We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place to stay in the Bay!!”
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nelson Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This has been our 3rd stay at the Nelson & the staff seem to be more 'accommodating than ever! Always a smile throughout the various departments - Every request met with courtesy & prompt attention.

Pool was spotless as were all amenities. Thanks for the good internet connection.

The extra booking for our friends much appreciated.

As someone famous once declared I shall return.

Much thanks Sally & Dave Clark (Sydney)

Room Tip: We've been upstairs & Downstairs All equally good! Room insulation Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 552 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

\this hotel was recommended to us by friends, and we were very happy that they did. \the location is right in the middle of \nelson \bay, which is the main town in the area. \the water and town are a short stroll, as are many restaurants.

The real plus here is the staff - they could not do enough. we dealt with emma I think, Debbie and jess in café and they are all so friendly, unlike some other places \I have been.

the hotel itself looks to have been renovated recently, and is stylish and comfortable. we had a queen room and it had everything any good hotel would have. we will be back to stay on out trip next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went with my partner and absolutely adored the accommodation. The bed and pillows were more comfortable than my own.
The pool was amazing, great size, nice and warm (winter holiday) and empty of all others at 10pm.
The staff were always helpful and very nice.
I would stay again there again anytime.
The only negative would be the breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Over an hour from sitting to eating. The food was absolutely delicious, but I wouldn't wait that long again.

Room Tip: Queen Spa room. If your partner likes a bath definitely worthwhile. Amazing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife & I stayed at "The Nelson Resort" last weekend (formerly known as "The Nelson Lodge"). This current stay was our second time at the resort, we have enjoyed both our stays. Since our first stay the resort has been renovated extensively. The resort is in a great location, just accross the road from the marina and just around the corner from the main street. We found all the staff very friendly. We both can't wait to stay there again and would not hesitate recommending the resort to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrwjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The rooms are just great, all been done up, very modern, ours had a view of the bay, cafe looked good, we didn't eat there but it was always busy, only a 2 min walk to the waterfront cafes and shops, Room had plates & cutlery along with a microwave, nice little table on the balcony, we didn't get to use much as it was windy & raining when we stayed. Bed was too soft for my personal liking as I like a hard bed due to bad back, other wise stay here was great and will tell friend to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stay here often as it is very central and close to the marina and shops. The rooms are always clean and I find them to be spacious. The staff is very freidnly and are more then happy to try and accomodate your needs. The only down fall is the wifi hasn't worked for us when we have stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amz0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had another excellent quick break at Nelson Resort with girlfriends. We booked the spacious 3 bedroom apartment and had plenty of lounging space and bathrooms for 4 of us. Chic decor and those beds are as good as I remembered from our first stay. Views to the marina and a full kitchen and fridge (for the champagne and cheese!).

We could have happily ordered in but Zest was too tempting and the restaurant's French-style potato purée worth leaving our chic apartment for.

The next morning we went for a walk and then settled into the sunny corner of the resort's garden cafe for a hearty breakfast and generous cups of coffee. The only downside of this getaway is that as its reputation spreads so does its guest list and popularity of its cafe. No vacancies the weekend we were there, so do book early to enjoy this experience.

Room Tip: The Resort is in an elevated position so views and light are generally good. The 3bdr apartment is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imagine6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
343 reviews
1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
161 reviews
1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $94 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing