We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Nice Cafe

Nice Cafe
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Took my boyfriend here for breakfast and we were both over the moon with the food. We sat near the kitchen and loved watching our meals be created. Very nice staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    123
    28
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“If NICE was in Sydney, we would go every week...”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

But then again, if it was in Sydney, it would have people queuing from Bondi to Bronte waiting to get in for the Best Breakfast ever. Set in a nondescript area across from the wharf area of Nelson Bay. Food is amazingly fresh and well presented, the attention to detail, from the menus within Little Golden Book covers to the glass, crockery and cutlery. Of course the food is what sets it apart. We love it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WheresDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went to Nice Cafe on the basis of other reviews and we weren't disappointed. Coffee was great, service friendly and welcoming. Food was very good. We had chicken caesar salad and calamari. The later was served with a lovely salad, aioli, tomato relish and a fabulous orange and star anise concoction that went perfectly with the calamari.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cathe_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum..A great spot for lunch”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Staff and service, food was delicious and the special milkshakes are a must have....amazing!! Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank rheedles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best brekkie ever!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled across Nice about 3 years ago now. We're not locals, but have a holiday place approx 20 minutes away from Nice, so spend a lot of time in Port Stephens. We've had breakfasts at most of the local cafés/restaurants up there.
Nice is the best breakfast we have ever had (anywhere.)
Coffee is delicious, food is always cooked well n presented beautifully (sometimes you get edible flowers.)
Staff is always welcoming. Only downside to some is, in the busy season, Nice is always very busy, and you may have to wait a bit longer than usual for your meals etc. My husband and I don't mind this, as we know it's worth the wait!
Prices are about the same as other places.
My husband even suggested last weekend, that we drive up there for breakfast (from home, not the holiday place), about an hour drive.
Do yourself a favour.

Helpful?
2 Thank Japhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nice Cafe also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Nice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing