We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Admiral Nelson Hotel Nelson Bay, average and overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Nelson Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Admiral Nelson Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Admiral Nelson Hotel Nelson Bay, average and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We just had two nights at the above premises, having booked online with a view of being close to other friends in the area at the time. The premises are older but are going through repainting and refurbishing. Our booked room on the ground level was not available due to painting and we were moved upstairs. The room was very clean, nice bathroom and bed with a small kichenette with microwave and tea/coffee facilities. There was no hot breakfast available or offerred, apparently the stove was being replaced as the new managers did not like the old electric. This did not prevent the male manager having his breakfast, together with a beer, sitting at the outside table area next to the tiny pool! The price paid, $119/night, was excessive for a ground level room with an extra $10 applied for the 1st floor.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sgtgwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    67
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
75
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Checked in here on Monday October 10th for a 3 night stay for work.

Was presented with a building construction zone, with staff/owners having no clue what to do with my government contracted booking. Place smelt of paint, sawdust, and glue, and noise of building works. The greeting of the guest (me) was non existsent, and I was made to feel like it was an inconveinance to have me stay with them. Very poor effort! The room I had was good, and clean (except for the mouldy shower). Having a kitchenette is great. Its a bit of a walk to main part of Nelson Bay, but the rooms are quiet and no road noise. Bed was hard.

Internet is very expensive and slow (offered by a 3rd party).

If the owners did some training on professional service, and not feel like you are staying in a 5 dollar per night pub, I might recomend the Motel. But as it stands, plenty of better places in the bay. I will be staying some where else next time. Here is a hint, SERVICE of your guests is a major assesment factor!

Room Tip: stay some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normandy_sr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in Nelson Bay on a roadtrip down South, decided to check out the Admiral Nelson Motor Inn as we drove past.

The Admiral Nelson is unfortunately a little bit away from the main Nelson Bay area, but its only a short drive to the main area if you want to go there. The service is great, the owners gave us some tips on seeing the dolphins (which unfortunately we didn't but that was not because of their tips..)

A great and very friendly place to stay in Nelson Bay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leftyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Designated disabled parking. Unfortunately, the disabled with assistance room was down near the end of a long tiled corridor or through reception, if you can handle a step, There was one visible powerpoint in the room so if you need to charge any devices beware of this limitation. The disabled bathroom had a door on the shower with a step into it, The rails were far too high and the free standing shower chair had no arms on it. The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisabledClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Nelson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Nelson Motor Inn

Property: Admiral Nelson Motor Inn
Address: Cnr. Gowrie Avenue & Achilles Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Nelson Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Admiral Nelson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Nelson Motor Inn Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing