We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of Amarna Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarna Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Nelson Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Staff was very friendly stated till 8pm on our last day and didn't charge extra room was amazing very clean set out was perfect views from the 3bedroom was beautiful defiantly stat again

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    8
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
30
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Our one bedroom waterfront apartment was beautiful. The bathroom, bedroom & living areas were fabulous - very luxurious! All we could see from our room was the sensational pool. spa & Dutchies Beach - what more could you want? An easy 10 minute walk along the waterfront walking track to Nelson Bay was a great way to walk off all the good food & wine we indulged in!

Our dinner at Mavericks On The Bay was fantastic!

Phillipa was extremely friendly and an asset to Amarna.

The only downside to Amarna were the 'little' things:
- No milk in refrigerator upon arrival for a cup of tea/coffee
- Very limited instruction on how to use the Miele Nespresso coffee machine (and the printed version was difficult to understand for someone who had never used a coffee machine before)
- Only two English Breakfast tea bags (unfortunately we don't like Chamomile, Green or Peppermint tea)
- Suggest they show guests how to open the door to get to the beach or put a sign next to the door saying "Pull door towards you"
- The Continental breakfast could have had milk & juice included
- No "Please Make Up My Room" sign to hang on our door - hence our room was not made up because of this!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susang056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The review below is very unfair, we totally loved the place!!! (i was in the same group and i did not see a single cockroach!) The owners wr so great and did everything to make us feel so welcome. Totally accommodating. The apartment with the pool was so fabulous and with the connecting apartments it makes it the best place to go with a group of buddies. The views are spectacular, the rooms really well fitted out and the little things make it. Even loctaine bathroom products!!!!! Kitchens well equipped, great linen, just wonderful.

Don't bother flying to Bali, just go to the amarna!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worktravellerglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We went with a group of friends so got the 2 bedder with pool and 2 adjoining one-bedders.

The best bits:
1 - It is a stunning location right on Dutchies Beach and also has lots of trees so there is a really seculded feel.
2 - we were able to open up all the fencesbetween our units so it was easy to move between the rooms.
3 - a nice light brekkie of fresh muffins, fruit and yog was left at our door each morning.

The bits for improvement:
1 - The block is only a few years old but clearly has its issues - there are several patches along the hall ways that had obvious water problems with peeling paint and water damage.
2 - While well appointed, there were a few issues with the kitchen - like having all the plates and glasses in a sideboard well away from the kitchen which had to be opened with a small handle at the bottom of the door.
3 - There were LOTS of cockroaches - clearly being near the water is always an issue, but the fact there are no fly screens doesn't help. It would be good to install pest repellant devices (ideally the silent noise ones rather than chemicals)
4 - No Ipod dock
5 - There was only a queen in one of the rooms (the other had a king) and only one of the rooms had a tv. That TV had a million remotes but the main one, for foxtel, didn't work (the batteries looked like they were very corroded).
6 - The diswasher broke down which is life, but I suspect there were previous issues with it as there was undisolved powder in it when we opened it so the cleaners really should have realised there was a problem earlier. A real pain when our unit was the main place for eating for 8 people and we had a dishwasher full of dirty dishes (and water that wouldn't drain with a few dead cockroaches)
7 - We couldn't get the heating or bubbles on the private pool adjoining the 2 bed unit working. A bit disappointing.
8 - The lack of noise insulation - on the first night we couldn't get to sleep until whoever was upstairs stopped using their bath/spa... the noise was like someone loudly going to the toilet in our ensuite for 45 mins!

Anyway, it is a lovely location and nice place to stay, but wasn't quite the 5 star experience we would expect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambers_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Me, my wife and 2 other friends stayed at the 2 bedroom at Amarna over the Easter long weekend in 2010. As usual, I've set my expectations low as I've never really heard of this place before and therefore prepared for anything.

To our pleasure and delight, our 3 night stay in Amarna was an absolute blast and it was by far one of the best holiday accomodations we've ever stayed at.

For starters the managers/owners - Rob (I'm pretty sure it was Rob) and his wife where very friendly and whilst you don't expect porter type service, they made us feel very welcome. When he brought us to our room, he gave us the grand tour and was very thorough in explaining on just about how everything works.

The room was very modern and had very swish and updated Miele kitchen appliances. They even had an espresso machine that made an excellent espresso. The verandah was quite spacious and decked out with very comfortable wicker furniture and a very nice BBQ set which we utilised not once but twice a day during the whole duration we where there.

Everything from the TV to the sofa lounges to the dining area was set out with a lot of thought which had a very contemporary feel to it. Even cutlery, cups, plates and utensils where provided. These where of a high quality (I forget the brand name) and clean.

When night time rolled around, we where set for a bigger treat as we slept in the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. If you wanted to sleep with the windows open, just close the fly screen and listen to the waves crashing on the beach. If you wanted absolute peace, you could close the double glazed window and not hear a thing.

The resort also had a pool and a spa which we utilised every day we where day. It was well maintained and the spa was the most relaxing thing you could do toward the end of the day.

The resort itself was situation right by Dutchman's beach. Although we didn't go down to the beach itself we could see how convenient the resort was located. Also, it was only a 10 minute walk to the town centre. So if you wanted to do a quick run to buy groceries or food, it was quite the easy thing.

We didn't want to leave there but unfortunately it was back to the grind for us. I don't understand how there's been negative reviews in the past but we encourage anyone and everyone to give this resort a try! You will love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swibisono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Upon arriving at the venue we were quite excited with anticipation and were surprised at how tucked away this location was. We were greeted with extremly friendly owners of the place and we were shown to our two bedroom apartment. Upon walking into the place our jaws just hit the floor. The place was absolutely stunning and the finishes absolutely amazing. The owners took us through the operations of the apartment with regard to the ovens, microwave coffee machine etc etc. Everything within the unit just screamed quality from the Miele Appliances to the Villeroy & Boch toilet, the global knives and the Daiken aircon units with the apartment. No cent was spared with the constuction of these apartments, every little thing you could want or need has been thought of.

Most of our trip was spent bbq'ing on the balcony and overlooking the stunning beach views and you really cant beat this atmosphere for some good times with friends and some relaxation.

My husband and i had the main bedroom of the apartment which had a very luxurious ensuite (double bowls, massive shower and spa bath) attached. The room itself was very large with amazing wardrobes and the beds themselves were so comfortable you never want to get up! We found ourselves napping throughout the day which we never do because the bed was just so comfortable and as seasoned travellers that is a very hard find !

Each morning you have beautiful warm muffins at your door accompanied with some very nice tasting fresh fruit, muesli and yoghurt. Fanastic for the health conscious, a starter for the type who like bacon and eggs on the bbq !

Really we have no complaints at all about this place, first time ever in all our travels! If there was one thing to pick on its that there is only one parking space per apartment however the owners are already addressing this issue with the potential construction of more apartments.

The pool and spa area is also very nice, the spa seats 12 ppl comfortably and the pool is 25m in length. Both are big enough for the amount of ppl that would be staying at the resort at any one time. There is also a communal bbq in this area for those in the 1 bedroom apartments who do not get a bbq on their balcony.

We truly believe this place is heaven, you never get tired of the view and you never want to leave ! We actually ended up staying another night and blamed the traffic as an excuse ( was an easter long weekend). Our stay in the 1 bedroom apartment was just as amazing as the 2 bedroom. We are definatley going to make this place an annual reoccurence every year and are trying to go back very soon.

The negative reviews placed on here i do not believe are justified in anyway and am amazed that anyone could have had a negative experience at this little slice of heaven.

Cheers Amarna, we cant wait to come back !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

This was a beautiful looking resort and the views were amazing, however we had problems before we even arrived. As there were a lot of emails prior to our visit confirming all dates I thought everything would run smoothly. This was not the case. Just before we arrived I received a phone call to inform me that the massage therapist had arrived and was waiting for me. I informed the receptionist that my massage was booked for the next day. She checked her records and confirmed this. A couple of minutes later she phoned back to say there had been a mistake with the booking and I would need to get my one hour massage either when I arrived or 9am of the morning I was checking out (check out was at 10am). I wasn't offered an apology, late checkout, or anything similar. When we arrived the reception looked like a caravan park. The receptionist, although quite friendly, spoke as though she worked in a caravan park in the bush. Fortunately the massage therapist was still there and we found out that the resort had made another mistake and had her fully booked out the next day for guests that were not even arriving for three weeks so I was able to organise with her to come the next day as planned.
When we got to the room the receptionist spent some time showing us around and explaining things, however she only explained the things we actually had instructions for and not the things we didn't (such as how to work the floor heating in the bathroom, what all of the switches were actually for, etc). A lot of the switches were actually broken.
After about 90 minutes we realised reception was soon closing and decided to go up and ask for our strawberries and champagne (that were meant to be on arrival, and that the receptionist had mentioned she would soon bring up) and our robes that were meant to be in our room.
The king size bed is actually two beds put together, which in most places is generally fine, except that these beds were not very comfortable to the edge so in the middle of the bed there was a large hard bump, which meant you either had to sleep on a bump or sleep completely away from your partner.
The following day we went to laze by the pool for a bit before going out and about. At around 10am the workmen came to tell us we could only swim up one end of the pool for the next 20 minutes as they had just chlorinated the pool. I didn't find this to be appropriate at this time of day.
When we arrived back in our room after going out for a bit our room had apparently been serviced. All this meant was that someone had made the bed. The dishes were still all left, as was the breakfast tray (none of the dishes from this tray had anywhere to go in the cupboards in our room). The floor had also looked like it needed a clean when we arrived and this didn't happen either.
On the website it looks as though you can just walk out to the beach and that there is a lovely garden area. The garden area is there but it is private. To get to the beach you have to go through the neighbouring property where a sprinkler may spray you as you leave.
Overall the pretty looking room did not make up for the experience. If you are going to charge the amount that Amarna charges and not have the facilities on site you need to have the service down pat. Unfortunately they did not. In my opinion there are enough places that have beautiful rooms, a day spa and a restaurant combined with exceptional service. They also cost less.
Hopefully they can improve this soon as the resort is potentially wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andyandmarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
502 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarna Resort

Property: Amarna Resort
Address: 16 Christmas Bush Ave, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amarna Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a secluded beach, the 5 Star Guest Only Amarna Resort offers an oasis for guests searching for a sense of calm in a busy world. Located 2.5 hours north of Sydney and 20 minutes from Newcastle Airport this exclusive guest only luxury beach resort is suitable for couples seeking a memorable experience. Our one bedroom contemporary apartments, accommodating a maximum of two guests [1 king bed], all have panoramic water views and direct access to a secluded beach. Our unique beachfront location boasts a 25m outdoor heated pool and spa, cool sea breezes, breathtaking sunsets plus the opportunity to spot dolphins all within a 10 minute waterfront walk to the township of Nelson Bay. Amarna Resort provides complimentary wi-fi, continental breakfast platter for first morning, kayaks, paddle boards and allocated off street parking. Serviced daily each designer residential style apartment includes Miele appliances in our modern kitchens and laundries, quality linen, bathrobes, beach towels, L'Occitane toiletries, ducted air conditioning and underfloor heating. Concierge is available to organize in room massages, restaurant reservations etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amarna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarna Hotel Nelson Bay
Amarna Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing