We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mystery Bay Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Tree Motel(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Lodge Motor Inn(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Whale Motor Inn(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Apartments(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$96
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Holiday Apartments(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$89
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coastal Comfort Motel(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$62
$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Top Of The Town Motel(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$78
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Beach Resort(Narooma)(Great Value!)
$64
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
52
18
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
18
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird seedbedroom cottagegames roombird lifelog fireair hockeyshort walkown mealstable soccerwashing machine and kitchentilba tilbacrimson rosellaskids playclose to naturewell appointed and comfortablefull kitchenwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 76 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have been coming here for 13 years - every year for 1 to 2 weeks - and be back again next year and... Its the one place we have found where we can do NOTHING and enjoy it. But if we want to do something there is a fantastic movie theatre 10 minutes away, a great fish shop - straight from the trawler to you - reasonably good restaurants, music estivals and more. And we are 5 minutes walk from a surf beach through national park and 10 minutes walk from a kids-safe beach again through national park where 3 makes a crowd. And then there's more beaches where if there is more than you it is crowded - miles and miles of it. KEEP IT A MYSTERY.

Peter Sarlos

Room Tip: All the cottages are great - 4 and 5 have a better layout.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After reading the reviews we chose Mystery Bay cottages to stay. The location is lovely and the rooms were spotlessly clean however for the price we paid it was simply very poor value for money. We stayed four nights and as the cottages aren't serviced during your visit the thin towels provided (only one each) were very much in need of cleaning. Without a dryer we were unable to clean our own towels. The cottage was poorly stocked and we ended up buying our own toilet paper. I expect better at over $250 per night. There are better places to stay for the money, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel J, Owner at Mystery Bay Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Hi Johanna.
We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay here. We pride our selves on offering good value at Mystery Bay Cottages (we price our selves just below self-catering cabins at camp-sites).
Our cottages are self-catering and not serviced but, even so, we happily offer unlimited replacement complimentary towels, toilet rolls, birdseed at any time....in fact, whatever the guest would like.
We don't provide dryers for environmental reasons so, instead, offer replacement towels which is designed to ensure an easier life for our guests.
You describe the cottages as "poorly stocked" - we like to think that our inclusions are generous - from fully stocked kitchen, laundry powder, freshly ground pepper, freshly ground coffee and coffee plunger, rosemary in the towels, hand made beeswax soap, toiletries, bird watching book, detailed visitor guide and free bird seed in each cottage - if you have any suggestions for other inclusions, please let us know.
We happily note your comments about the great location and the cottage being spotlessly clean....
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed three weeknights just before Easter. Enjoyed it immensely. We would return for a week-long stay without hesitation. Those reviewers with concerns about the accommodations should bear in mind that these are rural cottages, not 5-star urban condos. However, they are not 'rustic' accommodation in any way. All amenities are there, except for internet. So be prepared to be disconnected. (Convince the kids that's a good thing!). Fun in the games room takes one back to the pre-technology era.

Cottages are relatively private, but not too secluded. Pastoral view out the front is soothing and you forget you're on the coast, yet short walks bring you to a choice of beaches. The best beach in our opinion is 1080 Beach which, while it is theoretically walkable from the cottages, is better to make the 10-minute drive. Watch out for the wallabies.

Narooma is 15 mins by car and offers all small-town services, including groceries, bakeries, fruit and veg. The drive to Bega or Batemans Bay might be better for shopaholics, but they wouldn't appreciate the peace of Mystery Bay Cottages, anyway.

Needless to say, the birdseed is a nice touch. Not only are Kate and Nigel welcoming hosts, the crimson rosellas are as well. Soon they seem like part of the family ...in fact, just as demanding as some family members can become. The lorikeets are brilliant.

Room Tip: All cottages appear to be identical, all have the same view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rycarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Mystery Bay Cottages for 2 nights (we being myself, my husband and our young baby). We were after a relaxing place to stay that was close to the beach and peaceful, with accommodation suited to our family needs, and we got it. There are 6 cottages situated on a lovely country property about 5 minutes drive south of Narooma. Narooma has a supermarket, take away food, pub etc for you to stock up for your stay.
The cottages have a great outlook of the countryside yet are only about 400metres to Mystery Bay beach (good for swimming, kids play) and another smaller beach, or a few kilometres from the bigger 1080 Beach (also great for swimming,surfing etc) (see pics).
We stayed in cottage 6, it was 2 bedrooms (one queen bed and 2 singles plus a rollaway bed if you need), great kitchen with all you need to cook (microwave, stove, frypans etc). Yummy plunger coffee supplied which was a nice touch.Great living area with tv, dvd, cd player, nice little fireplace which would be great for winter. Each cottage has a great little balcony where you can sit and relax with a coffee or a wine and enjoy the view.
There are very friendly and colourful birds around the place and there is birdseed supplied for you to feed them if you like, and a couple of friendly horses in the paddock nearby if you want to pat them!
There are walking tracks down to each beach if you want a stroll and a swim. Theres also a games room with magazines, books, a few dvds and kids toys.
If you have a baby you can request a high chair, baby bath or portacot when booking.
We had a really nice relaxing stay here, great place for a family with kids as theres lots of room outside for them to run around. Equally as lovely for a romantic getaway as you wont see anyone else if you dont want to.
Nearby Tilba Tilba is great for a visit - yummy local cheeses and preserves. The winery is also great for a laid back lunch.
We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved our 6 night stay at mystery bay cottages. Excellent games room and equipment with table tennis, table soccer, air hockey, tennis court and rackets snd balls to borrow. Amazing views very serene. Happy days!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews