We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Looking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Keep Looking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed at the Landmark in February this year. We had been looking for a nice location following 3 great days spent at the Start Casino Hotel in Sydney. The comments regarding the poor state of the rooms and the general feel for the place reflects our own findings. The rooms had been liberally sprayed with 'Lemon' to kill the horrible musty smell in our one bed apartment. Although booked in for three nights, we actually booked another room at another location for one of the nights we were so unhappy. We were also surprised to find that reception closes as 7.30. Doors then locked. Be warned if you are arriving after this time. Only top marks we could give would be to the marketing company which made this hotel look so good. Two star and not for anyone looking for a good standard of accomodation. Town itself is ok. If you are looking for outdoor type activities lots to do. Would not rush back however.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Qualityscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    126
    84
    35
    28
See reviews for
77
159
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The rooms were very small, they must have been taken with a wide angle lensed camera when they posted the pictures on the internet. The kitchen we had had, had a sink a stove top and no bench space to cut of put anything on. The gym was changed into a games room, which you couldn't swing a cat in, it was so small. The lifts hardly worked and the rooms were not serviced. Not good at all. I would rate it at more like 3 to maybe 4 stars.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank rosie123-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2006

We stayed in the 5th floor 2bed apartment. It was refurbished recently with new carpets and furniture. Great Ocean views and close to everything but the bed and the pillows is not comfy. Cockroaches in the kitchen at night and the lift was noisy too. No separate shower in on suite you have to climb on to the bath to have shower. Only a limited under cover parking spaces available. Clearly not a four star accommodation

  • Liked — Views, clean
  • Disliked — bedding, on suite shower
  • Tips/Secrets — 5th floor is for couples only, take your insect spray
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnydaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2006

The Landmark Nelson Bay, Dowing Street, Nelsonbay

The worst of all managed apartments!
Dirty, Rotten and smelling carpets and Couch
Noisy steam engine like lift go though 2nd bed room
Fused globes
Small, Crammed apartment
Low quality fittings and appliances
Not Neat
Uncomfortable pillows and bed
Not fit to let

Helpful?
2 Thank OZtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2005

Great view, close to everything, have a steam in the steamroom.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karikewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Property: The Landmark Nelson Bay
Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing