We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort...perhaps more of a Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is most definitely not a resort. We found the two bedroom apartment to be very small. Windows weren't cleaned. The rooms aren't serviced. The toaster was cheap and dodgy. The phone was balancing precariously on the wall. Reception closed at 3pm on a long week-end Sunday. We needed more loo paper and were told we needed to buy some from the local shop. On a positive side,nthe location was great. In summary, the Landmark is fine if your looking for a cheap motel without any extra service.

Room Tip: They say the two bedroom apartments sleep 6. We had 5 and that was tight.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for The Landmark Nelson Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 326 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Large studio apartment, plenty of room to move around. Nice spa bath, all essentials present in bathroom. Very handy kitchenette, everything you need. Clean, well kept outdoor heated spa and pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

First impression of the Landmark: Looks better in the photos.
We were allocated room 302, which was on the far right side of the building on level 3. It had partial sea views which was more than we expected. The room was pretty old looking and the couch was so badly stained that we asked to change rooms. It was gross and I'm not sure how housekeeping could have missed it. The spa was also broken, the jets were terrible and when my boyfriend hopped in, it started making this really loud whirring sound. When we asked to change rooms the next day, the man at reception was very nice about it and moved us to room 402. Couch was still pretty manky but not as bad and the spa worked perfectly.
Now onto the bed.. it was very hard! Had the worst nights sleep of my life and that includes when I go camping!
Location wise, this place was great. Just a short 10min walk down to the pier and restaurants.
Pool was lovely, as was the spa and the sundeck area.
Cleanliness is something The Landmark needs to work on. The lifts were constantly dirty, not that I really care about lift cleanliness but it just shows the lack of attention to detail. There was a gruff woman who was at reception a few times and we found out she was head of housekeeping, she needs to up her game and make she the housekeepers are doing their job.
It seems this place is a bit of a hit and miss, you may get a nice room or you may get a not so nice room, up to you whether you want to make the gamble.
Unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend this place to couples who are looking for a romantic getaway. The place is for older couples looking for a game of lawn bowls or a quiet drink at the club.

Room Tip: Try to book an ocean view room on level 3, 4 or 5.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Landmark Nelson Bay, although not 5 star, have always found it clean and comfortable and would recommend it. We stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with a nice sunny balcony and stunning views. It is only a short walk to the shops and restaurants. There are lots to see and do around the area including seeing the dolphins in the bay close to the marina.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Couldn't have been happier with our 2 night stayin a 1 bedroom Room 308. Beautiful views facing north across the bay, a sunny veranda to relax on and a spacious well equiped apartment was everything we needed. The location just a stroll to the shops and marina and 100 mtrs to two clubs for an evening meal was excellent. We had a "Big" breakfast in the restaurant and at $10 it was super value and beautifully cooked. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room 308 was great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed for three nights last week in a 1 bedroom apartment on the second floor
My husband and I felt at home straight away,we were early in arriving but were able to check in and given keys.Our apartment was comfortable and very clean,with an amazing view.
We slept like babies in a very comfortable bed.Very well located with only a short stroll to the Marina.We will recommend the Landmark to all our friends and family,and return ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daytripper2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here last week in June. Worst 3 nights of accommodation I've ever had. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone that walks past your room including those above - word for word. The garbage shute at your front door was also a big let down.
Doesn't help when the people above arrive home at 3am and vomit for the next 3 hrs then decide to run their spa at 630am.
The place is clean and the rooms nice but the structure and build of the place poor for noise reasons.
We definitely would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $99 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing