We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, some drawbacks”
Review of Whale Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Narooma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were in a room with a queen sized bed. The room itself was nice but equipped more like a hotel room (tiny fridge, no kitchen or counter) than a motel. The pool is right outside and most people have to pass in front of your room to swim which I imagine can be quite annoying at times.

The room is relatively newly redone but already shows considerable wear (surprisingly)
The bathroom especially is in need of a good through scrubbing (grut was dirty, as were walls).

Great view from the motel and pool which is a plus.

Room Tip: Avoid room #6 because of pool traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snabelfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a road trip from Sydney to Melbourne we stayed in a wonderful motel, the Whale Motor Inn. Jenn and Matt were our front desk and what a great job they did. When our fishing day didn't pan out, Jenn made phone calls and got us on another boat. It was great. Then when a asked about doing laundry, she said for a minimal fee of 18.00 they would do it for me. I think that was the best part of our stay. The motel was comfortable, with a great view. The free wi-fi was really nice, being able to skype home to the USA. The dinner is the restaurant was OK, not great and rather expensive. Go to the wood fire pizza place down the road, better price and good pizza.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

A nice welcome on arrival, easy parking. We booked an executive room which was more than adequate, it stepped out to the open air pool area and a nice view of the bay. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which has amazing views across the bay and the food was extremely good and served with passion. We only stayed for one night on route to Melbourne and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashcroft1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here on numerous occasions, but the last two times the standards have dropped signifcantly. The rooms aren't as clean as they used to be and last time my bins weren't emptied during a 2 night stay. On the previous occasion I had noticed the glass top table in my room had a thick covering of dust. I accidently left a ring on the table and had to return after checking out to collect it. A man told me he had just cleaned the room and hadn't seen it. When he took me up the ring was still on the table - which obviously hadn't been cleaned again.
My breakfast was delivered 20 minutes late, and I was stunned they have a $6 delivery fee for room service dinner. This is just outrageous for a country motel, and extraordinary given how expensive the restaurant is.
After staying here for a number of years I think I'll be trying somewhere different in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela_Wollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen H, Owner at Whale Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

We were so sorry to hear that after a number of stays with us you have decided to go elsewhere. We have been at the property for 6 years and are consistently trying to improve and refine our vision. Feedback from our guests is very important in helping shape that vision so we appreciate you taking to time to let us all know of your problems.

We apologise that the bin was not emptied on your stop over as this forms part of the service standards. We would have welcomed a prompt that it had not been done so that we could have immediately rectified the matter.

As for the ring on the table we do not have men clean our rooms at this point in time. What is the most likely explanation is that our maintenance person assisted the cleaning staff that particular morning by removing the dirty linen ready for the cleaners to do their job. I expect that you re-entered the room after the linen was removed but before the regular housekeeping cleaning process had commenced.

We were unaware that there were any late breakfast deliveries recently but it can happen from time to time. If we have a lot of restaurant and room service orders at once it can delay things. However we do try to deliver as close to the ‘approximate delivery time’ as possible as indicated on the menu.

As for the restaurant prices and room service surcharge - we make no apology for that. Yes, we are in the ‘country’ but the principles and margins associated with running a restaurant including food cost and wages are no different in the country. The restaurant team are really proud of the food we deliver (mostly sourcing local produce and made from scratch) and we charge what is fair and reasonable to cover the costs associated with the type of food and experience we produce. The benefit of our town is that there are a wide variety of eateries catering to everyone’s budget.

We appreciate your feedback though and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Matt and Jen Deveson and the Whale staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The motel room was very compact but had extras eg crockery and cutlery and toaster. It was surprisingly quiet considering it is double story. This is an older building but it is clean and maintained The pool felt warm and inviting but the weather wasn't.
Had a meal at the restaurant which was quite expensive for the size. It was nice but not filling. The service was too good as we were finished in half an hour! The view was spectacular as a window seat was booked.
Good location but nothing is very far at Narooma.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 with my wife and 5 year old son during a driving holiday through New South Wales.

We were able to pre-book this accommodation online, and were able to see exactly what our room looked like. This made it very easy to choose the right type. We went for the Family Suite which has two bedrooms and a bathroom. The main bedroom was huge (with a kitchenette) and the second bedroom was also a good size with 2 single beds.

The hotel and room were very clean and tidy. The building is fairly old (but well maintained) and some of the decor may be a little dated in some people's eyes, but we certainly didn't want for any mod cons - we had a colour flatscreen TV, FREE wi-fi (other hotels should take note!), fridge, microwave etc.

The staff were also very friendly and helpful, and were able to direct us to the nearest supermarket and also the wharf for our day trip to Montague Island.

The hotel has its own restaurant and we enjoyed an excellent dinner there. My crispy skin duck was fantastic, but the dessert was outstanding. It was called 'liquorice allsorts' and was one of the best I've had in ages. If you like liquorice, give it a try!

Overall, this hotel was very good value (especially given the size of our room). The restaurant is on the expensive side, as other contributors have noted, but the food and service are excellent - as good as you'd find anywhere else.

The hotel is also very close to the wharf from where you can take a tour of Montague Island and see the penguins, seals and dolphins.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, try to get the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely country hotel reminiscent of days gone by . clean tidy and in good condition. The restaurant attached for patrons after a long drive is pleasant with nice food Would go back staff friendless and helpfulness is always nice

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narooma hotels
0.4 mi away
Amooran Oceanside Apartments and Motel
0.2 mi away
Top Of The Town Motel
Top Of The Town Motel
#2 of 8 in Narooma
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Lodge Motor Inn
Holiday Lodge Motor Inn
#5 of 8 in Narooma
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coastal Comfort Motel
Coastal Comfort Motel
#4 of 8 in Narooma
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tree Motel
Tree Motel
#6 of 8 in Narooma
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Apartments
Horizon Apartments
#5 of 12 in Narooma
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Motor Inn

Address: 102 Wagonga St, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Narooma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Narooma
Price Range: $98 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whale Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Hotel Narooma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing