We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Aqua
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra Aqua last weekend (10 & 11 November 2012) and can vouch that this is an extremely nice place to stay. We had a 2-br apartment which provided ample space and all the creature comforts one needs on a holiday. Modern finishes, clean and tidy and spacious. Would highly recommend the Mantra Aqua to those visiting Port Stephens. The pool is also amazing!!

Room Tip: Great no matter which room you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabbotage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    232
    105
    19
    19
See reviews for
260
127
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Port Stephens is not a frequently visited location for overseas tourists. So when we decided on this town, selecting a hotel that was conveniently located was quite a challenge as we were unfamiliar with the area. However, I was really glad when I finally booked the Mantra Aqua at Nelsons Bay.

The Nelson Bay area is the most 'happening' part of Port Stephens where all the dining as well as boat trips are located. And the Mantra Aqua service apartment is just a 10 minute walk away from the hub of activity.

The service apartment at Mantra Aqua was incredibly large. Everyone had the 'wow' reaction when we stepped into the apartment. I booked the 3-bedroom apartment that easily accommodated the 9 of us. The living room and kitchen area was so huge, we knew that cooking a meal in the apartment was a must. Food can be easily purchased at the supermarket nearby which was certainly a plus point. Though the room décor was simple and somewhat cold, what made up for it was certainly the spaciousness of the place. Being a service apartment there was no 24-hour reception, so be sure to be early to check in.

Room Tip: Be sure to check in before dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and so glad to hear you had a great holiday with us in Nelson Bay!

I would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few things for all those looking at staying with us...

At no stage do we ever allow for 9 people to stay overnight in our 3 Bedroom Apartments, as it is not only against the maximum room occupancy allowance, but more importantly against safety regulations. In reviewing our notes for this booking, we were advised there were 4 adults and 2 children staying in the room, therefore I can only assume the extras were visitors and not staying overnight...

Also, although we do close our office doors overnight, there is always someone on the other end of the line to answer any queries and also an onsite manager for emergencies on site.

It is our goal that everyone feels as though they have a home away from home, so thank you again for the comments and we look forward to seeing you all again!

Kindest Regards,

Carrie Chiasson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossvale
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Easy drive to nelson bay we stayed in a 3 bed penthouse apartment room 46 there was 5 ad, 1ch, 1 baby.Check in very good polite&friendlyThe apartment very spacious great full kitchen plenty of cupboard space. The main bedroom has walk in robe,ensuite is a good size, shower over the bath plenty of cupboard space&balcony access,2nd bedroom was a good size with entry to the bathroom which was good in size also has a washing machine&dryer,the 3rd was a bit on the small side.The balony was quite a good size with a 6 seater table plus 2 sunbeds&good views of nelson's bay.The pool was good but would be to small at xmas time as it is quite a large property and would be very hot that time of year.With walking distance to town&the water lots of resturant to chose from plenty for all to do we just happened to be there when the food&wine festival and markets were on all weekend so it was a very busy place great weather.The only thing in the apartment was the carpet was stained and needed a clean.It is more of a family orientated place to stay,We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The penthouse had the best views room 46.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sandyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at Mantra with a group of friends. We paid $430 for each apartment over 2 nights. For that price we got an ugly, cheaply furnished, no frills apartment. The second bedroom was the size of a shoebox, the kitchen and bathroom looked had dirty, industrial looking tiles. The walls were paper thin - forget getting any sleep. You can hear people upstairs, next door and outside, til early morning. And the view! The tiny balcony looked out to an empty lot, garbage bins and a Vinnies. I felt like we were in a ghetto. Most of the rooms have this same outlook. The others look out to the pool where there are dozens of screaming children. The fan and light didn't work in my room and there was nothing I could do about it until the next day because reception closes at 8pm. Good luck if you arrive late on Friday night because you're stuck on traffic. The pool area and spa was filled with so many children I felt like I was in a daycare centre. There is supposed to be a gym onsite but nearly all the machines have out of order signs on them. Although the location of the complex is close to the centre of town it's in an ugly industrial part of it. It had a dirty feel to it. There are much nicer apartments in Nelson bay for half the price. Do your research and just don't book anything like we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoozySooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience with us.
Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each of our guests have a fantastic holiday and walk out of here feeling relaxed and recharged - having had all of their needs met in terms of a great self-contained accommodation environment. As we do take feedback very seriously, we have taken all of your comments on board and would like to address the issues for future visitors and also possibly to clarify some misunderstandings...
Many of the issues pointed out here easily could have been addressed or remedied had you contacted us directly or dialled 9 on your house phone. Even though we do close the office doors at 8pm, all calls after this are forwarded through to our afterhours service and dealt with in the same professional manner.
Upon doing some research and looking through your file, it was brought to my attention that you did indeed mention your discontent with the outlook of your apartment the morning after you arrived. The receptionist on at the time happily offered an alternate apartment that she thought you might prefer, which in the end was declined.
Unfortunately, the reality is that noise is going to be an issue when the buildings housing 110 Two and Three Bedroom Apartments are at their full capacity and the majority of our guests happen to be families with children who love the pool. For guests who prefer a quiter area, we offer apartments that face away from the pool, or even around the back of the resort.
In terms of the gym equipment, I have to agree with you - unfortunately due to older equipment, the last couple of weeks we have been waiting on parts to arrive to be able to repair the two out of three machines. I realize this inconvenience, and can not apologize enough as it is not our standard allow such maintenance issues to go on.
I don't disagree with you in regards to our location we are wonderfully just a short stroll away from the beach and shops. However, due to circumstances obviously out of our control, we also happen to live in amongst older and industrial-type buildings, and not to mention a big empty lot directly next door to us.
As the onsite manager, I am passionate about ensuring everyone is well informed and feeling confident that we will do our best to allow our guests to have a memorable holiday, leaving their stresses and worries behind. I do sincerely regret that this wasn't the case in your experience, however, again, I believe we may have been able to remedy most of these things if we had spoken to you directly.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address these points and I whole-heartedly welcome any comments and concerns directly on 02 4916 4777 or email at gm@aquaresort.com.au.

Kind Regards,

Carrie Chiasson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for a two night stay with a girlfriend mid week. The apartment was lovely, clean and well equipped. The staff friendly and helpful. Walking distance to all restaurants, cafes and beach side .. though ideally away from passing traffic. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Like all Mantra's there is no room service unless you stay for 7 days, and there are no on site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 2 nights.. be warned NO hairdryers.. so bring your own! Rooms very average! Just the basics!! A/C not great.. would hate to stay there in summer... room would be unbearably hot.. it was "just" comfortable with A/C running on 21 degrees.. Main ensuite shower screen was off the runner, hubby had to fix it so we could take a shower! Master bed hard as a rock! Expected more from a 4 star.. No curtains in rooms, just roll down blind, TOO much light coming in all night, felt like sleeping with a light on.. if you like a dark room to have a sleep in while on vacation,then forget it!!!
Our kids love to swim, so we picked this hotel (definitely NOT a resort) because it was suppose to have a "heated" pool (still freezing cold in Sept).. the only thing heated was a small spa pool, which was so packed out with people that our kids had a terrible time, which made our vacation a waste of money! Won't stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.
We do provide hairdryer in the apartments and I'm not sure why your unit would not have had one. If you had notified reception at any point during your stay I'm confident we would have been able to rectify both these issues.
Our pool is solar heated so when the weather is cold unfortunately the pool is cool. Our spa though is gas heated.
I am glad we were able to address some of the issues you raised in your review and can only apologise for any disappointment you experienced.
Kind Regards
Jan Penerata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Upon booking in I was told that I had accidently booked for the wrong weekend! But with no problems at all (and shear luck and a bit of shuffling) they had our room available for us. They were so polite and helpful! We stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment (2 singles in 2nd bedroom) with 3 adults, 3.5 yo boy & 8 month old (loads of room for portacot in main bedroom). It was fully equiped with everything we needed and 2 BATHROOMS!! Extremely clean and very spaceous which helped with our "rolling baby" and extremely enthusiastic pre-schooler They provide you with an additional key to unlock the window. The balcony doors were well equiped with locks too which made us feel more relaxed. Separate carparks for each building with lifts directly to your floor, and no stairs was a blessing when it came to the pram and loads of bags. Location made it easy to walk around the town with the children. Definately well worth the price and will definately stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review.
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Kind Regards
Jan Penerata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Property: Mantra Aqua
Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing