We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relic of days long gone”
Review of Destiny Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Destiny Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nambucca Heads
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Relic of days long gone”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family have stayed here periodically over the last 15 years as it is about half way to the Gold Coast and very convenient. It used to be a great palce to stop rest and eat. Now its just old dirty and very run down. Te price is very steep -we paid $175 for 1 night fr 2 twin beds, dirty rooms and broken air-conditioning. Very poor value. Restaurant was set up but abandoned, didn't risk eating there even though it was New Years Eve- not a soul in sight. Sad state of affairs for what was a family favorite.

Room Tip: We had a twin queen room at the back. No view and dirty unkempt balcony. Air-conditioning unit did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    16
    7
    18
See reviews for
30
43
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just driving into the motel started to ring alarm bells. The driveway & grounds were poorly maintained which is not a good start. Rang the bell at reception & waited 10 min for the old guy to appear. His attitude was neither apologetic nor welcoming. Our room was dirty & the floor needed a good vacuuming. A dirty cleaning cloth was left above the fridge & it could definitely have been used for a lot more work. The freezer section of the small fridge was half blocked with ice & we couldn't fit our freezer blocks into it. There was also no clock in the room. It was a hot night in December & despite a lot of motel experience we could not get the aircon to work & had to leave the door open on the safety chain to let some cooler air into the room. Shortly after arrival went to the pool to relax & found that the pool furniture was broken or badly torn. My wife & I travel a lot & we have never before felt the need to complain publicly about any accommodation of any standard but this one cannot be allowed to escape.
After listing my complaints to the manager the next morning he gave me a $30 discount which did nothing to reduce our disgust.
This place is on life support & desperately needs new owners & managers & a major miracle if it is to survive.

Room Tip: To find a good room in this place would be like trying to win Lotto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nambucca Heads hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We are traveling with our family on our way to Sydney, we needed a half way point for an overnight stay, we chose this motel in Nambucca Heads. The motel is way over rated and far too expensive for what you are getting. We are paying $190 per night per room, the bathroom is dirty, the towels and linen are very old and smelly, the pool area has terrible old broken furniture to sit on.........one of the worst motels I have ever stayed and I have traveled a lot. We are very disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

charged 20dollar to use eftposcard, after 2day's of asking for a receipt wasgiven one+$8from my eftpos card---food was terrrible people were going to mcdonald's for something to eat ----stayed in room's for5day's room's were not cleaned --if and
when new owner's take over I would def not go theere again----only good thing about the holiday was the bus trp's and the driver excellent -

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at the Destiny Motor Inn October 28 & 29 - $140 per night - 2 queen size beds, air con and a usable uncovered balcony. Decor is 20 years old; basic but clean. Next to the A1 highway and a 2 minute drive from the Nambucca Heads high street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here last weekend, 20th September 2013 and I found it to be lovely. The food from the restaurant was lovely, the staff were very friendly and the room was great with lots of space and very clean. the staff couldn't do enough for us and were more than happy to give us a late checkout even though it would hold the cleaners up. We will stay here again. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the evening and were able to book in with no dramas. The room was neat and tidy and comfy. The restaraunt was super friendly for the kids and the staff were awesome! The owner was frendly snd made us feel super welcome!! The best part was dinner it was absolutely delucious!! Would thoroughly reconend the reef and beef- the steak was cooked just as requested and the lamb cutlets were delicious!! We are really glad we came across tbe destiny motel..thankyou!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyleswhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nambucca Heads
16.3 mi away
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in South West Rocks
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel Miramar
Motel Miramar
#1 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverview Boutique Motel
Riverview Boutique Motel
#1 of 4 in Nambucca Heads
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Nambucca Motel
The Nambucca Motel
#4 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
#1 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
612 reviews
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destiny Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Motor Inn

Property: Destiny Motor Inn
Address: Pacific Hwy, Riverside Dr, Nambucca Heads, New South Wales 2448, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Nambucca Heads
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nambucca Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Destiny Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Destiny Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nambucca Heads
Nambucca Heads Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing