We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for ten days for work and had a really comfortable stay. I was booked in a Nelson Room but management was nice enough to bump my room up to one on the second floor with an awesome view of the port. The room was a bit old, but clean. I had fresh towels daily and my bed made everytime I came back from work. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. They had a buffet breakfast daily on the fourth floor which had an amazing view of the port as well. The only problem I had with the resort was wifi. You had to get an access code ticket from reception for 100mb of internet data. Of course that finishes up quite easily. You could grab another code but I didn't want to go up and down the lift to reception to do that, and their reception is only available from 7:30AM-7:30PM. But other than that, my ten days away from home for work felt more like a holiday. :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kaiskidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Port Stephens Marina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. Got a great rate, the room was clean, the beds comfortable. It was serviced everyday. They were friendly and very helpful. An easy walk down to the restaurants and Yes I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms you can sleep with the door open.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very very tired and basic accom! We paid $185 but would expect $85 for this accom. In bad need of refurb and just looks grotty. Seemed to be clean but felt grubby just with the date of everything. Location was good but room was terrible. Uncomfortable bed, dripping noisy fridge and an alarm going off all morning in another room

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LABB_love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Taking a weekend break from Sydney we wanted a lovely view. We got that from the top level 1 bedroom "apartment". Sadly the building was totally out of date and neglected. We felt let down on arrival & it did not improve checking in or in the room. Non-existent service, shonky & inadequate furnishings made worse by a strange smell. Beds OK but not even a biscuit with the rudimentary coffee & tea facilities. A place on it's last legs.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for a night in Port Stephens & had a room with a garden view. It was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a nice verandah with chairs to sit out in the evening. There was an older gentleman at the reception who was very friendly & helpful. The bay is just a few minutes walk down the road & that's where all the restaurants and cafes are located. The bed wasn't very comfortable as one side would sink right down so we both had to squeeze together on the other side which wasnt too bad! I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Check out the bed when u check the room!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Lo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were looking for a clean, basic, inexpensive bed/shower etc for a couple of nights whilst golfing locally. We were teeing off too early for the breakfast room and the restaurant was shut on the 2 nights we stayed so no comment possible on the catering.
The hotel is tired and in need of renovation but the room was clean and we were entirely satisfied with the experience and the value received.
Wifi (Zendu) is free, seemingly slow and not very powerful but does work. I would recommend this place to other with similar requirements.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lombard71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

From the previous reviews I arrived with low expectations but was pleasantly surprised (maybe helped by a free upgrade to a sea view room). Indeed the hotel is rather dated - stuck in the 1980's - but the room was fine and the view over Nelson Bay was delightful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This place has massive potential because this part of the coast is well endowed with lovely sites and great beaches. I suggest this hotel is good for a 1 or 2 night stay but it may be a bit too dated if you were staying for much longer on a family holiday. Wifi access was not an option.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Stephens Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Stephens Marina Resort

Address: 33 Magnus St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $76 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Stephens Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Resort is a great place to stay while you explore Port Stephens. Marina Resort is well located in the heart of beautiful Port Stephens overlooking Nelson Bay Marina. A short 5m walk to the Dolphin & Whale Watch Cruises in the Marina, Cafes & Beach. Marina Resort is conveniently located near all of Port Stephens major tourist attractions. Our recently refurbished 44 room hotel offer spacious comfort with great views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Stephens Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Stephens Marina Hotel Nelson Bay
Port Stephens Marina Resort Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing