We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean & value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halifax Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location, clean & value for money”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a powered site with our caravan originally for 3 nights but stayed an extra night as we liked it so much. Location is great as we could ride our bikes into town & fish from nearby beach. Value for money, clean amenities & cosy atmosphere - feeding the rainbow lorikeets was a nice bonus for my 11 year old daughter - would definately recommend this one!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and we appreciate you taking the time to tell Trip Advisor visitors about your stay. We hope you welcome you and your family back to Halifax Holiday Park again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    124
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
130
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved this place, we stayed in the accessible cabin with 3 bedrooms.. Quality appliances, comfy huge beds and lots of room.. We have 2 young children so was great location right on little beach and access to shoal bay beach.. The staff were excellent so friendly and accommodating.. I'm a travel agent and have stayed in many hotels, resorts and cabins and this was by far the best cabin iv stayed in! I'll come back here in a flash was a shame to leave

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We were delighted to read that you loved your stay in the 3 bedroom accessible cabin.
The majority of the cabins at the park are only a couple of years old with modern decor.
Thanks again, and we hope you welcome you and your family back again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have a camper trailer and stayed for 1 week. Park is well located to Nelson Bay (could walk) access to 2 beaches and boat ramp and a great takeaway/coffee shop. Amenties very clean and general park area towards the front are well maintained with a good bbq area but the camping sites are the worst Ive even seen. All dirt and uneven covered in sticks from the numerous trees some with huge tree roots, would hate to see them in wet weather. The caravan sites arent much better but they do have the slabs. The council seriously needs to put in drainage and returf and if they are constanly being uesed artificial grass slab in the centre as Ive seen in other parks. Would only recomend to stay there if in one of the nice cabins or on a slab site in the front section (the back van section bare and dry and seams isolated to the rest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benson144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative and use reviews as a way to train staff, improve the park and improve park operations. You are right the park is located in a great spot with some great cabin facilities. I was disappointed that you were not happy with the powered site due to the surface. The powered sites at Halifax are very popular and therefore have trouble maintaining the grass due to it being covered with tents / camper trailers the majority of the year. We are looking into this as an opportunity for improvement and once again would like to thank you for passing on your feedback.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The cabin we stayed in overlooked the water & was a stone throw away from the beach. The beach/ grassy areas are ideal for small children for swimming/playing. The location is within walking distance to the main shopping area, marina & resturants. We loved it so much we are taking our family/grandchildren back there to stay with us next year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rallyrooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We were delighted to read you loved your stay and in particular the location.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Cleanliness is very poor and the apathy by staff was terrible, no costumer service skills.
The park is full of old run-down onsite vans which affects the entire atmosphere of the park. The parks facilities are non-existent.
The image of this park based on its appearance & appeal on the Internet does not match it in real life.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We were disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would like to clarify that the majority (75%) of Halifax has stunning 2 and 3 bedroom villas and powered sites for caravan and campers (tourists) compared to your statement of full of onsite vans. The majority of the villas at Halifax Holiday Park are only 2-3 years old and the other few have recently been renovated therefore in our opinion the standard of accommodation at Halifax is outstanding.

The park facilities at Halifax also consist of playground, camp kitchen, BBQ's, undercover recreation area, Foxtel and guest laundry. Halifax is also located on the peninsula with direct access to Little Beach and Shoal Bay Beach and deep water boat ramp. During the school holidays the park also provide extra activities such as entertainment, crocodile shows, beach Olympics and so much more.

I would love to discuss your stay further to know more details about your experience as to whether you were camping or staying in a villa, plus your customer service experience. We use these reviews as a training method for staff and opportunities for improvement for the park. Please call me to discuss further on (02) 4916 4040.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place is horrible. The sites are expensive and they are right next to the toilet and bins. Save yourself the cash and pitch your tent in your local bunnings car park instead. It is very disappointing in such a lovely location. Watch out for the feral rabbits too.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomatetent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Halifax Holiday Park. We appreciate feedback, positive and negative, and use reviews as a way to train our staff and improve our park operations.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the powered site you were allocated. Unfortunately Halifax has a limited number of powered sites which makes it difficult during our periods.

Your feedback has been shared with our team and once again thanks for your comments.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This reunion was the third reunion for a group of ex-naval mates and their partners. Previously we had visited Adelide SA and Maryborough QLD. The reasons for chosing an all embracing park such as Halifax was to allow for people who needed a variety of accommodation. In our case we chose to stay in a Quarter Deck Villa, and from past experience we had prepared a list of all the items we considered essential but had found missing in the past. When we inspected our accommodation we were delighted to find that everything was already there, and as a bonus we had our own washing machine and dryer. The accommodation was also clean and comfortable.
The general grounds were clean and tidy and as a group we made great use of the communal BBQ area. There was also secure access to the parking areas.
We found that the staff were very helpful; especially with local information.

Room Tip: If needed you should enquire about disabled access as Halifax has wheel chair accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellows5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We were delighted to read you had a fantastic reunion with your friends and it was great to see you loved the park and in particular the 2 bedroom Quarterdeck Villas. They are a fully self contained cabin and most of these cabins have fantastic views over Little Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 33 in Port Stephens
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Fingal Bay
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
502 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
#1 of 2 in Soldiers Point
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Holiday Park

Property: Halifax Holiday Park
Address: 5 Beach Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax Holiday Park is located on a peninsula between two beautiful beaches. Little Beach and Shoal Bay boasts crystal clear water, white sandy shores and gentle waves. The park is a favourite for all boating enthusiasts with an easy access boat ramp, calm waters and an excellent marina nearby. Halifax if the largest and most diverse dive site in Port Stephens therefore Fly Point is a must see with the stunning underwater gardens for scuba divers and snorklers.Just minutes away is the triving business and entertainment hub of the blue water paradise, Nelson Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Halifax Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halifax Holiday Park Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing