We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned, fantastic staff!!!”
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nelson Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well positioned, fantastic staff!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Nelson Resort because we got an amazing deal through Expedia.com., and my husband wanted to take me away for a few days for my birthday. This site is well worth being registered on because of the good deals. Complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and late checkout was a lovely touch. I agree that it is not a resort but a motel, but it is perfectly situated within walking distance of absolutely everything in the Bay area. We were in Room 5, which also had a view of the hotel carpark and an awning, but we looked past this out over the bay and the town. The pub must be the most well behaved in NSW, because we didn't hear a sound from there of a night, and when we checked in on the Sunday afternoon there was a guy singing, we could hear it in our room and he was great!! We will definitely stay here again, it is such a pretty place to visit and not far for us to travel from our home on the mid north coast, but next time we will see if there is a bigger room. The bathroom has no window or any obvious ventilation, I did enquire if there was a working fan in there but I think it is just an exhaust system that is constantly "on"??? Had to prop room door open with a chair and leave bathroom door open while we showered, but only because I am claustrophobic and the steam and closeness was doing my head in!!! I can't say enough about the lovely staff, from the time I booked till the time we checked out they were charming, obliging, friendly, you name it, they ticked all the boxes. Having worked in the hospitality industry for many, many years, they are the staff you would kill to have working for your. Thank you for a lovely stay, and we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a good view, a larger verandah and go for a larger room if they are availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonnabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    211
    48
    13
    3
See reviews for
124
247
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got back form a 2 night weekender in Nelson Bay and stayed at the Nelson Resort. What a place! Very clean and tidy, friendly staff and the towns best cafe in-house!
Well located, well priced, great pool, tennis court. I'm booking my next stay now.
If you like coffee, you'll love the coffee at the hotel cafe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharky2026_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Agree with previous reviewers that this is a motel rather than a resort. Our queen bay view room had a view of the bay if you craned your neck a little. We did however have a perfect view of the bottle shop car park below. We stayed here because we were dining at Zest restaurant which is definitely with walking distance. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Noisy in the mornings from adjoining rooms showers etc. the staff are very pleasant. We didn't eat breakfast but had a couple of take away coffees which they bill as the worlds best...could not agree less, sorry:( very well located to be near everything in Nelson's bay. Not bad.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Nelson Resort is a typical looking motel from the outside but so much more than it looks. From our first trip to reception to when we left we have nothing but praise. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. The shower was great. The pool and surrounds were lovely. The bed was comfortable. The location is first rate. So close to downtown Nelson Bay and the marina. The Little Nel cafe served the nicest and best value breakfast we have had for a long time. We were so impressed we will be back again. A good value and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taggys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for one night only on our way south to Sydney and we chose the motel upon our arrival because of its central location; it was the first and only one we looked at. We booked in without inspecting the room offered as we were late and very tired. The choice was all right for our requirements but fell well short of the promotional material that we had a look at later. This is not a resort but an old style motel on three levels. The room was well furnished, clean and with all the amenities and services that one would require for a short stay. And the location was great as the motel is in front of the Marina complex where many restaurants and cafes can be found.

Breakfast was not available next morning as it was the chef’s morning off! Rather strange for a rather large facility but there were quite a few cafes nearby to cater for that. What was a real surprised though was the fact that there was no lift or anyone at the reception to assist us with our rather heavy suitcases to our allocated third floor room!

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage avoid any third floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Room was clean and fairly new, view was ok, we paid for a water view room and it was a pretty average view. Probably a little over priced compared other places to stay in the bay area. Please note there is no lift in this resort. Service from staff was the best I have ever received at any hotel, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella15786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is the fourth stay at the Nelson Resort, the reason I came back was highlighted again by such fantastic staff. They could not do enough for you, even the house keepers are so friendly with daily conversations and a genuine interest in guests. Good service is hard to come by, hence I keep coming back.

The room was fantastic (deluxe spa apartment) overlooking Nelson Bay, its the perfect location in the centre of town, 2 minutes walk to everything Nelson Bay has to offer.

Length of stay 7 nights.

Staying somewhere else would be a mistake after the Nelson Resort

Southern.

Room Tip: Suite 22, Deluxe Spa Apartment. Thumbs up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Property: The Nelson Resort
Address: 3 Government Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nelson Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing