We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Criterion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Narrandera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seymour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

For something really different in regional NSW you must consider staying in Narranderra at the New Criterion Hotel - it's art deco circa 1939 and to me it has right the amount of the old and the new - a perfect balance. The rooms are not huge but that adds to the historical feel to the entire place - people were smaller in the last century! You could almost imagine being back there in the 1930's. There are Lounge spaces and even the share toilets are not what I expected - if you need a save a few dollars consider a non-ensuite room as the share bathrooms are super clean and private also. I did have a room with an ensuite and the shower space is really large. There are also balconies to hang out in. Murray the host could not be improved - he is also balanced in his approach - not too much but enough to feel really looked after. This will become my new stop in rural NSW.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rancho-Food-Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    37
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
79
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bright, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Murray is the perfect host. From the moment we walked in the door to the moment he cleaned our windscreen just before our departure, we felt like sheer royalty. This gentleman has created a wonderful experience for the weary traveller. The art deco surroundings make you feel that you have stepped back into a gentler, more friendly time and Murray's consideration for his guests completes this feeling. The whole place is clean and fresh, with attention to detail obvious. Our room was crisp and inviting, and breakfast the next morning was beautifully laid out for our pleasure. Nothing is too much trouble for this wonderful host. I have never felt more at home anywhere I have stayed.
Hats off to Murray and his amazing creation.

Room Tip: The balcony outside our room was a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnoswald01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently stayed at this lovely small hotel with a group of ladies. I can speak for all when I say that it was wonderful and memorable stay. We travelled to Narrandera (by train and bus) specifically to go to the John O'Brien Poestry Festival, and stayed at this lovely hotel for four nights. The owners, Murray and Pam were delightful - friendly but professional, and nothing too much trouble for them. We were all picked up from the bus station and taken back there for our return trip. The hotel is tastefully furnished - our room with an en suite was well appointed and functional. The hotel also offers a beautiful room for a great continental breakfast; a large sundeck; a lounge room area as well as a TV room/relaxation room. Suffice it to say, I would thoroughly recommend this charming hotel to anyone - not only for a overnight stop heading in the direction of Adelaide, but also just to stay for a few days to absorb the true country spirit of this lovely country town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gungurru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in the New Criterion during March 2013, having only experienced the very spacious and lovely decor of the Club Motel rooms. I was a bit disappointed by the smallness of the twin bed room I was given, however the shower was enormous, the beds comfortable with beautiful thick cotton sheets, and the cleanliness was hospital grade. What is memorable is the feeling we were staying in a friend's grand house and we were their honoured guests - Murray looked after us beautifully. What was especially appreciated is that I left several dresses and suits in the cupboard (worth roughly $2,000), and I got an urgent call from Murray in time for us to be able to turn back from our return to Sydney. There is also a lovely lounge available, in which I used to read - so much better than being stuck in one's room! There is also modern airconditioning in each room and electric blankets on the beds. The delicious breakfast is not to be missed. It is available till quite late, so you can sleep in - unlike motel rooms. Murray brought us up a surprise edible treat while we were reading in the loungeroom! I will definitely be staying again. We met up with other travellers who make the New Criterion a regular port of call.

Room Tip: Room 3 (with a double bed) really is larger, with a large bathroom and a breeze coming in through tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneScSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

we were travelling up the Newell Highway from Melbourne to Brisbane and stopped here as we had enough driving for the day. We were greeted by the wonderful owner who couldn't do enough for us. I decided to get take away food from the nearby Chinese and was set up with a whole dinner service in the upstairs lounge dining room. Can't say enough about this hidden gem. The lounge provides a couch to relax after a hard days driving. Just a fantastic find!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a surprise! I travel away 4 nights a week both local and overseas and rarely do I receive suprises like this.
To be greeted at reception with a hand shake and a welcome thanks for choosing us is not a normal occurence for Australia.

A small but well equiped room a great lounge and a fantastic breakfast (included in the price) the next morning.
Thank you for staying with us (and a windscreen clean) on departure. Great value.

Will be back, and will be telling all my mates about this lettle gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellttavelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you want to stay in an old style country hotel with excellent service, lots of atmosphere and clean comfortable rooms, then this is the place to stay. Everything about this place is Good!!! From my initial phone call to enquire if a room was available to final check out, nothing was too much trouble for (host) Murray. The room was clean, the (very) white sheets were crisp and the (very) white towels were fluffy.... The offstreet parking was secure and breakfast good and plentiful. I asked for a room with access to the balcony and received one. In summary, all good!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narrandera hotels
0.3 mi away
Camellia Motel Narrandera
Camellia Motel Narrandera
#1 of 4 in Narrandera
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Narrandera Club Motor Inn
Narrandera Club Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Narrandera
101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Newell Motor Inn Narrandera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fig Tree Motel
Fig Tree Motel
#2 of 5 in Narrandera
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Talbot Caravan Park
Lake Talbot Caravan Park
#2 of 3 in Narrandera
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Roads Motor Inn
Country Roads Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Narrandera
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Criterion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Criterion Hotel

Property: New Criterion Hotel
Address: 100 East St, Narrandera, New South Wales 2700, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Narrandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Narrandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Criterion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Criterion is a unique accommodation experience in the heart of Narrandera, making it the perfect stop on your business or sightseeing trip.A recent extensive refurbishment has transformed the majestic 75 year old hotel into an iconic property boasting the newest and stylish accommodation in Narrandera with 18 guest suites, balconies, lounge, courtyard and deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your New Criterion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing