We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, nice food”

Mod Thai Food & Noodle Bar
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, nice food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Bit of a Thai food fan and was impressed with quality of what was on offer here. It was peak season but staff were friendly and price was reasonable. Good work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    100
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The service when getting a table was average (compared to Sydney). We, as did a number of other recently seated, needed to grab menus from other tables, as our table was not set up quickly enough.

The menu range was typical for Thai, as we had not been there before we ordered some fare we know is usually not that hard to get wrong.

We got a pleasant surprise with the Pad See Ew (beef) and Massaman (beef)
I thought the Pad See Ew was not quite right but Jacq though it was good (she often has PSE)
My Massaman was very good, curry had a great taste, meat very tender with no gristle. Although we ordered rice for 2 (there were 3 of us), it was really only a single serve.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful, Awful, Awful!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We ordered chicken satay for starters and the chicken was uncooked.
The noodles, chicken and vegetable dish for main was saturated in soy sauce and was unpalatable!
NOT recommended !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AntzIsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good food, service and value”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

we are spending a few days in Nelson bay and wanted some good thai .Trip advisor helped us out and we were very happy with he results.A steady flow of customers is always a good sign, particularly on a Monday night.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank smokyharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great location to movie theatre!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, have eaten a lot of Thai and this was up there with the tastiest.

Crumbed prawns were just "ok"

The Thai green chicken curry was mild and lovely.

The 3 chilli, garlic, basil was too hot for my hubby who had to go back to the room to calm his burning mouth...but for me who is a chilli lover, it was right on the money.

Well done Mod Thai!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mod Thai Food & Noodle Bar also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Mod Thai Food & Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing