We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Narrandera

“Get a face lift”

Lazy Lizard Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Narrandera
Price range: $11 - $27
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It actually pains me to write this review, because my husband and I go on these trips not only to see this beautiful country but to support these country towns.

The food was marginally average, suggestion here would be to limit the dishes offered, way too many items on the menu, and do them well. Nothing worse after a long drive then to turn up to a country town where the main events o the evening are food and drink o my to have experienced a very very average meal.

Let’s move on now to the decor- I appreciate renovations are a huge expense, but really the 30 year old faded orange velour Material on both the booth benches and the bar stools have to go. In fact, the rest of the original material (ie wooden beams, panelling, wine barrel bar tables) would probably be accepted as a testament to a by-gone 70-80’s era if the drapes, the seating material and possibly flooring were updated. Lastly, the place could do with a bit of a clean as well. Not acceptable for ledges to be dusty in a place serving food.

With that said, the staff were pleasant.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 393daniellef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q1759UFkarenr, Owner at Lazy Lizard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Maybe you need a face lift.
The carpet is less then a year old, the tables, chairs, plates, knives forks, spoons, wine glasses & wine barrels are all new. My theme of lizards running up the wooden wall sections has been accepted by the locals & they are happy we are open. The restaurant had previously been closed for 17 years.
Im sorry as a customer you don't get to choose the décor in my restaurant. So stop being so rude. And as far as the booths - our locals BOOK TO SIT IN THEM, OFTEN FOR SENTIMENTAL REASONS.- bet you didn't think about that did you.!!

And as far as dust - if you didn't notice the smoke in town from the bushfires and then followed by dusts storms… no im sorry you probably didn't you spent more time criticizing another persons establishment! Maybe you best not come here again since you didn't like my décor or menu... seems you know a lot about running a hospitality venue! bet you don't work 100h a week like I do!!!
karen - the owner - apparently I don't clean up the dust fast enough...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2020

Fantastic local business serving fresh food with ample servings.
Great service, with friendly accommodating staff

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank M7300RXmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

A delicious meal for our stop over, travelling back to Melbourne. Karen and her staff create a friendly, casual dining experience and served us delicious home cooked meals. The chicken schnitzel was generously proportioned, juicy and tender with a fresh tasting tomato and mozarella topping. The honey mustard chicken was very tasty and satisfying. Just what these weary travellers needed! Not to mention a lovely bottle of shiraz- and all at a super value price. Thanks Karen and team! Chris and Jus

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 641chrisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Massive feed, great food at a very reasonable price. It was a busy Sat night so we had to wait a bit but that was fine. Couple of drinks and some warm welcome fresh rolls held us over. Squid was huge and melted in your mouth with the schnitzel being the same. Old fashioned country place, with friendly staff. Worth the visit.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank jonmegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Awesome food! Cooked to request, price for two was well worth a price for one. Great service. Very clean would recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Carmen5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Lizard Restaurant also viewed

Narrandera, Narrandera Shire
Narrandera, Narrandera Shire
 
Narrandera, Narrandera Shire
Narrandera, Narrandera Shire
 
Narrandera, Narrandera Shire
Narrandera, Narrandera Shire
 

Been to Lazy Lizard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing