We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean apartment”
Review of Mantra Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Aqua
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Mantra Aqua good value in the low season. Winter here in Nelson Bay, so I didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

Rooms very well equipped and a great balcony facing the CBD. Kitchen excellent as well. Beds were good, not great, but the apartment clean, well stocked, and good value. I arrived late and the key and instructions were in the safe as specified, no problems.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 558 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

*the apartments have different wings so on arrival the receptionist will tell you to park in the designated wing
*parking is a plenty and undercover with a storage facility cage for bicycles yay!
*2 bedroom apartment facing the CBD
*apartment size is medium size with modern kitchen appliances
*big screen LCD tv in the combine lounge with DVD player
*small LCD tv in the master bedroom bonus!!
*2nd bedroom is accessible by 2 internal doors and 1 external balcony door this room in particular felt like it was in a previous life a Dining room/living room as it had the power/Tv outlets in the obvious places
*bathroom was good we found it very european with only a splash back wall to prevent the water for exiting the shower/tub
*swimming pool was nice, with a spurt fountain for the kids to run through
*the place was a bit of a maze because it had different wings
*ok to stay if you don't mind the view we got wing with the view of Yacaba St so we saw alot of tops from buildings and not allot of street life
*pretty central to Nelson bay
*would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Beautiful apartment, beautiful resort. Everything is within walking distance. Only issue I has was a VERY hard bed.

I stayed in a 3 bedroom and there was plenty of room.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesskaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

three multi-story blocks of apartments - some owner-occupied but most holiday-rented with a large lagoon-type pool and spa in the centre. On an elevated site but wihtin easy walking distance of town centre, marina etc. Large club just across the road.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank malonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Staff were brilliant. Views superb rooms luxurious, cant wait to go back. IRish Fan

Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
Thank NiallMulrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I was quite impressed with this hotel. It was exactly what we had hoped for.

We booked the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment; we were hoping for the 2 bedroom apartment with pool views but missed out, although not disappointed with the outcome.

From our balcony we had a view of the pool and the ocean! Being further away from the pool meant we did not deal with any noise from that area. The lounge room was clean and spacious with a large T.V. The Kitchen was large with all the basic utensils and there was a dinning table large enough for 6 people. Having 2 bathrooms and a laundry was also a plus.

I was happy with the security as there was a lock up garage and entry into the building was also secure.

Although prior to booking I had requested and confirmed on a later date before arrival that we required both rooms to have single beds in both rooms, yet this was not so on arrival. As soon as I made this known to reception, they immediately rectified this. Reception was friendly and gave assistance when required.

The marina was only a short walk away and the hotel is hidden away in a quiet location. Having the marina only a short stroll away meant we were close to most of the activities we booked (parasailing, kayaking, cruises, boats etc.), yet retired in peace at night.

The pool area had at least a BBQ (maybe two from memory), umbrellas to hide you from the sun and nice out door settings to have lunch on. The pool which was situated almost central to most apartments was clean and adequate, the spa slightly small, but no major issue.

One night some noise was coming from the pool area, but the grounds man took swift action to attend to this matter.

Overall, to date this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would recommend it to anyone who is contemplating staying in nelson bay. A+++

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I'm sitting in the Mantra Aqua on my second night in this place. Upon entering our room on night one, we were met with half a dozen cockroaches in the kitchen chewing on the complimentary biscuit and coffee sugar packs. They were everywhere else as well: in furniture, in appliances, you move something - they jump out and run all over. I called the after hours phone number (this is NOT a hotel, and there is nobody here at night). I told them of the infestation. The smug representative challenged me on my personal definition of "infestation," quickly took notice of my foreign accent and told me that this is life in Queensland (note: this place is nowhere near Queensland). She also said nobody would help us until morning before tersely cutting the call short and hastily hanging up.

Walked the town looking for a store to purchase insecticide. Nothing open.

I've lived and stayed in plenty of places where cockroaches are endemic and numerous: Hong Kong, New York, Florida. Numerous OUTSIDE, not in our homes and branded hotel units because there are proven and effective ways to prevent infestation if you're willing to make the small routine investment in professional pest control.

Night two, one apology later from the day staff, one maintenance person with an armful of spray cans, and guess what? A cockroach just now flew straight at my face as I watched television at night. They are still here. There is a giant gap under the door and the corridor windows are not screened. You are essentially living outdoors at this supposedly upscale property. AVOID MANTRA AQUA PROPERTIES. This place is not as advertised. Could you sleep in a cockroach-infested rental, after being told you're on your own?

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank economic_migrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $187 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing