We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leilani Haciendas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leilani Haciendas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't do it...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Desperately in need of a make over!
Really grotty...
missing knobs
dirty kitchenette
dirty utensils
toaster doesn't stay down
fan on wall doesn't blow
no air conditioning
Will never stay there again.
view was the best part although really noisy due to Marina nearby. Christmas party at Marina. Very noisy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Reception area disgusting. People running the motel very rude. Walked straight into our room without knocking. Have reported this. If you want a good location this is ok. If you care about service do not go. The people are extremely rude!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet stay that is still close to both Nelson Bay and Shoal Bay then this is the place.
Clean rooms and very good value. Fully self contained with kitchen laundry and all the comforts of home.
AAA+++

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband rang about three weeks in advance of our long weekend in Nelson Bay. As it was around 7pm the woman on the other end of the line at Leilani told him she was busy having dinner so he needed to call back! Being the patient darling he is he did call back the next day much earlier of course and made our booking. We arrived early the saturday morning so decided to see if it was possible to get into our room earlier. Not on your life! She was most put out at the mere suggestion of it and was very rude as she reiterated "rooms not available till 2pm" Fair enough. When we did return, after 2, my husband went in to get the keys then came back out to get bags and myself, I was overcome by the stench of dirty feet in the reception area then to top it off she didn't even take her eyes of the computor screen to greet me and grunted a "hlo" think she was saying hello. The room was old and sad and smelt, the electric jug was full of ants and the toilet seat looked dirty. We were told to lock the front reception door on our way out at night but when we got back it was unlocked with no one on duty. We left the next day around 9.30am and as no one was again at reception we just left the keys. No, don't think we'll ever go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Just pick a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute as we were diving at Fly Point Nelson Bay the following day. We only wanted a bed to sleep in so chose the cheapest option, and werent expecting anything much. We were pleasantly surprised.
We stayed in the Studio room which was absolutely huge, it could have easy slept 4-5 people. The room was clean and tidy, and the bed was very comfy.
The only down side was the reception, staff werent here from 5pm and in the morning when we checked out at 9 there was still no one there, so we had to leave keys on the desk.
Apart from that, nothing to complain about, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeuveGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I have just spent 4 nights on the "Zulu", a floating motel on the marina at Nelson Bay. Although the bed was comfortable and the shower quite good, the rest left little to be desired. I felt that the whole outfit was grotty and unkempt. I did not want to drink out of the coffee mugs and better use could have been made of the space. There were no bedside tables or lamps, due to the narrow space between bed and wall. Get creative, pop in a narrow stand with a lamp. This is basic and expected in any accommodation. I had to get out of bed and shuffle sideways to turn off the light!! This would be the worst accommodation I have ever stayed at, the location, proximity to town and the novelty being the only attraction. Come on owners, drop the price substantially or overhaul this poor floating, rotting hotel room.

Room Tip: I would not expect "Zulu's" neighbour, the "African Queen" to be much differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 789maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Internet advert was only accurate in describing these as spacious, otherwise, no reception on arrival or for 3hours of the next day - no WiFi, "aint got none" was the helpful reply, room not serviced on a daily basis, dripping water sounds made it difficult to sleep even though chasing a cockroach had tired me out. Next time we go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leilani Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leilani Haciendas

Property: Leilani Haciendas
Address: 6 Kurrawa CL, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leilani Haciendas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Leilani Haciendas Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing