We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good motel and great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral Nelson Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

There are a lot of motels around that charge about $100 a night but it would be hard to find a better place than the Admiral Nelson.

It appears to have been recently renovated and everything was fresh and super clean. Big comfortable bed, new TV, microwave etc. The service from reception to housekeeping was very professional and friendly. 10 minutes walk to Shoal Bay and beaches, Nelson Bay a bit further away but only a few minutes drive.

We have paid $130 - $140 for similar accommodation and when we saw a nearby caravan park offering cabins for $145 per night it confirmed what a ($106) bargain we had. There is a lot of accommodation available in the Nelson Bay-Port Stephens area but the Admiral Nelson is definitely worth checking out. It was booked out both nights we stayed so make your enquiries early.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 156 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for the weekend and found this place to be in a good location with very friendly and helpful staff. Room was great for the price and well appointed and clean.Breakfast was very good and very reasonably priced. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed one night but found the rooms clean and very comfy,also had a wheelchair to get around the room and even though the room was not a disabled room we found it quite easy to manage for one night.The staff were very friendly and helpful and if looking for quite a good meal the club is just around the corner within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellacentralcoastNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Admiral Nelson Motor Inn is easy to locate and has great customer service.
The room for 5 was perfect. It was clean, roomy and the little extras were great.
It was nice to find a place that is descent enough to let you have a one night stay instead of insisting a minimum of 2 nights. As they say - it's the little things that make the difference.
I will definitely stay here if we are ever up this way again.
Thank you Admiral Nelson Motor Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Dianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Very friendly check in and check out. Great rooms, nice and tidy and quite large. We were able to walk into town, not that close about a 15mins away but nice place and the walk down the beach was nice. Would highly recommend staying here, great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A very clean and well appointed motel. Quiet location too. For the price I don't think we could have done any better so 5 stars from us.
Also, we had to go to a funeral and so they let us check out a lot later than normal. Thanks, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Myriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Nelson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Nelson Motor Inn

Address: Cnr. Gowrie Avenue & Achilles Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $97 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Nelson Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and run Hotel and we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and service. Please contact us for the best deals on one of the best kept secrets in Port Stephens. Be our guest at the Admiral Nelson Motor Inn and enjoy the beautiful surrounds of the Bay. Looking forward to seeing you soon on your next wonderful stay in the bay, Thank you all have a great day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Admiral Nelson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Nelson Motor Inn Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing