We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Couldn't have been happier with our 15 night stay in a 1 bedroom, Room 405. Beautiful views facing north across the bay, a sunny veranda to relax on and a spacious well equipped apartment was everything we needed.

The location is just a stroll to the shops and marina. The views from the rooms are what set this resort apart with sweeping vistas over the bay to Tea Gardens which we never tire of. Just asking to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and a good book.

All the staff are very good, courteous and attentive and to our surprise we had a bottle of wine presented to us to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Our room was clean and everything that we expected. Could not complain over cleanliness and assistance by the maids.

We hope to return again to enjoy a stay at the Landmark, an excellent base to travel from and not too far from family.

Well done to Chris, Graham, Melinda, Karen, Dianne and Shannon who will make your stay as memorable as ours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great location at the top of the hill overlooking the picturesque Nelson Bay. This resort nestles between the Bowling Club and the 27 hole Golf Course, both having great dinning venues. The room had a separate bedroom and fully contained kitchen with a dinning room and lounge room which flowed out onto a reasonably large balcony, from which to capture the spectacular views of Nelson Bay.

The Landmark is in the throws of refurbishment and has been re-painted on the inside and outside, but needs to have more work done on the inside to recover from the "sad look" tired interior to come up to the standard of its four star rating. This included leaking shower hose, cracked tiles etc. Small things like only one washer for two people. I think for a 3 day or 5 day package the price for the room is reasonable, but over priced on a night by night basis.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnVee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandmark, General Manager at The Landmark Nelson Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Landmark Resort.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our spectacular views and the fantastic restaurants we are provildged to have on offer for our guests.

Our recent refurbishments, including the completion of the painting of the outside of the buidling has been received with positive feedback and we are currenlty in the process of refurbishing all our apartments as well. We do pride ourselves on our high standard of our product and value our customer feedback.

Please note on your next stay with us make sure to ask reception for any additional linen, such as extra face washers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Landmark Resort on your next trip to beautiful Nelson Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great Views. Not super flashy.. just very comfortable & welcoming, well equipped with everything in our one bedroom, spa bathroom apartment that anyone would need. Large balcony overlooking the clear waters of Nelson Bay. Perched high on the hill but within comfortable walking distance to the shops & Magnificent world class Marina & restaurants.
If you love Seafood try the "Rock Lobster" on top level overlooking the gently rocking yachts! Lobster, fresh with a Mornay sauce I've yet to equal, made with Gruyere cheese & love! Huge Seafood platter, plus lovely dishes for non Seafood people, & the friendliest most helpful staff, we enjoyed. The Golf club is magnificent, serving great food at value for money prices.
Simply glorious coastline with beaches galore to play Robinson Crusoe on.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itscaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandmark, General Manager at The Landmark Nelson Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Landmark Resort on your recent trip to Nelson Bay.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed our great views of the picturesque Nelson Bay area and that you found your One Bedroom Apartment adequate. I'm also glad to hear you made good use of our fantastic location and with easy walking distance to the amazing restaurants, the Bay has on offer. On your next trip perhaps try the Seafood Platter at the Rock Lobster or the Wharf Restaurant, both are incredible and the view makes it even better.

Thank you for your feedback and make sure you come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

right next to the golf course. if you get up really early you can go kangaroo spotting on the golf course. we stay here everytime we go to nelsons bay. easy walk to town. self contained apartment has everything you need, GREAT pool for the kids. would highly recommend

Room Tip: high up - sea view rooms are the best, but this time we were given a room on the golfcourse side. wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Eileennifhlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second visit & the bathroom could use a bit of an overhaul. The rest of the accommodation was fine. Great value for money, great views & handy to everything. The town experienced a blackout for a couple of hours one morning & the staff at reception & in the restaurant went out of their way to ensure I had breakfast. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool can be a bit noisy, anything facing the front has a great view over the town an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazzle50_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We too stayed in room 302 recently and found this two bedroom apartment really quite dirty. The floors, walls, ceiling fans and curtains were dirty. There was food and a cigarette butt on the balcony, dirty tissues under the bed and rubbish under the lounge. The location is great but doesn't make up for the poor housekeeping. Very disappointing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom water view apartment. It was spacious with a great balcony and magnificent views. There were a few marks on the walls, a coat of paint wouldn't go astray but I beleive they were commencing painting of the building the week we were there. There is no laundry facilities in the rooms, however there was a public coin op laundry available. The staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful. The car park is not secure and undercover spaces are limited.
We would stay here again as it is good value and in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisDaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $97 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing