We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nelson Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Efficient and friendly staff, large and spotless room, magnificent pool etc.. Try the great breakfast! Howerver the "sea view from private balconny" mentioned in the feature presentation of the hotel would be better left not advertised as it requires some contortionist talent to experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 552 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Service was great and the rooms very clean and comfortable, very comfy pillowtop king bed. The location is fantastic, walking distance to shops, restaurants, cafes, bars and to the local tourist cruises etc. Tge pool is sensational, and the pool deck well laid out - perfect for some fresh seafood from the local co-op, afternoon drinks and a swim.

The Little Nel Cafe on site does a great breakfast, I can recommend the toasted muesli, eggs Benedict and the coffee was good too. Would definitely return, we had the Deluxe King room this stay but I would probably opt for one of the spa rooms next time, they have a little more room... if you are staying more than a couple of days the extra room (for me) would be preferable. Overall a great place in Nelson Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Showhorse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A special thank you to The Nelson Resort for a fabulous 2 night stay. Awesome location, great service and gorgeous facilities....especially loved the pool deck and the food was superb! Highly recommend you visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked to stay at the Nelson Resort overnight as we were in town for a wedding. Unfortunately due to miscommunication, we were unable to have an earlier check-in than requested (1pm as opposed to 2pm). The staff member on the front desk (Emily) went beyond what was required, organising our room to be cleaned ASAP, and we only ended up waiting 20 minutes. Emily was very friendly and welcoming, offering the use of another bathroom so I could get ready for the wedding.

When we checked into our room (27, on the top level), it was lovely and clean, and the housekeepers waiting outside were also very friendly. The room is light and airy, and a perfect size for a weekend away, with a king bed, desk and two arm chairs which are very comfy to sit in. The balcony overlooked the hotel carpark, but also provided a nice view over the marina and bay.

We also didn't find the three sets of stairs that inconvenient to walk up, we didn't have a lot of luggage and also are reasonably fit.

The Nelson Resort is in the CBD and is in walking distance to a lot of attractions (Marina, foreshore, cruises etc), and the main street with a variety of shops and boutiques.

We had breakfast in the cafe in the resort, and found it well priced and quite nice, although I wasn't that impressed with the coffee.

I would highly recommend the Nelson Resort to anyone coming to stay in Nelson Bay, although I will agree with other reviewers that it is more of a motel than a resort, but lovely nonetheless.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level have a better view if you can handle three flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Nelson Resort because we got an amazing deal through Expedia.com., and my husband wanted to take me away for a few days for my birthday. This site is well worth being registered on because of the good deals. Complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and late checkout was a lovely touch. I agree that it is not a resort but a motel, but it is perfectly situated within walking distance of absolutely everything in the Bay area. We were in Room 5, which also had a view of the hotel carpark and an awning, but we looked past this out over the bay and the town. The pub must be the most well behaved in NSW, because we didn't hear a sound from there of a night, and when we checked in on the Sunday afternoon there was a guy singing, we could hear it in our room and he was great!! We will definitely stay here again, it is such a pretty place to visit and not far for us to travel from our home on the mid north coast, but next time we will see if there is a bigger room. The bathroom has no window or any obvious ventilation, I did enquire if there was a working fan in there but I think it is just an exhaust system that is constantly "on"??? Had to prop room door open with a chair and leave bathroom door open while we showered, but only because I am claustrophobic and the steam and closeness was doing my head in!!! I can't say enough about the lovely staff, from the time I booked till the time we checked out they were charming, obliging, friendly, you name it, they ticked all the boxes. Having worked in the hospitality industry for many, many years, they are the staff you would kill to have working for your. Thank you for a lovely stay, and we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a good view, a larger verandah and go for a larger room if they are availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonnabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got back form a 2 night weekender in Nelson Bay and stayed at the Nelson Resort. What a place! Very clean and tidy, friendly staff and the towns best cafe in-house!
Well located, well priced, great pool, tennis court. I'm booking my next stay now.
If you like coffee, you'll love the coffee at the hotel cafe

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharky2026_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Agree with previous reviewers that this is a motel rather than a resort. Our queen bay view room had a view of the bay if you craned your neck a little. We did however have a perfect view of the bottle shop car park below. We stayed here because we were dining at Zest restaurant which is definitely with walking distance. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Noisy in the mornings from adjoining rooms showers etc. the staff are very pleasant. We didn't eat breakfast but had a couple of take away coffees which they bill as the worlds best...could not agree less, sorry:( very well located to be near everything in Nelson's bay. Not bad.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
343 reviews
1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
161 reviews
1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $94 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing