We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, central to everything.”
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nelson Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place to stay, central to everything.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The staff were amazing and friendly. The room was perfect for the price and the central location meant that we didnt have to drive at all while we checked out Nelson Bay.
Steaming hot showers with strong water pressure you dont find very often.
Everything was within walking distance, and it really was a quiet and relaxing stay.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    212
    49
    13
    3
See reviews for
124
250
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed just one night May 25 and room on top floor was just fine and staff were nice. Average overall really though. Certainly not a Resort at all. Odd that has no elevator so if you are not good at stairs at all you must be on ground floor. Morning breakfast was good. Location a short walk to harbour fine but I think being right on harbour with good view likely better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Don't be misled by its name, its not the Club Med type kind of resort facing the ocean. Although the owner Andrew has written in response to other travelers' comments that it has a heated pool, tennis court, gym and blah, it's not really a resort - its a refurblished B&B / hotel and from its architecture it still is.

Despites the myth about its name, it's a little hotel at a great location. There are many restaurants nearby and its like 5 minutes walk to the dock. Staff members are friendly. Emma who assisted us at checkin was a star.

The overall experience was good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This motel is a great location, leave your car and walk to the shops and cafes or along the bay foreshore. Easy access for touring the region. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

When we got there, we were shocked at presence of the room. The view from our room was an old tree that blocked all sight to the street. It is more of a motel than a resort, it felt more like a school camp accomadation rather than holiday accomadation. we ended up cancelling the other two nights ( which they luckly agreed to refund out money, so that's a positive: great service. There are rooms that have been revonated and are expected to be in much better comditions. The advantage is that it is near the marina and an arcade away from coles and other shops. However, we were only about 5 minutes walk from the other hotel we stayed at for the remainder of the stay at nelsons bay. So in comparison, it's probably worth the 5 minute walk for the much better accomadation.

Room Tip: if you really have to stay there ask for a newly renovated room, king size bed with a view of the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew579999, Owner at The Nelson Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your time here. It sounds like the room you have booked is only partially refurbished, and has not met your needs. For other travellers this is the Standard Family room type, of which there are only 4 rooms of our 36! These seem to create the bulk of any negative comments we have recieved, so in May 2012 we will complete these renovations. They are cdurrently fitted out with brand new furniture, beds, beding, carpets, paints etc, however the older bathroom does date them a little - this we will fix as we aim to please everybody no matter the room type they choose!

We do not want any guest to have a bad time, and when you complained during the stay we would have gladly moved your room, however were fully booked. We did permit cancelling the remainder of the trip without penalty, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of the trip.

Again apoligies we did not satisfy you!

Regards
Andrew and Emily Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend getaway - great value, we booked a 1 bedroom apartment, ocean view! This was just what the Dr ordered - spacious, lovely beds, clean and modern! Great location and all the facilities you could want including a lovely gourmet coffee shop (fabulous breakfasts and great coffee) and heated swimming pool.

Yes please, we will be back again!

*A special mention to the front desk reception - our room wasnt ready by 1pm (standard) but they still sent us a lovely bottle of Red to make up for it - thank you! That's fantastic service!*

Room Tip: The one bedroom ocean view apartment (there are only a few of these) - make sure to book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew579999, Owner at The Nelson Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Bronkan,

Really glad that you enjoyed your stay! It looks like you have travelled a lot and reviewed many hotels, so it is great that we rate so well in your eyes!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew and Emily Macdonald
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Well worth the price for a newly remodeled room. Decorated nicely and also very clean. We loved the heated pool -- perfect way to warm up on a chilly night! Staff was also very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms have either a street-side balcony or look over an adjacent building. The rooms off the road w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBnewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Property: The Nelson Resort
Address: 3 Government Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing