We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend this park to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halifax Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Cleanliness is very poor and the apathy by staff was terrible, no costumer service skills.
The park is full of old run-down onsite vans which affects the entire atmosphere of the park. The parks facilities are non-existent.
The image of this park based on its appearance & appeal on the Internet does not match it in real life.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We were disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would like to clarify that the majority (75%) of Halifax has stunning 2 and 3 bedroom villas and powered sites for caravan and campers (tourists) compared to your statement of full of onsite vans. The majority of the villas at Halifax Holiday Park are only 2-3 years old and the other few have recently been renovated therefore in our opinion the standard of accommodation at Halifax is outstanding.

The park facilities at Halifax also consist of playground, camp kitchen, BBQ's, undercover recreation area, Foxtel and guest laundry. Halifax is also located on the peninsula with direct access to Little Beach and Shoal Bay Beach and deep water boat ramp. During the school holidays the park also provide extra activities such as entertainment, crocodile shows, beach Olympics and so much more.

I would love to discuss your stay further to know more details about your experience as to whether you were camping or staying in a villa, plus your customer service experience. We use these reviews as a training method for staff and opportunities for improvement for the park. Please call me to discuss further on (02) 4916 4040.

Kind regards, Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 336 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place is horrible. The sites are expensive and they are right next to the toilet and bins. Save yourself the cash and pitch your tent in your local bunnings car park instead. It is very disappointing in such a lovely location. Watch out for the feral rabbits too.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomatetent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Halifax Holiday Park. We appreciate feedback, positive and negative, and use reviews as a way to train our staff and improve our park operations.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the powered site you were allocated. Unfortunately Halifax has a limited number of powered sites which makes it difficult during our periods.

Your feedback has been shared with our team and once again thanks for your comments.

Kind regards, Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This reunion was the third reunion for a group of ex-naval mates and their partners. Previously we had visited Adelide SA and Maryborough QLD. The reasons for chosing an all embracing park such as Halifax was to allow for people who needed a variety of accommodation. In our case we chose to stay in a Quarter Deck Villa, and from past experience we had prepared a list of all the items we considered essential but had found missing in the past. When we inspected our accommodation we were delighted to find that everything was already there, and as a bonus we had our own washing machine and dryer. The accommodation was also clean and comfortable.
The general grounds were clean and tidy and as a group we made great use of the communal BBQ area. There was also secure access to the parking areas.
We found that the staff were very helpful; especially with local information.

Room Tip: If needed you should enquire about disabled access as Halifax has wheel chair accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellows5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We were delighted to read you had a fantastic reunion with your friends and it was great to see you loved the park and in particular the 2 bedroom Quarterdeck Villas. They are a fully self contained cabin and most of these cabins have fantastic views over Little Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great family atmosphere, the beach is perfect for families, cabins are fresh, modern and well equipped, staff were very friendly and were prompt with dealing with a maintenance problem, we enjoyed the free music entertainment provided by the park over the long weekend, overall walked away having a great time

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumanddadplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Visited in Sept school holidays and stayed in the Friendship Quaterdeck cabin. The Cabin was well appointed with washing machine and clean bathroom and generally had a nice welcoming feel about it. The verandah and BBQ were great and the kids had a great time riding bikes around the park. The beach was great and the kids enjoyed the water. The location is fantastic and it is a easy walk into Nelson Bay cafes and restraunts. We enjoyed the fact that we could all ride our bikes into Nelson Bay with the kids and I sneaking out for a early morning ride and coffee. We paid $120 a night which was absolutely fantastic value! The cabin, location and staff get my highest recommendation. We will be visiting again....next time we will bring some friends.

Room Tip: Our cabin had 'water glimpses' but next time I would try and get one of the cabins with full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Mayflower Villa, one of the Quarterdeck Villas, with a lovely verandah overlooking Little Beach. The accommodation was excellent, the location perfect. I love the fact that a Weber BBQ is provided on the verandah, along with an outdoor table and chairs, so we could eat al fresco, watching the sun go down over the water. This accommodation was recommended to me by my brother, and I would recommend it to anyone. We will be back next time we go to Australia to visit my family.

Room Tip: The Bay villas don't have a water view - pay the extra for a Quarterdeck Villa! It's worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a great visit at Nelson Bay. We found Halifax through wotif.com and we were really happy with the cabin, park location and friendliness of the park personnel. The cabin and the park were lovely and clean. Highly recommend as a gret place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,418 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 33 in Port Stephens
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Holiday Park

Address: 5 Beach Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $31 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax Holiday Park is located on a peninsula between two beautiful beaches. Little Beach and Shoal Bay boasts crystal clear water, white sandy shores and gentle waves. The park is a favourite for all boating enthusiasts with an easy access boat ramp, calm waters and an excellent marina nearby. Halifax if the largest and most diverse dive site in Port Stephens therefore Fly Point is a must see with the stunning underwater gardens for scuba divers and snorklers.Just minutes away is the triving business and entertainment hub of the blue water paradise, Nelson Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halifax Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halifax Holiday Park Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing