We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend”
Review of Mantra Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Aqua
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Beautiful apartment, beautiful resort. Everything is within walking distance. Only issue I has was a VERY hard bed.

I stayed in a 3 bedroom and there was plenty of room.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesskaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    241
    111
    19
    19
See reviews for
271
133
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

three multi-story blocks of apartments - some owner-occupied but most holiday-rented with a large lagoon-type pool and spa in the centre. On an elevated site but wihtin easy walking distance of town centre, marina etc. Large club just across the road.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank malonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Staff were brilliant. Views superb rooms luxurious, cant wait to go back. IRish Fan

Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NiallMulrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I was quite impressed with this hotel. It was exactly what we had hoped for.

We booked the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment; we were hoping for the 2 bedroom apartment with pool views but missed out, although not disappointed with the outcome.

From our balcony we had a view of the pool and the ocean! Being further away from the pool meant we did not deal with any noise from that area. The lounge room was clean and spacious with a large T.V. The Kitchen was large with all the basic utensils and there was a dinning table large enough for 6 people. Having 2 bathrooms and a laundry was also a plus.

I was happy with the security as there was a lock up garage and entry into the building was also secure.

Although prior to booking I had requested and confirmed on a later date before arrival that we required both rooms to have single beds in both rooms, yet this was not so on arrival. As soon as I made this known to reception, they immediately rectified this. Reception was friendly and gave assistance when required.

The marina was only a short walk away and the hotel is hidden away in a quiet location. Having the marina only a short stroll away meant we were close to most of the activities we booked (parasailing, kayaking, cruises, boats etc.), yet retired in peace at night.

The pool area had at least a BBQ (maybe two from memory), umbrellas to hide you from the sun and nice out door settings to have lunch on. The pool which was situated almost central to most apartments was clean and adequate, the spa slightly small, but no major issue.

One night some noise was coming from the pool area, but the grounds man took swift action to attend to this matter.

Overall, to date this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would recommend it to anyone who is contemplating staying in nelson bay. A+++

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I'm sitting in the Mantra Aqua on my second night in this place. Upon entering our room on night one, we were met with half a dozen cockroaches in the kitchen chewing on the complimentary biscuit and coffee sugar packs. They were everywhere else as well: in furniture, in appliances, you move something - they jump out and run all over. I called the after hours phone number (this is NOT a hotel, and there is nobody here at night). I told them of the infestation. The smug representative challenged me on my personal definition of "infestation," quickly took notice of my foreign accent and told me that this is life in Queensland (note: this place is nowhere near Queensland). She also said nobody would help us until morning before tersely cutting the call short and hastily hanging up.

Walked the town looking for a store to purchase insecticide. Nothing open.

I've lived and stayed in plenty of places where cockroaches are endemic and numerous: Hong Kong, New York, Florida. Numerous OUTSIDE, not in our homes and branded hotel units because there are proven and effective ways to prevent infestation if you're willing to make the small routine investment in professional pest control.

Night two, one apology later from the day staff, one maintenance person with an armful of spray cans, and guess what? A cockroach just now flew straight at my face as I watched television at night. They are still here. There is a giant gap under the door and the corridor windows are not screened. You are essentially living outdoors at this supposedly upscale property. AVOID MANTRA AQUA PROPERTIES. This place is not as advertised. Could you sleep in a cockroach-infested rental, after being told you're on your own?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank economic_migrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment last weekend. The place was lovely with ample parking. We were on a ground floor unit and have young children and didn't have much noise from people walking past or jumping in the pool.
The pool and spa are fantastic. Great facilities in the apartment, large flat screen tv with foxtel, dvd player with another TV and DVD in main room. All together a good value place to stay close to the main area of Nelson Bay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

My wife & two young kids stayed here over the Easter Break this year. Apartments are massive and well appointed. The kitchen was fully decked out with everything you need and its suprising what they have included with respect to utensiles/coffee pot etc.
We had a 2 bedder poolside room which was nice . The trade off is that you look directly into the rooms opposite the pool, which means you need to ensure you have the blinds closed when you walk out of the shower, or the kids are running around during the nappy change festivities.
One of the critiscms of the room is the layout of the 2nd bathroom, which is dangerous for very small kids (with a glass partition to seperate the vanity from the shower/bath, plus the tap seems to stick out, so if the little ones have a tumble or trouble getting in/out of the bath, be very careful.
If you going to consider this place during the cooler months, be wary of the fact that the pool although heated, is cold and the spa bath (which is nice and hot) is tiny - which means everyone will flock into it like its a boxing day stocktake sale. This place is not ideal for little infant kids - with respect to the swimming pool facilities.
When all is said and done, it is a great place however to base yourself, for Nelson Bay The apartments are tastefully decorated and you have the flexibilty to cook (outside - in the BBQ area) and inside. A short stroll to town which is also handy if you want supplies or to look around town.
If you are used to Apartment living (which we are) you will not have any issues.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Out4familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
513 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Property: Mantra Aqua
Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing