We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mystery Bay Cottages
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found this accommodation wonderful. It was just like a two bedroom house, but you didn't have to do anything except enjoy. We stayed two nights in July. Close walk to the beach and a quiet, tranquil location. The wood fire was great and the birds were everywhere. Not too far from local towns, but take your own food, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennmartin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great location edge of National Park and short walk to Billy’s Beach. We were however disappointed with the condition of Cottage No 5. Previous reviews stated 5/5 for cleanliness for a 4 star rated property but our experience was far from that. The cottage was tired, the carpets worn and torn, the stove and grill – I couldn’t use them as they were and think it should be replaced! The pans and utensils again need replacing we had to wash things before we used them.
The grout in the bathroom discoloured and mouldy and the tiles outside the shower in need of a good scrub! The toilet walls were splashed (what with??) and do cleaners not clean behind doors? In general the cottage needed a good overhaul as far as cleanliness goes. OK in saying that we enjoyed our stay, it was good that wood was supplied for the fire place and loved the peace and quiet – but most of all loved the company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JayBob09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel J, Owner at Mystery Bay Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Jayne & Bob
We're disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay.
We feel that you may have been upset from the start as you did not want to be near children during your stay and by chance, we had children staying in most other cottages...
We also feel that we were helpful and flexible towards any of your requests - e.g. leaving the key in your cottage for a late arrival with no check in on Friday, a late check out on the Sunday at no extra cost, etc.
However, following your comments, we have done a thorough review of your cottage and have found:
1. The stove and grill work perfectly....there is a manual in the drawer in the kitchen for people who may need help.
2. The pans and utensils are all of good quality and do not need replacing.
3. There is no mould in the shower..however, one piece of grout had fallen out and has been been re-grouted (occasionally maintenance issues occur and we deal with them immediately).
4. There were no marks on the walls - had you told us, we would of course have dealt with them immediately.
As we pride ourselves on cleanliness - you will see our trip advisor score is 94% and we spend much more time on cleaning than the industry average - it was, again, disappointing that you found the cleanliness not up to standard. But having done a full check of the cottage, we feel your comments are unnecessarily negative.
We also like to think that we offer amazing value - you paid $150 per night for a quality, AAA-rated four star 2-bedroom cottage, 100m from a beach in a stunning area (you gave the location 5 stars)....having done a full pricing analysis of the area, we are very confident of our value for money.
We have 90% occupancy all year round with strong repeat business and referrals - both of which are growing.
Finally, we are glad to hear that, despite your negative comments, you still "enjoyed your stay"...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have been coming here for 13 years - every year for 1 to 2 weeks - and be back again next year and... Its the one place we have found where we can do NOTHING and enjoy it. But if we want to do something there is a fantastic movie theatre 10 minutes away, a great fish shop - straight from the trawler to you - reasonably good restaurants, music estivals and more. And we are 5 minutes walk from a surf beach through national park and 10 minutes walk from a kids-safe beach again through national park where 3 makes a crowd. And then there's more beaches where if there is more than you it is crowded - miles and miles of it. KEEP IT A MYSTERY.

Peter Sarlos

Room Tip: All the cottages are great - 4 and 5 have a better layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

After reading the reviews we chose Mystery Bay cottages to stay. The location is lovely and the rooms were spotlessly clean however for the price we paid it was simply very poor value for money. We stayed four nights and as the cottages aren't serviced during your visit the thin towels provided (only one each) were very much in need of cleaning. Without a dryer we were unable to clean our own towels. The cottage was poorly stocked and we ended up buying our own toilet paper. I expect better at over $250 per night. There are better places to stay for the money, very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel J, Owner at Mystery Bay Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Johanna.
We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay here. We pride our selves on offering good value at Mystery Bay Cottages (we price our selves just below self-catering cabins at camp-sites).
Our cottages are self-catering and not serviced but, even so, we happily offer unlimited replacement complimentary towels, toilet rolls, birdseed at any time....in fact, whatever the guest would like.
We don't provide dryers for environmental reasons so, instead, offer replacement towels which is designed to ensure an easier life for our guests.
You describe the cottages as "poorly stocked" - we like to think that our inclusions are generous - from fully stocked kitchen, laundry powder, freshly ground pepper, freshly ground coffee and coffee plunger, rosemary in the towels, hand made beeswax soap, toiletries, bird watching book, detailed visitor guide and free bird seed in each cottage - if you have any suggestions for other inclusions, please let us know.
We happily note your comments about the great location and the cottage being spotlessly clean....
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed three weeknights just before Easter. Enjoyed it immensely. We would return for a week-long stay without hesitation. Those reviewers with concerns about the accommodations should bear in mind that these are rural cottages, not 5-star urban condos. However, they are not 'rustic' accommodation in any way. All amenities are there, except for internet. So be prepared to be disconnected. (Convince the kids that's a good thing!). Fun in the games room takes one back to the pre-technology era.

Cottages are relatively private, but not too secluded. Pastoral view out the front is soothing and you forget you're on the coast, yet short walks bring you to a choice of beaches. The best beach in our opinion is 1080 Beach which, while it is theoretically walkable from the cottages, is better to make the 10-minute drive. Watch out for the wallabies.

Narooma is 15 mins by car and offers all small-town services, including groceries, bakeries, fruit and veg. The drive to Bega or Batemans Bay might be better for shopaholics, but they wouldn't appreciate the peace of Mystery Bay Cottages, anyway.

Needless to say, the birdseed is a nice touch. Not only are Kate and Nigel welcoming hosts, the crimson rosellas are as well. Soon they seem like part of the family ...in fact, just as demanding as some family members can become. The lorikeets are brilliant.

Room Tip: All cottages appear to be identical, all have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rycarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Mystery Bay Cottages for 2 nights (we being myself, my husband and our young baby). We were after a relaxing place to stay that was close to the beach and peaceful, with accommodation suited to our family needs, and we got it. There are 6 cottages situated on a lovely country property about 5 minutes drive south of Narooma. Narooma has a supermarket, take away food, pub etc for you to stock up for your stay.
The cottages have a great outlook of the countryside yet are only about 400metres to Mystery Bay beach (good for swimming, kids play) and another smaller beach, or a few kilometres from the bigger 1080 Beach (also great for swimming,surfing etc) (see pics).
We stayed in cottage 6, it was 2 bedrooms (one queen bed and 2 singles plus a rollaway bed if you need), great kitchen with all you need to cook (microwave, stove, frypans etc). Yummy plunger coffee supplied which was a nice touch.Great living area with tv, dvd, cd player, nice little fireplace which would be great for winter. Each cottage has a great little balcony where you can sit and relax with a coffee or a wine and enjoy the view.
There are very friendly and colourful birds around the place and there is birdseed supplied for you to feed them if you like, and a couple of friendly horses in the paddock nearby if you want to pat them!
There are walking tracks down to each beach if you want a stroll and a swim. Theres also a games room with magazines, books, a few dvds and kids toys.
If you have a baby you can request a high chair, baby bath or portacot when booking.
We had a really nice relaxing stay here, great place for a family with kids as theres lots of room outside for them to run around. Equally as lovely for a romantic getaway as you wont see anyone else if you dont want to.
Nearby Tilba Tilba is great for a visit - yummy local cheeses and preserves. The winery is also great for a laid back lunch.
We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved our 6 night stay at mystery bay cottages. Excellent games room and equipment with table tennis, table soccer, air hockey, tennis court and rackets snd balls to borrow. Amazing views very serene. Happy days!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narooma
3.3 mi away
The Bryn at Tilba
The Bryn at Tilba
#1 of 2 in Tilba Tilba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
5.4 mi away
Amooran Oceanside Apartments and Motel
5.7 mi away
BIG4 Narooma Easts Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Island View Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Tilba Lake House
Tilba Lake House
#1 of 2 in Central Tilba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
5.3 mi away
Horizon Apartments
Horizon Apartments
#4 of 12 in Narooma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystery Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystery Bay Cottages

Property: Mystery Bay Cottages
Address: 121 Mystery Bay Road, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Narooma
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Narooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mystery Bay Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We've discovered some breathtaking places together... but Mystery Bay Cottages will forever be remembered as one of the best." - Eamonn Duff, Sun Herald. These 6 architect-designed cottages are located in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable - nestled between National Parkland and award-winning beaches. They are airy and spacious with high-raked ceilings and provide everything you need to make your stay as pleasurable as possible - log fires (wood supplied), electric blankets, TV DVD player, full kitchen, laundry, comfy sofas and dining suite. There is also heating throughout the cottage. There are 2 bedrooms - a queen room and a twin room and a single fold-out bed if required. We provide all linen, towels, tea & plunger coffee, toiletries and even bird seed for your own bird table (the wildlife is spectacular with rare birds, echidnas, possums and wallabies). We have a full-sized tennis court (equipment provided at no charge), a games room (with table tennis, table soccer, table air hockey, books, magazines, DVD's and kids toys) and a floodlit covered gas BBQ area. High chairs and travel cots are also provided free of charge. And being only 4.5 hours south of Sydney, 2.5 hours from Canberra and between Narooma and historic Tilba our location is perfect - the peace and tranquility you dream of with everything within a stones-throw. Why not take our advice and "Drift away at Mystery Bay..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mystery Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing