We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halifax Holiday Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Villa Motel(Nelson Bay)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
175
147
26
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
147
26
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat rampbay villacamp kitchenpowered sitebedroom cabinamenities blockbeach accessclean amenitiescamper trailerbunk bedsgreat locationboom gatetoilet blockport stephensconcrete slabschool holidaysgreat for kids
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 364 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Halifax Holiday Park for the night camping in our tent. The park is situated 100m from Little Beach at Nelson Bay and also has direct access to Shoal Bay Beach. It has caravan, camp sites and it also has villas. It is10 mins walk from the RSL club for meals or 20 - 30 mins walk from either Shoal Bay or Nelson Bay.

We had no issues with security, however we did find it inconvenient having to put a 5 digit code into the door each time we needed to use the toilets and showers.

The park has a small playground, new and very large BBQ area and about 170 sites.

Next time we stay at Nelson Bay, we will most likely camp here again and I would recommend this park to all travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themaddog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHolidayPark, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Halifax Holiday Park. As you have mentioned the location of the park allows for walking to both Shoal Bay and Nelson Bay to make most of the wide range of cafe's/ Restaurants/ and speciality shops.Being able to gain access to two beaches from the park is also very popular with families staying at the park.
Where I understand your concern about having to use the code to gain access to the toilets and showers . The key pad locks on all the doors of the amenities do make for a more secure and safer environment for guests using the public facilities.We have also installed larger number & letter signage near the key pads to make them more user friendly.

Thanks again and hope to see you at Halifax again soon.

Robert
Park Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and loved the location. Private gate down to a separate beach .
Villas seem to be renovated or quite new. Only 2 of us but there was bunks available in a second bedroom. Ground level villa with a verandah and table and chairs for the arvo drink. The whole area of Port Stephens worth exploring. Loads of fresh seafood and restaurants .
Gie S

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GieS418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thanks Gie S, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon,

Best Regards Rebecca (Marketing Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the frangapini villa, one of the 3 raised 3 bedroom villas overlooking the bay.

Villa was very clean & comfortable. 2 single beds were great instead of bunks for the little kids. 2 double bedrooms & 2 bathrooms worked well for a stay with the grandparents.

Location of the park between beach & bay was great, easy to walk to beach, little shop, diggers club & a nice walk to Nelson bay.

Great to have laundry & storage room under the villa- easy to store beach gear, bikes, pram...

2 parking spots also very handy.

Villa was well equipped with towels, toilet paper, cleaning equipment, dishwasher tablets, BBQ cleaning tools etc...

A nicely decorated & comfortable villa.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHolidayPark, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hi Emma
Thank you so much for your feedback and so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Halifax Holiday Park .Glad to hear you found the Beach Villa to be very well equipped and the bedding suitable for families.Having laundry and storage facilities on ground level has also been well received .The three bedroom Beach villa is proving to be very popular with families and the location of the Villa to beautiful Shoal bay beach only adds to the experiance.
Hope to see you again soon

Cheers
Robert
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot but unfortunately the security is poor. Locals came through stealing stuff. Park staff were not sympathetic at all and failed to provide surveillance footage. Even the eskys were raided. One experienced park guest takes his own trip wire personal alarm! HALIFAX YOU NEED TO DO MORE.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for your recent review, I can assure you that we take security very seriously and have an ongoing focus on reviewing and improving our security systems and procedures. Halifax Holiday Park does have CCTV installed but unfortunately were unable to provide any vision of the incident in question on this occassion. We also have a security service provider who patrols the park at different times of the night and they provide static guards when required. We have also installed key pad locks on the entry and exit doors to the amenities and gate to Shoal Bay beach. We also provide all guests with a separate access codes for the boom gates which allows us to manage and control vehicle access to the park. We also have a process in place where we document both incidents and accidents that occur on site and capture details and forward them on to our Risk Management section . As a result of the unfortunate incident I have contacted our security service provider to request that the nightly patrols focus on the particular precinct of the park where the incident occurred and I have checked the lock of the beach access gate where the youths gained access to make sure the gate key pad lock is operational. We have very few security issues at Halifax Holiday Park as a rule.
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the incident involving the theft of your belongings and hope that you will consider Halifax Holiday Park in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Robert Robinson (Halifax Holiday Park Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The sites are pretty tight. Backing a van in some of the sites is an activity watched by many a van owner already set up. We were lucky that we could drive through the site behind us, otherwise the position of power poles etc would have made for an interesting afternoon of reversing.
By chance we had a site not next the amenities, and that turned out to be a blessing. As the sites that were close to the amenities were just a bit too close for my liking.
T

Room Tip: Look at the site before attempting to back your van in.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews