We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney prices with IGA produce!”
Review of Whale Restaurant

Whale Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Narooma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We ate here in April this year & really enjoyed it. Our return visit was absolutely terrible. Supermarket pre packaged steak was passed off as Black Angus eye fillet, requested rare and delivered to the table "well done". My lamb backstrap was inedible as it was so tough, it made it impossible to chew.
Don't waste your money. I'm pretty sure the pub would serve better quality food!
Oh and did they ask how everything was? No!! Just if we wanted dessert and there was no way we were willing to take that risk.
Tasha, Sydney

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tasha100910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen H, Owner at Whale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi Tasha,

We are really sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your return visit to the Whale. We try hard to deliver a really good experience all round and are disappointed that we did not match the experience of your first visit.

We have looked over our records and your docket indicates that we did check on your table to see how you were enjoying your meals. Nevertheless if at any stage during your meal the situation changed you should have let us know. We would have been only too happy to prepare something else for you.

We purchase our meats from the local butcher a few door up from us. He has an excellent reputation and has been our butcher for a number of years. Our eye fillet is aged for 90 days and we regularly get comments that it is the best steak that our customers have ever had. We have not had any poor feedback on the lamb back strap either but will look into this.

As for prices we have exactly the same costs as restaurants in large cities - same electricity, same wages, same cost of goods, same interest rates etc etc etc. The slightly higher prices compared to other establishments is reflective of the time and effort our chefs put in to making a dish. We make everything in house from the breads to start to the petit fours to finish. If on the other hand our food came out of a packet or the deep freeze costs would be considerably less.

We are really proud of the food we do and the experience we offer and we know that you have been pleased in the past too. It is a shame that you did not let us know of any problems immediately so we could have fixed them immediately. Instead you leave unhappy and we see your comments which make us unhappy to see all our hard work and effort reduced to “Sydney prices with IGA produce!”. What would IGA think?! We are sure that they strive to provide excellent quality produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We are so happy that we had our wedding reception at The Whale. The food and service was amazing. The atmosphere was fantastic and views are breath taking. Jen and Matt did an exceptional job setting up, organising and arranging the tables and meals. Everything ran perfectly, we received so many positive remarks from our wedding guests about the venue and food, no one could fault anything. We would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking to for a function venue or even just dinner or a bed in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We decided to find somewhere spacial in Narooma since it was our honeymoon. We were given a nice table but the waiter just didn't understand why we didn't want nuts in our food. After a long explanation that my wife had nut allergies, and that both meals must not contain nuts, he proceeded to bring us an Amuse Bouche made of macaroon with walnuts. We had to go through the explanation of what it means to be alergic to nuts.

The entrees were actually very nice, but then my steak came out cold, dry and with pesto on the side. NUTS!! Again. Regardless of the cold steak covered with nuts, it was dry and the dish just didn't go together at all.

My wife's snapper was over cooked and dry too.

For the quality of service and meal, that food was well over priced.

Particularly if you're an allergy sufferer I wouldn't take the risk in this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A friendly greeting and attentive in getting us seated and comfortable. Started with a chef's special platter for entree. It was lovely with a great mix of entrees. Tasty, spicy, fun and a variety of textures.

The main of swordfish was nicely done, moist and tasty. Accompanied by a good light Canberra Riesling. Too full for anything else.

A great place to dine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loud1Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Snowy white cloths and impressive curtains. Good service and menu. Home made icecreams a special treat,

Thank bomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Whale Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing