We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gathering of new and old friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imagine Cruises

Imagine Cruises
Ranked #2 of 9 Tours in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Imagine Cruises' is an advanced Eco-Accredited company that is dedicated to the protection of Dolphins and Whales. 'Imagine' is a 54ft Sailing Catamaran, purpose-designed as a model for Eco-tourism and capable of both offshore and inshore cruising. She offers a covered foredeck, as well as a comfortable downstairs cabin and bar. Whenever possible, we will hoist the sails and share with you our passion for sailing! 'Envision' is a 40ft power cat, designed to move through the water quickly but safely and smoothly. She provides a 360° viewing platform which is perfect for the keen photographer!She is also capable of delivering guests directly onto the beach. 'Envision' is ideal for a relaxed, personalised and crowd-free experience. We offer four seasonal tours that all carry Advanced Ecotourism certification: Dolphin Watch + Sailing, Whale and Dolphin Watching, Dolphin Watch + Snorkeling and Seafood BBQ Dinner Cruise.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gathering of new and old friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been travelling on Imagine many times and got to say it always has been a most enjoyable, fun, relaxing and delightful sailing trip with a sense of excellence in all that the crew provides. Highly recommended

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WBNtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
You can defiantly see why we love our job, We would like to thank you for your lovely response, and thanks so much for coming out on Imagine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    50
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went on the $39 BBQ fish dinner cruise and had such a relaxing and lovely time, can definitely recommend. This was good value, the meal was nice and the sailing was great. Crew were friendly and attentive, even supplying us with blankets on the way home as the air cooled. We're so happy that we did this cruise and the small group size and the sailing part of the cruise were just what we wanted. You can go down and relax on the boomnet on the front of the boat which some people did; and we got to see some dolphins too. Very enjoyable and one of the highlights of our Nelson Bay stay (along with camel rides on Birubi beach - must do!).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelItAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for coming to experience the trip and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Eco-tourism dolphin and whale watching.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The "Imagine" is our favourite whale watching vessel. The skipper really knows how to find and follow the migrating whales and you are hardly ever disappointed. We have sailed on the "Imagine" at least half a dozen times: as whale watchers, to celebrate a friends birthdays (dinner cruises) and last night to celebrate the New Year with a cruise with copious finger food, kebabs and cooked prawns of excellent quality.
Each time was great: the atmosphere on board is friendly and the crew do their utmost to give you a good time. Quality of food and drinks is good and service is friendly.
As the "Imagine" is a catamaran it is more stable than single hull vessels in rough weather, but for passengers that think they may have a problem there are free sea-sickness tablets available.
Most of the trips we made with the Imagine it went under sail as soon as we left the marina which makes it extra attractive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
You can defiantly see why we love our job, wether it is in the bay watching dolphins, or out spotting the great humpbacks, to partying the night away to welcome in 2013! We would like to thank you for your lovely response, and thanks so much for coming out on Imagine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC DINNER CRUISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went on the New Year Eve dinner cruise and then watched the fireworks from the water
Food Excellent
Captain Eves and his crew made everyone most welcome
The fresh seafood, oysters, prawns and chicken kebabs just kept coming
The bar prices were most reasonable
Recommend Imagine Cruises to everyone

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for celebrating the end of 2012 and welcoming 2013 with Imagine Cruises. We really do love our job, and with events like these you can see why! Hope to see you out and about on one of our other cruises...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Respect for the environment & the marine life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A Fantastic morning out on the ocean with one of the most professional teams in the business.
Complete respect for the marine life & environment as well as ensuring customer satisfaction throughout the trip.
A challenging swim for my partner but he faced his fears in the water & had a super experience.
Highly recommended for swimmers & observers. A magical morning.

Helpful?
Thank Alidews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImagineCruises, Manager at Imagine Cruises, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for lovely response regarding Dolphin Swim, its a great experience that Dolphin Swim Australia offers with Imagine Cruises. Hope to see you out on the water again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imagine Cruises also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Imagine Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing