We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good thai food”

Mod Thai Food & Noodle Bar
Ranked #10 of 90 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good thai food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

called in for a quick dinner before a movie , good staff ,fair prices , and fast service , all good love the thai beef salad

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank boracay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    100
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poor Excuse for Thai food”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Did a takeaway of pad Thai and seafood fried rice.

The service staff are excellent and very accommodating, however the food was appalling.

The pad Thai was more a saucy mess and not fried well. it had no wok favours.

the seafood fried rice had mussels and salmon which made it strange, and it was soggy, greasy and we felt the chef did not care to fry the dish dish properly.

the portions were substantial however due to quality we threw most of it out.

Helpful?
Thank roadtrippernineteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, nice food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Bit of a Thai food fan and was impressed with quality of what was on offer here. It was peak season but staff were friendly and price was reasonable. Good work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The service when getting a table was average (compared to Sydney). We, as did a number of other recently seated, needed to grab menus from other tables, as our table was not set up quickly enough.

The menu range was typical for Thai, as we had not been there before we ordered some fare we know is usually not that hard to get wrong.

We got a pleasant surprise with the Pad See Ew (beef) and Massaman (beef)
I thought the Pad See Ew was not quite right but Jacq though it was good (she often has PSE)
My Massaman was very good, curry had a great taste, meat very tender with no gristle. Although we ordered rice for 2 (there were 3 of us), it was really only a single serve.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful, Awful, Awful!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We ordered chicken satay for starters and the chicken was uncooked.
The noodles, chicken and vegetable dish for main was saturated in soy sauce and was unpalatable!
NOT recommended !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AntzIsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mod Thai Food & Noodle Bar also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Mod Thai Food & Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing