We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Sensations and Amazing Plated Presentations.”
Review of The Galley Kitchen

The Galley Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 90 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste Sensations and Amazing Plated Presentations.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

NO faults here.....the chefs in this restaurant know how to prepare, present and please. Starters, mains and desserts equal to the finest of city restaurants. Congrats Luke, Anthony, Vanessa, Ben and Crew....a big AAA to you all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sixtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    69
    31
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Two vegetarian options for entree and two for mains - very unusual, and excellently prepared and presented. Staff very friendly and helpful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine food, expensive wine”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A comfortable, cosy venue with fine quality food excellently presented in generous portions. Friendly table service and food prices of $55 for 2 courses reasonable for the quality. My only concern was the cost of the wine (BYO not allowed). At 3 times the cost of the same wine at a bottleshop it seems to me excessive and heavily distorts the make up of the bill away from the excellent food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter_2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Merretts Restaurant, Peppers Anchorage, Corlette”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Living in Nelson Bay, good restaurants are hard to find. We have dined regularly at Merretts and have always enjoyed the food. Excellent quality ingredients, cooked to perfection, beautifully presented, and the service and attention are good. I like the fact that gluten-free options are available and the menu changes on a regular basis. Being regulars, we are looked after very well by the waiting staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Return visit- great lunch offer in the sunshine”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a return visit- the resort is now independent from Peppers but we didnt notice any change in the restaurant. Still good service and good value menus. We did the lunch menu which allows you to be flexible on 2 or 3 courses which includes a glass of wine. At the weekend its $40 for 2 courses or $50 for 3. We shared the mezze plate for starters- delicious tasty dips especially the pumpkin, then had the catch of the day, salmon fillet with roasted pumpkin,bacon and cherry tomato and then shared the sticky toffee pudding. The food was well presented, generous portions and we felt the offer was exceptional value, the catch of the day alone would have been $35! The staff were friendly and attentive. They were very kind to set us up a table on the terrace after a surprise sunny day. We really enjoyed our lunch and would definately recommend to others especially for lunch to make the most of the marina view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank autumn1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley Kitchen also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to The Galley Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing