We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Clean Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was alittle apprehensive about booking after reading other peoples reviews but I got a decent price for a 3 night stay so thought we'd give it a try.
I dont know if other people are just really picky or if perhaps we got one of the better rooms but I found it to be a really good stay.
The rooms were clean and had everything you could need. The views were lovely and the proximity to town was fantastic.
We had no problems with the service side of things and personally had no need for daily cleaning of the rooms which other people have mentioned.
The only downsides to the stay were noisy neighbours in the morning and the bed wasnt the most comfortable, but then none are like your own at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 343 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 12 months ago at the Landmark and we found it really quite run down. Everything in the apartment needed an upgrade - the bathrooms are old fashioned and the carpet is quite old. It was with a lot of foolish hope on my part when we agreed to stay again through a deal offered by Sun seeker holidays. I was advised that the whole hotel had been refurbished - the location is great as we play a lot of tennis and they are next door along with the bowling club being right in front of the hotel -when I booked I specifically asked if the hotel was fully refurbished and I was advised not all but they can place us in a refurbished room. We arrived Friday night and we were angry - we went through the whole room and couldn’t find 1 thing that had changed - the couch well I really didn’t want to sit on the carpet is as I remember it. The room was noisy, the whole complex is tiled so you hear every sound plus to ensure we really didn’t get a good night sleep, the rubbish shoot was right outside our unit (bonus) we heard every bottle smash from the 4th floor down. Nelsons Bay is beautiful, the people are awesome - it’s just a pity that the accommodation was not great - I will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: My tip -stay somewhere else - for the price you pay, there is better acoomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suem2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner & I took a 3 day package from Friday to Sunday inclusive in late October 2012..the location was excellent & the self contained units clean & tidy....with local amenities & clubs very close by..in walking distance..only downside was the noisy people walking past on the walkways of a morning,as they were leaving...each day..As the entrance to the units open on to a walkway(the security doors are a great idea for the air flow..)..the noisy neighbours woke people up as they left early of a morning....it apparently happens regularly of a morning here....otherwise we would stay here again,as visiting the other local towns was easy to do, as they were in close proximity & an easy drive....& the self contained units had all the necessary equipment for an enjoyable stay..

Room Tip: Take a 1st floor room,as they're easier for access..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a good view from our room for the value we paid we are satisfied with the room allowcated. However, it will be better if the room are clean daily with change of towels because we stayed for 4 days and had we not brought our own towels we will have to use the same for 4 days, that is not very hygienic.

Other than that it was a good holiday for us, we look forward to other Quickbeds offer around Australia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Rooms not properly cleaned, mould in bathrooms, Dirty windows, balcony door did not lock, dining room chairs all wonky, only one bedside lamp, but what was really on the nose was having the Landmark incorrectly confirm my departure day after I paid for the holiday well in advance, and then being cheated out of a final night's accommodation because "the Landmark staff member who confirmed was in training and they made the mistake. As you booked through a third party (quick beds) we cannot either refund or give you another nights accommodation at some future date to make up for it." Very poor business and management decision! No way will I ever be going back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is most definitely not a resort. We found the two bedroom apartment to be very small. Windows weren't cleaned. The rooms aren't serviced. The toaster was cheap and dodgy. The phone was balancing precariously on the wall. Reception closed at 3pm on a long week-end Sunday. We needed more loo paper and were told we needed to buy some from the local shop. On a positive side,nthe location was great. In summary, the Landmark is fine if your looking for a cheap motel without any extra service.

Room Tip: They say the two bedroom apartments sleep 6. We had 5 and that was tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Large studio apartment, plenty of room to move around. Nice spa bath, all essentials present in bathroom. Very handy kitchenette, everything you need. Clean, well kept outdoor heated spa and pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $97 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing