails and share with you our passion for sailing! 'Envision' is a 40ft power cat, designed to move through the water quickly but safely and smoothly. She provides a 360° viewing platform which is perfect for the keen photographer!She is also capable of delivering guests directly onto the beach. 'Envision' is ideal for a relaxed, personalised and crowd-free experience. We offer four seasonal tours that all carry Advanced Ecotourism certification: Dolphin Watch + Sailing, Whale and Dolphin Watching, Dolphin Watch + Snorkeling and Seafood BBQ Dinner Cruise.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is no better way to see the whales in the Port Stephens area than on an Imagine Cruise. This catamaran is a lovely way to sail. Firstly, the knowledge of the skippers is amazing, they live and love this area. Sailing out of the heads and then seeing whales close up is an awesome experience. You are usually guaranteed a sighting, or a free return visit if you don't happen to see them. This has only happened to me once. The whales are a joy to watch, so majestic, and when they breach, it's breathtaking. On the way back, if there's enough breeze, they usually return under sail. What a relaxing thing to do. Just the sound of the wind, & the water. They usually sail around Cabbage Tree Island & see some seals, you nearly always see dolphins, and we've even seen huge turtles. Each time we have visitors, we always do an Imagine cruise, it's the only way to go. I would not hesitate in recomminding this tour operator.

Thank Brayzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We love hearing from locals.. who keep coming out with us... and you can defiantly see why we love our job and most importantly the way we can showcase Port Stephens Marine Park... Thanks Again for your lovely response.. and hope to see you out again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 325 of 386 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

A warm balmy day, great views across the bay,dolphins, a glass of wine, staff that try hard to make sure your having a great time and a surprisingly good meal. We motored across the bay to jimmy 's beach dolphin watching in the way. Anchored and Had a good meal and then raised the sails for a sunset cruise with music to set the scene. Fantastic.

Thank sydneygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We would like to thank you for your lovely response, and thanks so much for coming out on Imagine, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have used imagine cruises for the past 5 years and have never been disappointed. This weekend we had the best experience, Frank the skipper was very knowledgable and found the whales who I might add put on an excellent show for all on board, it was wonderful making memories with my nieces who are visiting from the uk.

Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We would like to thank you for your lovely response, and thanks so much for coming out on Imagine, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just had the most wonderful day. Sunday on the water watching whales, dolphins and seals. Went on the boat Imagine. The captain and the crew were so friendly. They made our day so special. We even came back on sail. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you Imagine!!!

Thank goldilocksSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We would like to thank you for your lovely response, and thanks so much for coming out on Imagine, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went out whale watching on a smaller sail boat with an excellent and very knowledgeable crew. Got very close to the whales and as there were only 25 people on board all got an excellent view of a whale that 'played' for at least 45 minutes up close to our boat.
Much better than going on the bigger boats where you have to jostle for window positions.
Also great to have the tour of the area and see the seals and dolphins up close as well. They even emailed us photos they had taken which was great for those who didn't bring a camera(and at no cost).

Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We would like to thank you for your lovely response, and thanks so much for coming out on Imagine, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imagine Cruises also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Imagine Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing