We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and very friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Stephens Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port Stephens Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent value and very friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Although this motor lodge is from the 1970's, it is well maintained and our room was very comfortable. A modern flat screen TV was a bonus. The owner was a very friendly chap who was keen to assist us with orienting ourselves to what was available in local attractions and dining establishments.
The Motor Lodge is well located in that it is only a short walk from the esplanade shops and restaurants, or the excellent RSL club, where we had dinner. It has a truly beach-holiday feel to it, and it is easy to relax there. Our room was large, and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and the shower excellent.
We would recommend this motor lodge as being excellent value for money. We only stayed a night, unfortunately, but it was a pleasant stay made all the nicer by the friendly, caring staff.

Room Tip: Most (all?) rooms require you to negotiate a flight of stairs. This may be a problem for those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

For the price and location you can't beat this lovely little motor lodge around the corner from the marina. The rooms come with a little kitchenette and all utensils. Tom, the owner, is the hidden gem. Tap into his local knowledge, especially if you enjoy fishing, and you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthronomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

From the outside, the place looks stuck in the 1970s. Think "Crossroads" if you're English. Inside, we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful owner. In the room, we were back to the 1970s. Bare brick walls, tired furniture, tired decor, tired curtains. On the plus side, it was perfectly clean, the bed was comfortable and a new widescreen TV was on the wall. The location was central to Nelsons Bay.

The bottom line is that this is a motor lodge. It does not claim to be a 5 star hotel, and to that extent it does what it says on the tin. An updating of the furniture would help, as would replacing the curtains and painting the bathroom, but as a stop for the night, it is clean and comfortable. Provided your expectations are realistic, you will find the place acceptable, although there will doubtless be better available.

The real problem was that Nelsons Bay, and Port Stephens as a whole, is dying. Despite the glossy brochures and Internet claims, there is nothing in Port Stephens. The town is tired, empty shops and restaurants, no life at all, even on a Saturday night. The question you need to ask is not whether you should be staying in this motel, but why you want to visit Port Stephens at all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

the Port Stephens Motor Lodge staff are happy and friendly and very happy to help. the room is everything you need for a place to relax and wind down. Overall the lodge is a friendly happy place i know i will be back.

Room Tip: relaxing chilled zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed just overnight and found the motel to be clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and gave us a room with a view.

We didn't have a reservation but the room was $10 cheaper than what it was advertised on the internet.

Close to town and the marina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_El_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and was delighted with the home style service I received. I was provided with a pleasant,clean,tidy room with all the amenities required and as I was on my own I was invited in to dinner with the owner and his family. Being close to the marina I was able to walk to all of the tourist pick up points and enjoy the bay without getting back in my car I will be back again, thanks so much!

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is our second time here, fantastic value for money for a stopover and a track at the back that leads to the marina and beach. Basic comfortable rooms and great service from the owner

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Stephens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Stephens Motel

Property: Port Stephens Motel
Address: 44 Magnus St | Corner of Fingal Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Stephens Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Stephens Motel (previously Motor Lodge) is located in a cool, shady parkland setting and is a short stroll through the adjoining park to the beach across the road. The marina, shops, restaurants and local attractions are within walking distance also. Let us provide for you an enjoyable, affordable and comfortable holiday or stop-over that you will remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Port Stephens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Stephens Hotel
Port Stephens Motel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing