We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if you book Twin Share”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay with a friend. On booking we requested a 1 bed twin share. On arrival we were given a queen bed which could not be separated. We requested another room. We were then given a 1 bed disabled room also with a queen bed and were told that it couldn't be separated until the morning because there was no house keeper on site. We were offered a roll-in bed for the night. As this was a disabled room it had a walk in shower with shower curtain and rails. We were planning a relaxing break which included having a spa bath. We were told that this was the only room available or we could pay extra and have a 2 bed room.
On speaking to the manager and expressing that we had not been given what we had booked I was told several times that they had in fact given us our requested booking. When trying to point out that we booked twin share I was informed that reception would have told my friend when booking that they cannot guarantee twin share. If this had been the case she would not have booked a 1 bed. I should point out that we have stayed at this resort several times over the years, always booked twin share and never been told that it could not be guaranteed.
I requested that we be given a 2 bed room at no extra cost. The manager refused, reiterating that our booking had been upheld and suggesting that we could continue arguing but wouldn't I prefer to start my holiday.
So we paid the extra money as we had no other option. So much for keeping the customer happy.
On the Friday night it was so noisy with young people yelling from the ground to others in the building that we were woken up. There is no on-site reception or security at night at this resort.
And I would suggest that their cleaning staff need to sweep the balcony after each guest. Ours had someones cut toenails on it.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patsgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 330 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at The Landmark for 2 nights in October (had 2 rooms - travelled with the In-Laws) and had a great time! Yes, the Hotel is a bit dated but it was clean enough and you can't beat the view and location. Our rooms were located on level 4 and looked across the Car Park and out over the Bay. We used the pool both days and it was lovely (however not heated to 27 Degrees as we were told on Check-In). The only negative about our stay was the Check-In. Arrived at 10:30am (which is before normal Check-In). Went to Reception hoping we could park our car and do all the paperwork etc so we just had to return later and collect the key. Was told quite bluntly that our rooms weren't ready (and won't be till 2pm) and that we couldn't do any paperwork or leave our credit card numbers etc because they were in the middle of check-out and they need to do the banking reconciliation after check-out before they can take any money for this evening! Very strange and off putting! I have worked in Hotels for quite a bit of my career and have never had to refuse money for a guest because I had to do a banking reconciliation!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineLollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with all of the mod cons you could ask for. The staff were friendly and helpful and made sure that we had all we needed. The location is great with only a 5 minute walk into town but with a great view of the sea, the pool isnt heated but it is clean and has ample seating for residents to spread out - I would definitely go back there!

Room Tip: The higher the level the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bannersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

There are plenty of reviews about the Landmark Resort ranging from very good to mediocre. The reason for this is the big differences in the ocean views depending on the level and position in building as well as the condition of the apartment. Some apartments have been recently refurbished. Others refurbished over the last 5 years whilst a small number have not been refurbished and are hence the main reason for complaints and poor reviews. (eg Unit 411 reviewed below) If you are using a discount voucher don’t expect to be put in one of the better rooms as these are reserved for guests paying the full rate and/or regulars. In any case the apartments that have been the subject of complaints are only offered when the resort is nearly booked out and there are no other options.
Having provided some background information for you I must recommend any of the recently refurbished units on the high floors towards the west side of the building (towards the pool) as being the pick of the crop. If you require an oversized 1 bedroom apartment in top condition with fabulous views then you can’t go past apartment 410. It is also the only one to come with a private balcony, lovely open plan kitchen, large fully enclosed shower with level access, stereo system, bench top oven/griller and brand new Samsung LED TV. It also has a huge king sized bed that can be set up as two king singles whilst there is also plenty of space in the extra wide hallway for a full sized "roll-in" single bed if there are 3 of you.
I should also mention that I have found the resort staff very courteous, friendly and helpful at all times.
I hope this review helps you to book a room in The Landmark more wisely in future but remember that specific room requests cannot be guaranteed and if you have a discount voucher, be reasonable and don’t expect the best rooms.

Room Tip: Best kept secrets: Firstly this lovely pool is heated to 26 degress ALL YEAR round which makes this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amayzingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we arrived past 7pm so our key was left in a safe and I was txted the code of the safe. my key was sitting in there with all the other ppl's rooms. stayed in a 1bdrm apartment that was average. Don't think it was worth the price...the spa could NOT fit 2 ppl in it. the beds were like rocks. went for a swim on the 2nd day the pool was nice, but went to the 2nd level deck to lounge on the sun chairs, they had no cusions and were super uncomfortable. we wanted to put up the umbrella to give us some shade, only to be told by the maintenance guy that he reckons it was unsafe in the wind, which was very nice of him. apparently one of the huge umbrellas collapsed on this poor lady and management have done nothing to fix them, there was no signage to say they were unsafe. Had a takeaway meal at the resturant. was ok. Good location though, walking distance to marina

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This room has lounge furniture in urgent need of replacement.
The management know this but still place long standing clients in this property and then are sorry we were upset but tender no apology,
Take care and insist on viewing apartment before accepting the management's choice.
What a disappointment after many years of coming to this beautiful location and on my 85th birthday too.
Tommy

Room Tip: Insist on viewing the given room before settlement of contract
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, in a loft style 5th floor apartment. The 2nd bedroom and bathroom was on the ground floor so perfect for the kids. The loft level had it's own bathroom. The apartments are self-contained with a good size balcony overlooking Port Stephens beaches and the Marina. Great restaurants and clubs in walking distance is an added advantage. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poohbear128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
563 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $109 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing