We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the vintage booth seats”
Review of Austral Cafe

Austral Cafe
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Murwillumbah
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the vintage booth seats”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good honest food and great milkshakes. Love the vintage booth seats and wide choice of food. Well placed in centre of town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    54
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A diner back in the 60's”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Food selection is enormous, with that traditional roast with 3 veg and gravy, sponge cakes, pies, overfilled sandwiches and milkshakes. It takes me back to my childhood in the 60's. No places left like the Austral.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank incink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average - in need of a facelift”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Austral Cafe is an institution in Murwillumbah. A traditional Country Cafe in the 1950's style - unfortunately much in need of a renovation! The cafe is not the cleanest and looks very tired.
If you want a basic sandwich this is the place to go. Prices reflect the standard of service. Coffee is excellent - and on Sunday you can sit on the footpath and enjoy the sun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank organicanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meat pie in all Australia!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had been to Springbrook National Park and were looking for a place to have meat pies. Luckily, our route took us through Murwillumbah where we stopped at the Austral Cafe.

Not only do they serve meat pies, they use the same recipe they did when the cafe opened (I think about 75 years ago). We all had meat pies with mash and peas. Excellent, and very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reminds me of childhood & american diners”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Reminds me of a diner like in american movies. Sells a range including pastries & baked goods, hot roast lunch, fish and chips and pies. There milkshakes are massive and they always give you a big glass plus the extra they made (usually fills the glass again). Great place to take kids after school, for casual lunch or sunday big breaky.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austral Cafe also viewed

Murwillumbah, New South Wales
Murwillumbah, New South Wales
 
Murwillumbah, New South Wales
Murwillumbah, New South Wales
 

Been to Austral Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing